We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Top Notch Resort where it's all happening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Top Notch Resort where it's all happening”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This was one of the finest vacations the wife and I have taken in a long while and we have traveled around the world. It was our first time in Aruba so we did not know what to expect. As we learned while there, the Renassaince Aruba Resort and Casino is an older hotel that has recently been remodeled and refreshed. They did a wonderful job! We stayed in the Marina side. The rooms are spacious even with a King size bed. They provide a sitting chair as well as a desk with a lamp and chair. All outlets are american so recharging your devices is no hassle. The chest of drawers is huge. Big enough for everything in your and your spouses large suitcase. As well, the closet has hangers and a lot of room for all the hanging clothes you bring. There is also a safe for your valuables in the closet. The rooms are clean .....very clean, including the bathrooms. (Yes the bathtub is old, but there was no mold or mildew anywhere and they are good cast iron tubs.) If I had to make a complaint it would be about the toilets which are not ADA approved high toilets, otherwise the rooms are more than adaquate. The hotel itself is very nice. They have a group of water taxi's which take you every fifteen minutes to Renassaince Island, a private island exclusive to those staying at the resort. The boats arrive in the lower lobby of the hotel and you'll need your key card to get on. The private island is nothing short of a paradise in paradise. Two seperate beaches; one for the adults and one for families are very nice. It is never difficult to find a chair or shade should you desire. There are jetty's surrounding the swimming areas that allow ocean water in but not the waves and they do not detract from the view. They have staff walking around taking drink and food orders but they are not pushy. There is an open air restaurant on the family side and the prices are reasonable for a vacation of this caliber. The hotel has several restaurants, the Aquarius, L.G. Smith's Steak house etc., as well as a casino, a theater, the BluE bar in the lobby and a high end Mall downstairs. There is an "endless" pool on the pool deck above the lobby with seating all around. There is easy access to local boardwalk style shopping as well as grocery stores for those items you would like in your room. Just ask at the concierge desk and they will be happy to help. As well, the Renassaince Market Place is just in between the Marina and Ocean Suites parts of the hotel. There, you will find wonderful outside cafes and restaurants with entertainment at the rear every evening. All the staff, from the concierge down to the guy vacuuming the rugs are very nice and will have a "good day" for all that pass. Having worked in the service industry for 27 years, I have never seen the level of customer service shown by their staff as I found here at the Renassaince Aruba. Go, Relax, Have fun on their One Happy Island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking either the boat dock in the lobby or the bay area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,100
    1,614
    548
    205
    152
See reviews for
873
2,336
118
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,025)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

the suites on the sea side smell mildew, musty, and feel damp. the pool is literally self destructing, and the minor repairs that actually have been done are atrocious. i have never seen such bad work. the management of this place needs to get some cajones and shut the pool down for a week, hire some real honest to goodness professionals to do the tile and cement repairs and go forward. it's just plain ugly. and the pool bar is the worst looking, messy conglomeration of hodge podge fixes i've ever seen at a resort. this place is not cheap, so spend a few buck and do it right. the marina side hotel is not bad. they try to keep it nicer, and succed to a great extent. this is adult only, and again, not cheap. the pool is much nicer too, and the pool bar has been redone and moved. nice. the staff is very good, but therooms are a little dated. we start our vacation from the renn, and move to a time share for a week or more after. this is a marriott category 6, and used to be a 7. location alone is the only thing keeping it from being a 4.5-5.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theislanddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Just spent a week at the Ocean Suites and had a great time. Yes the hotel does show its age but the rooms are clean and have all the comforts of an all suite hotel...fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The sleeper sofa is a sofa-bed...may want to ask for the rollaway instead. Always had plenty of hot water and towels. The restaurants had good food and nice service. The Flamingos on the private island were truly beautiful. Always plenty of chairs and enough shade or sun...and nice snorkeling. Saw tons of fish and even an eel. The lagoon at the Ocean Suites was perfect for just floating around and cooling off. Plenty of chairs there and shade too. Wifi is available in the open air lobby for free and even on parts of the beaches and private island but not the rooms. Lots of nice restaurants close by. Plenty of parking available if you decide to rent a car. For stays longer than a few days the car is nice to get out and about the island to explore. Overall GREAT experience here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daune G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I cannot say enough about the Renaissance Aruba (we stayed at the Adult Only Marina Palace). Everything was excellent! the hotel, the restaurants, the people. Although there isn't much of a nightlife at this resort, you have to make the best of it...the nightlife is probably more lively down by the other resorts along the resort area by the RIU hotels and all that but the Renaissance Aruba MORE than made up for it by what its hotel provides! The private beach was definitely our highlight! The snorkeling at this beach was better than the snorkeling trip we paid to go on! I have never seen so many fish! If you do get a chance to take a day trip, definitely do the ABC Jeep Tour (try to get Marshall & Wendel as your guides)...it was so much fun, get to see the entire island and most of its' highlights, and Baby Beach was awesome! If you're going to Aruba, be sure to invest in your own snorkeling gear, it's worth it! p.s. I couldn't select Sept 2011 (when we there so this may appear as Sept 2012)....but by the reviews, this place is still as great as ever!

Room Tip: be sure to go all inclusive, at check in doublecheck that you get that, we changed rooms when we fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank renee147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West River, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed on the "time share" side closest to the ocean complete with its own lagoon. Fourth time back for me. The staff is great especially Julio at the dockside bar. Private island with another lagoon is like snorkeling in a fish tank. Prices are comparable to the surrounding area. Aruba is pricey. The safest place we've ever traveled to.

Room Tip: The Towers are adult only and part of the mall/casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crispell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Just returned yesterday from a four night stay. We had a great time and would rate this hotel experience as one of the best that we have had in 4 countries and 9 different destinations in the Caribbean.
First when we arrived we met the only jerk on the "One Happy Island." Our cab driver #77 did not understand that the Marriott Renaissance is the Renaissance and started to take us to the other side of the island. When we asked him where he was going he threaten to kick us out of the cab and call the police. Be very clear that you are going to the Renaissance and not the Marriott Renaissance because the cabs will not understand and if you get in cab 77 get out and take another cab!
Hotel staff was great. I am a Marriott Gold Elite member and of all my nights in Marriotts this stay would rate at the top. Room was clean, lobby clean and pool was great.
We did not buy the all inclusive. Mixed drinks were $7.50 and beer was $5.50 for Chills (Aruba's beer). Happy hour from 4 to 6pm everyday 2 for 1 so unless you drink a lot all day long your bar tab should not be too bad. We ate the local restaurants to get the overall experience. Que Pasa was awesome, we ate a pasta place at the market across the street that was okay and we ate at LG Smith which was very good.
The private island was nice. The restaurant was good and fairly priced. The four days there I got a burger, club sandwich, steak sandwich and a fish sandwich prices ranged from $11 to $13 with fries. The scenery was good, not a lot of shade on the adult side but the family side had plenty.
We will certainly consider this hotel again when we return to Aruba in a few years.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here on business 1/16-1/19. The hotel is decently nice, has nice infinity pool, decent lounge vibe, small casino and high end shopping mall underneath. No Wi-Fi in rooms, and only spotty Wi-Fi in Hotel lobby/bar. Rooms are decent, TV reception and selection is not so great. Main issue is the hotel is located in Oranjestad, which is all shopping, but without nice beaches. Presumably one would come to Aruba for the beaches. so staying in the high rise hotel area North of here is a better recommendation. Taxis from airport to Oranjestad run about $25 - from Oranjestad to hotel area (15 minute ride North) are $11. Better to come to this part during the day, as one day will suffice any interest in the area.
The Renaissance also has a beachfront property across the street from this property that has a pool with swim-up bar. Also bars in both have 2 for one special roughly everyday from 5-7. Still beach here isn't that great, has constant view of airplanes coming to airport and huge ocean tankers in distance constantly (not sure if they're headed to Aruba or Venezuela)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJKNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,746 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,053 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Divi Aruba
Divi Aruba
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,751 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,382 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Caribbean, it's right outside your door. Our luxury hotel in Aruba offers a perfect location steps from Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown boutiques, giving you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic. Get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite accommodation. Both provide exclusive access to a special discovery, Renaissance Island, with Aruba's only private beaches and a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing