We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private Island Makes This Vacation Worthwhile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Private Island Makes This Vacation Worthwhile”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here Nov 11-18/13. Our 5th trip to Aruba, 1st time at this resort. Stayed here mainly for the private island, and would have to say although, its clean, staff is amazing, food was pretty good, I would not stay here again. I missed the tropical feel with views of the ocean and the beach. This hotel is right in town, the sister hotel the ocean suites would be a better choice.
Make sure you bring all hotel vouchers, as they tried to tell us we did not have all inclusive, and we had to prove it by showing our hotel voucher, which totally saved the day.
The rooms are very clean, never had to ask for extra towels which is a first. There are no wristbands, you have to show your hotel key, which you have to swipe for everything including the boat ride to the island. There is water in your room, which is supposed to be "included", but we were told to get bottled water from the bar, which is included and put it in your room. Otherwise the room water is $4.25 a bottle!! There is free wifi in the lobby, but there is no AC in the lobby and there is no breeze which makes it very hot and humid, hard to enjoy a drink, or email home when its so muggy. Downtown closes at 6pm, only the casino and the expensive shops stay open later. Everything closed Sunday. Down by the high rises is better shopping, and open later.
The best place to eat would be LG Smiths steak house, but be prepared all inclusive gives you only a limited choice at any of the restaurants or bars. Not really a lot of choice but you can upgrade by paying for these items. Also there is an added 15% tip on all bills, which get split by the staff, so for goodness sake, tip your servers. Some people didn't, and trust me you get much better service if you do.
The private island really is beautiful, we stayed on the adult side where the flamingos are, if you buy the fish food on the bridge(25 cents, bring lots of quarters with you) you can feed the fish under the bridge which include blow fish as well the flamingos eat this food as well, will eat from your hand. Lots of iguanas on this side as well. If you have fruity drinks, remove the cherries and orange wedges as the small lizards and large iguanas go crazy for these, and will climb up on your table to get them. Just take it out and toss it to them, and then they won't bother you. The water here is very rocky. The family beach is shallower, but no rocks. The private island is very close to the airport, so you hear jets landing and taking off all day long. Didn't enjoy that part.
The restaurant on the island the Popagayo is pretty good with several choices for lunch, including made to order pizza, shrimp, chicken pita, and haagen daaz ice cream. Service is slow, but very friendly, and its not like I was in a hurry anyway. Nice view as you sit and have lunch.
The best part of this private island experience was our waitress Maria!! She's the most hard working, friendly, and made our day in the sun so much more relaxing and enjoyable. She walks up and down the entire island, both adult and family sections, takes orders for lunch and drinks, and brings them to your palapa. She is amazing, always checking to see if you need anything! On her 1 day off, the beach was not the same. She always has a warm smile, and asks if you are enjoying your holiday, and if she can do anything for you! She even told me what to get at the grocery store for my bug bites. Look for Maria you won't be disappointed. And tip her!!

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing inward towards the shops. Not much of a view, otherwise the rooms all lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarylovesAruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,005
    1,570
    518
    201
    144
See reviews for
830
2,245
113
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (992)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel is split into a family based hotel (which is primarily time shares) and an adult hotel (which is a newer modern building). The property sits int he heart of downtown which is nice, but not so nice if you want a true relaxing vacation. There is a very well kept private island which you can get to via frequent ferry service. The island is close to the airport which may annoy some folks, but we found it entertaining seeing planes landing a few hundred feet away. The adult pool is very modern, think botique Miami hotel, the family pool is very outdated, think 1980s. There is a casino on site, many places to eat and being in the center of town you have a lot of shopping options. The rooms in the family hotel are in definite need of an upgrade, they are very outdated (at least 20+ years). Service was very friendly and you could easily hail a cab if you wanted to go down to the more resort area of Aruba.

Room Tip: If you aren't traveling with a family the non-family hotel seemed more updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We love this Island....It is one Happy One. We have stayed at here for 4 years now. We go around the late fall....after the kids are back in school and Spring Break is over....We have never had anything but excellent service and great accommodations....We love the private Island where the beaches are not crowded and is located in the capital of Aruba. Some say it is dangerous there......we have found the area to be perfectly safe and so.....beautiful. The private beaches boat you out from the lobby....to the left is the Iguana Beach and to the right is the Flamingo beach (topless optional on that side). The water is crystal clear and the sand is white and so clean....they also have a great eatery hut on their private island exclusive to the Renaissance guests. If you want a great vacation, romantic and beautiful, this is the place for you. We book all inclusive through resortsvacationstogo....Our agent is Huskey! Check it out online, you can put your dates and where and when you want to go, it lets you pick out your room, dates, and brings up the all inclusive price....before you decide to book. We do add travel insurance but then you are all paid up, gratuities, flights , all meals, drinks, transfers from air port to hotel & back again on check out date. The place is amazing and you can start saving up for the trip now and enjoy yourself an awesome, relaxing, no stress vacation next year. Go for it.

Room Tip: We prefer the ocean suits verses the Marina. The Marina is adults only but is for the "younger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary And Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed the first 2 nights of our 7 night trip in Aruba at the Renaissance. I can say that we got a corner ocean suite and the room was great. The Renaissance is right next to the airport/marina, so there is a lot of activity going on. They have a private island you can take a boat out to, which is very relaxing. The main downside is that is doesn't have a nice beach. If you have a choice between here and the Marriott, you absolutely stay at the Marriott!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have stayed at the Ocean Suites portion of this hotel twice, first in 2004, and then just recently in November 2013, and both times we have had a truly memorable experience! It's in a great location, has comfortable, clean rooms, and a really great pool. There is also a private island with a shuttle boat, but on both stays, we were WAY too comfortable by the pool to bother exploring!! The Seaport casino is located literally 200 yards from the hotel and is okay as far as casinos in Aruba go. You can easily walk to several great restaurants, including El Gaucho Steakhouse, and there are plenty of places to go shopping located right in, and near the resort.
We will DEF be booking the Renaissance again for our future Aruba visits !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christoph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed at the Renaissance Marina Hotel for four nights before moving to the Radisson on Palm Beach. This was a planned move -- not because we had any problems. Loved the location downtown. Walking distance to many wonderful restaurants which we loved. The rooms seem a little smaller than they did when we stayed there years ago but they were spotless and the décor was upscale chic/modern. The renovations must have been complete because we never saw or heard any construction noise. My one and only complaint is the shower. The MAN who must have designed it never thought to take an actual shower in it. There is no place for a woman to shave her legs -- other than just bending over and trying not to get dizzy. It is very large but the cheap soap caddy doesn't even hold the shampoos or razors or even the soap, everything kept falling out onto the shower floor. Now, the shower door (which there really isn't one) is a joke. Even though I read many reviews prior to going, you just can't imagine what it is like in the bathroom after a short shower. I was prepared so I thought I'd try to be careful and turn the shower head (wrong it doesn't move). The towel mat for the floor was completely saturated along with water running all over the entire room. I even closed the toilet seat and put dry clothes there, again, wrong thing to do. My clothes were still wet. I could go on and on about that. I do hope management reads this review and hopefully, eventually, will do something to correct this horrible design. That is my only negative thing to say about the Renaissance. The rest of the room was great and even the bathroom was great -- it is just the lack of a shower door and having the water all over the place. I feel sorry for housekeeping. Again, loved the private island and the planes going over didn't bother us because when we were on Palm Beach the planes were going over that part of the island also.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarfoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Location is downtown amongst great shopping malls and is adults only. Main attraction for us is the private island accessed via a speedboat from the hotel lobby. You feel like a millionaire as only hotel residents have access. The island has 2 great beaches with pink flamingos, giant iguanas and pelicans diving all around you - wonderful. Hotel boasts a small infinity pool where you can wave goodbye to the cruise ships who are wandering off to another island having missed the best island in the Caribbean with its wonderful friendly people and great beaches. Rooms and bathrooms have recently been refurbished with comfortable beds and walk in shower. Reception area buzzes from funky bar "blue". Hotel hosts one of the great restaurants on the island "L G Smith" (see separate review). . Sister hotel has its own man made beach and large swimming pool suitable for families. Casino is part of the hotel (smoking is permitted) so gives easy access. For us one or two nights is enough as there is the low rise and high rise areas calling........

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you are a tired traveller overlooking the atrium and not the front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heulwen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.3 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,596 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
2.0 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Caribbean, it's right outside your door. Our luxury hotel in Aruba offers a perfect location steps from Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown boutiques, giving you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic. Get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite accommodation. Both provide exclusive access to a special discovery, Renaissance Island, with Aruba's only private beaches and a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing