We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love love love the private island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love love love the private island”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We liked this resort so much that we went there twice within the year!!! One of the best vacation of our lives!!! We stayed in the Marina tower which is attached to a high end mall, so for those of you who likes to shop for luxury goods, this is the place for you. We chose the all inclusive option as it turned out it is just less expensive for us. We also loved the private sweet. Very relaxing there!!! Look no further, book your trip here now!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,047
    1,588
    528
    202
    146
See reviews for
844
2,280
114
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,001)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My Husband and I just returned back from the Renaissance in Aruba. Overall I would have to say we had a great stay. The rooms are brand new and the beds are unbelievably comfortable. There is a Starbucks in the lobby with free internet which was a great way to start each day!

At first I was a little disappointed with the location of the hotel ( Its downtown) but the Private Island made up for it. The island is a great place to relax, grab a drink and some fantastic lunch. The prices are extremely fair for food and drink and the lounge chairs are plentiful. Love how it was very relaxed not pretentious in the slightest bit. Just families looking to relax. The stores surrounding the hotel are extremely high end and although we weren’t by the beach I have to admit it was nice to have some stores to take a break from the sun and shop in. ( Tax Free)

In terms of eating out I would recommend the following restaurants: Yemanja Wood Fire Grill- Awesome tuna appetizer and great Sangria. Barefoot- Totally romantic to sit and eat on the beach with great specials. And my Favorite El Gaucho- I recommend starting with the half rack of ribs and Cesar salad.. All of these are within walking distance! No cabs necessary which is nice.

For a tour I recommend booking the afternoon catamaran tour. It was nice to get out and see a different part of the island, the water is so beautiful why not spend a few hours basking in it!

Overall you will fall in love with this island, its clean, safe, the people speak English, take US dollars and best of all the weather is AMAZING-I honestly can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: I think we overpaid for the hotel a bit. (We booked through Priceline) It seemed as though every we spoke to was able to get a better deal- Including the airlines every single pilot and flight attendant stayed here! Make sure you get a room on a high floor that faces out to the street. Some rooms face into the lobby which makes for changing slightly uncomfortable!

Room Tip: Room Tip: I think we overpaid for the hotel a bit. (We booked through Priceline) It seemed as thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuggyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here a week, had a wonderful time.
The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was elaborate and service was good.
the private island was quiet, well kept and well worth it.
Hotel is centrally located in the middle of everything.
Sure to visit again, we had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexanderB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed in the Marina Hotel for 5 nights in February.

- The Marina renovations are gorgeous & modern. Reminds me of a W hotel. Very "hip".
- Pool area was ok. Not a lot of chairs and if a cruise ship is in port the view is only ok.
- Spa was great. Had a pre-natal massage. Loved the 5-head shower!
- Employees were very friendly. Filled up our drinks, asked me how I was feeling, remembered our names
- Island is AMAZING. Absolutely worth it! "Played" with the flamingoes, iguanas, hermit crabs and more all day. Snorkeling is good for kids in the area. The best snorkeling in Aruba is just outside the lagoons but water is too rough to go without a guide and boat.
- Food on the island was pretty good considering everything has to be boated in. Don't expect miracles though :)
- More "authentic" food options in Oranjestead. The town itself is a little run down with not a ton to do at night, but it feels less touristy than Eagle/Palm Beach. If you have kids the beaches are probably a better place to stay honestly

Things to watch out for:
- The Marina and Ocean Suites are two completely different hotels about a 10min walk from each other. Not a big deal unless you don't like walking. All tours pick up from Ocean Suites.
- You will get wet on the boat ride to/from the island! Not a big deal, I mean it's a boat, but some people were freaking out. There are a few seats under cover if you really want to stay dry
- There is some airport noise on the island, especially in the afternoons. Don't let it get to you! Small price to pay for the island experience
- There were some little things that keep the hotel from being truly world class. Housekeeping carts always left in the hallway, inconsistent turn down service, front desk confusion about some of the hotel policies, but these things were really minor and didn't affect our stay.

Considering we spent about $150 less per night than staying at the Marriott up in Palm Beach we thought it was a GREAT deal and loved our stay. I will really miss that island!

Room Tip: At the Marina very few rooms actually have a decent view, and those that do are above the pool that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

No hot water, bad location but very nice people and awesome 2 for 1 happy hour in the bar every day. The Restaurant manager was very nice to get us moved to a room with hot water. Drinks at the bar were excellent. Really enjoyed not having to deal with kids!! However, none of that made up for the crappy location right on the main road with lots of traffic....would stay someplace else next time.

Room Tip: Be care about asking for a room with ocean view because that puts you right next to the main road wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArubaHospitality, Director of Operations at Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Carolyn - appreciate your kind words with regards to our staff service & beverage quality. I do regret the inconvenience due to the lack of hot water as we had some challenges with the water supply pipe & the consequent interruption. Our Resort's location being in downtown Oranjestad with its multiple dining, shopping, bars & clubs is unique in itself and our Renaissance private island offers the tranquility to our guests whom wants to be away from the "cosmotropical" sorroundings.

Sincerely,
Parimal Trivedi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, Nc
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Always a great experience, private island, staff is excellent starting with John who greets you downstairs when you get out of your cab to Elizabeth, Sugeiry, Nelson, Alejandro, Jorge in Blue. At the private island they've redone the bar and installed a pizza oven. Best pizza on the island and that includes Casa Tua which also does a great pie. Staff at Papaguayo is always sound from Vivian to Jon. Multiple languages and wonderful people. On your way back stop at the pool bar at Ocean side where Julio and Nathalia provide a quality experience. The food and beverage management are outstanding, customer focused and over the 8 years that I've been coming very little turnover. Nice breakfast buffet at Aquarius where Lina and her associates do a great job.

Room Tip: I like the ocean side view, we don't have kids so I am a fan of the Marina side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadrunner015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My boyfriend & I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2014 - it is right in downtown Oranjestad, Aruba.

Pro's...

-Very serene, unique private island which is a very nice beach
-Extremely quick boat service to/from the private island
-Starbucks downstairs for my daily morning coffee
-Walk anywhere in downtown Aruba
-Close to Yemanja Wood-fired Grill which is delicious
-Decent casino where we won some money on Blackjack
-Cute, trendy flourescent pool bar that's open at night for drinks
-Nice, clean hotel room but a bit small

Con's:

-Not impressed by the small pool area, hardly any chairs available
-Dinner buffet by the lobby was not very tasty which we tried one night
-Bartenders on the private island weren't all that friendly, kept to themselves
-Downtown area not as nice as Palm Beach up north of Aruba

All in all we enjoyed our stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kbclark1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,656 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,952 reviews
1.7 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,408 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Caribbean, it's right outside your door. Our luxury hotel in Aruba offers a perfect location steps from Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown boutiques, giving you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic. Get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite accommodation. Both provide exclusive access to a special discovery, Renaissance Island, with Aruba's only private beaches and a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing