We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT ADULT ONLY HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Renaissance Aruba Resort, Marina side adult only, hotel from may 7 - 13. I use the term "adult only" very loosely. Don't be fooled into thinking that there will be no children at this hotel. I saw children everywhere, everyday, ages a few weeks on up. They were on the escalator, elevator, in the bar, in the hotel restaurants (2), in the hotel reception area, and yes, even in the adults only pool area. They were running around unsupervised, even though there were parents with them. Due to a large number of elderly guests at this hotel, I was surprised none were run over by the children. The only place I did not see them was in the hallways outside rooms and in the actual rooms of the hotel. I inquired why this was happening in an "adult only" hotel and was informed the only thing "adult only" was the rooms where the guests slept! All I can comment is,"Buyer beware". If this is the case, the children may even have been on the private adult side of the beach. Since I chose to stay on the family beach (which was much nicer than the adult beach ) each day due to a couple of issues listed below, I can't comment on that.

I agree that rooms are nicely remodeled, there was plenty of hot water, the air conditioner worked perfectly, there was little time waiting for the boat to take guests to the private island, and we left money each day for the maids and never had a problem with getting towels, etc., had massage in spa and it was worth $100 US fee for 50 minutes. I won't continue commenting on other information already posted by fellow trip advisers, but I will comment on the following:

(1) If you take any kind of blow up beach toy, the towel shack by the family private beach will air them up for free.
(2) The flamingos on the adult beach do bite.
(3) There are ants on the adult beach and also on the beach at the Renaissance ocean suites.
(4) I got several bug bites. Don't know if it was mosquitos, gnats, no seeums, or what. Take bug bands and bug spray. After I used these I did not get anymore bites. I normally do not get bug bites.
(5) There is a room safe, but you will have a hard time reaching into it unless you are over 6 feet tall. The safe is located above the top shelf of the closet.
(6) Due to the high humidity it is very difficult to dry swimsuits. We finally hung our suits inside the room over the tops of the balcony window on hangers and closed the drapes each morning before we left in order to dry them. Be advised that the hanger clips do cause rust on your suit. We folded Kleenex under the clips to prevent damage to our suits.
(7) We left a wake-up call for our departure and received it on time.
(8) You will be called the night before you depart to comment on the hotel's service.
(9) We were given a free voucher for breakfast at the hotel Aquarius restaurant due to a mix up on needing 2 beds
(10) Smoking is allowed in the bar area and on the beach
(11) There is a DJ in the bar area from 5 - 8 p.m. each day, but if you are looking for entertainment in the hotel, the only thing will be the casino. no music in bar area after 8 p.m.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveljunkieArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,290 - 2,296 of 4,946 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino has the convenience of walking distance to great shopping, and restaurants. The resort also has the only private island for the exclusive use of their guests! The pools are beautiful and the staff are great!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here on our 33rd anniversary and were treated like royalty. We stayed in an Ambassador suite and enjoyed wine and desert tray upon arrival, on our actual anniversary day we came back from the dinner to champange and choclate covered strawberries. Everyone was extremely nice and speaks English and are most helpful! The location of the hotel is great, within walking distance of anything you need, we also had a car to explore other parts of this lovely island. We had a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mendy1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is quite nice. Good deal for the money. The room was spacious but not luxurious. Breakfast was ok. What we liked the most was to take the boat to the private island the hotel owns. The island is gorgeous, with mangroves, flamencos and a beautiful calm beach. The location of the hotel is also great, you can walk to the marina and there are lot of restaurants around. We rented a car and went to explore the island. If you just stay in the hotel, you will miss the real Aruba with the cacti and divi divi trees, you will miss the amazing landscape of the island. Go to the lighthouse and the small church.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilianCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Oh my gosh this place was gorgeous. Before I forget, there is a restaurant right across from the spa that has the best seafood buffet for $40- well worth it! The hotel has its own island with a beach, bar, and spa for adults only. A boat takes you there every 15min. Its pool is in the open. It has stores on the lower level that leads to outside. There are other restaurants and shops nearby- Aruba has way too many diamond shops! But this is in a great area closer to the airport. On the private beach you can watch the planes come down overhead.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsDnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This resort is in the heart of everything. We especially love the private island that a speed boat takes to to and from every 20 minutes. The private island is exactly what it is....Private! Only resort guests are there and you do not have to fight for a chair. Located right next to the resort are so many places to eat and the casino. The mall is right across the street connected to their sister resort. Love Aruba and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kobesan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The past 15 years my family has stayed in this hotel and every year it only gets better! It's perfect location in downtown Oranjestad and the friendly staff and the pretty views and the special private island all make the hotel a special place that we would recommend to anyone coming to the island!

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Rdhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,050 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,337 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,706 reviews
1.5 mi away
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
2 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range: £158 - £509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Caribbean, it's right outside your door. Our luxury hotel in Aruba offers a perfect location steps from Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown boutiques, giving you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic. Get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite accommodation. Both provide exclusive access to a special discovery, Renaissance Island, with Aruba's only private beaches and a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing