We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite place on Earth! Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favorite place on Earth! Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from our 5 night/6 day stay at Renaissance's Marina tower. This was our fourth time to stay there, and we will definitely be returning! The hotel is very clean with friendly/helpful workers, and it is in a wonderful location. It is next to fabulous shopping and delicious restaurants. But the BEST part of this resort is the private island. It is truly paradise! I must admit that I hate leaving, and would love to be there every day of my life. Pictures cannot capture the beauty. It really is so relaxing and the views are breathtaking. I am not exaggerating at all when I say it is my favorite place on Earth!
Just a few helpful tips.....
We LOVE eating at Cuba's Cookin, just across the boulevard, right next to the movie theater. The food is delicious! We also LOVE eating at Que Pasa, just a few blocks away. The food there is delicious also....especially the chocolate soufflé!
One more thing...
We did a private sunset dinner sail with Tranquilo. It was so beautiful and romantic! The food was so yummy, too. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: free wifi in the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TLHB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,977
    1,549
    514
    197
    142
See reviews for
817
2,211
112
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We did a lot of research before selecting this hotel. Since this was our Honeymoon, the Adult only options at the Marina hotel were great, but being able to visit both hotels and the private island gave us lots of options. The seafood buffet at the Aquarius restaurant was worth going back a second (or more) time. We opted not to do the "all inclusive" as we planned to visit lots of places on island. We went by both of the Island's really big grocery stores (IGA and Super Foods) and were able to get just about anything we could get in the states and then some. One disappointment was that they do not allow coolers/outside food on the private island. Of course they want you to eat and drink from the restaurant there, but can see where that would probably add a lot of litter maintenance to the island. The staff was always helpful. We spent a lot of time poolside (neat infinity pool), only complaint here is that the music was annoying after a while, seemed like the same track over and over for hours. The family hotel had a pool with a swim up bar, that was neat (music here was much better). One of our wedding gifts was the couples massage with dinner package, and we enjoyed that very much. Last night, we did the casino. We had coupons for $10 in free play, had some trouble with the players cards they created for us. Overall, we had a great trip and will come back.

Room Tip: We opted not to upgrade to the ocean view room. We didn't plan to spend enough time in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coram, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just got back from our stay at the ocean suites, loved the private island and the staff is very courteous, but you have to get one of the renovated rooms cause the other rooms are very outdated, there is a lot of banging and drilling going on during the day, thank god it usually ends around 600pm and don't bother asking for a late check out, cause the answer is probably NO....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fred p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Love, Love, Love this hotel. The adult side exclusive was true to its word. The private island beach is very nice. The only thing I would recommend is to bring water shoes. This is a must!. We did not chose the all inclusive because we wanted to go to different restaurants on the island. The island is very small so you can go anywhere. If this is a family trip, I would definitely recommend choosing the all inclusive. Once again, the facility was beautiful, the staff was very nice. Their lg smith steakhouse is worth checking out if you are a meat eater and I did enjoy their dinner buffet at Aquarius. Starbucks is in the hotel and the mall is right near by. Free wifi in the lobby, that was a perk as well. I will be coming back to this hotel again for our anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scholarme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this property for 3 years and just love it! The Renaissance Aruba has a water taxi that will take you to their private island which you can choose whether to stay on the "adults only" side or the "family" side. We chose the family side even though we had no children with us and it was awesome. The island features a restaurant, restrooms, hammocks, beach chairs and the most beautiful sand and water you have ever seen. I had a pelican diving right beside me and on the adult side the flamingos are everywhere. There are restaurants aplenty to choose from but beware when you go to Aruba you are looking at the resorts paying $45 to $50 per person for meals. There are some local spots you can go to that is much more reasonable and we always rent a car for the week and travel all over the island. There is a national park that you can go through in your vehicle and along the trip there is a wonderful beach restaurant/outdoor bar that you must stop at have a cool drink. The resorts has two sides (hotel side and timeshare side) which either is great and they have a shuttle that runs between the two. There is a shopping plaza, casino and movie theatre all within the complex. We also make sure to visit the local brewery that offers tours - "Balashi Beer". Make sure you do not wear flip flops and try not to eat before you get there because they offer great meals at the Balashi Beer Garden. The island is loaded with casinos if you like the action - my husband enjoys Texas Hold Em (not too many tournaments, but always seem to find a cash game somewhere). Really so much to do you never really stay in your room. We usually spent the days on the private island and spent our evenings enjoying the sights and sounds of Aruba. Truly a paradise and the people of Aruba are so happy that you come.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis,MD
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I have rececntly returned to The Renaissance. The staff and management went above and beyound to make our stay memorable. It was our 1st Wedding Anniversary. They treated us to a room upgrade and a surprise dinner on the beach. We will never forget thier generousity and extra efforts.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EASTPORT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

After doing A LOT of research for a vacation that would be the best fit for 2 families, party of eight (four adults and four children ages 6-8) we chose this resort and stayed there from 7/13/14 - 7/20/14. Since we were planning to travel with another family our main objectives were to find a beautiful place that has suites available and an all inclusive package. This resort offered all of those things. We made the reservations three months prior to travel. Our travel agent let us know that the property was undergoing a rennovation that should be somewhat completed by the date of travel. We requested a rennovated room near each other. We arrived at 2pm on 7/13 and we were told that the room(s) would not be ready until 4pm and we would not be able to get drinks/food until 3pm under the meal plan that was part of the package. That was fine. We left the bags in the lobby and went and hung out by the pool. At 4pm we were able to check in but were told that we would not be getting a rennovated room and would not be near each other. I assumed the hotel was close to capacity and didn't argue. I then found out later that the hotel was not anywhere near capacity and there was no reason we couldn't be near each other. We met several people traveling in groups that were near each other in rennovated suites which was disappointing.

Overall the staff was relatively helpful and the food was really good. The staff on the Marina side seemed more helpful than on the Ocean side. However, there was one bartender on the Ocean side that was fantastic named Julio. We loved all of the restaurants and were so glad we did the all inclusive.

The island was great for kids and families .. and there is a side for adults only. It's beautiful and safe and we loved it. I read a lot of reviews on this and the pros far outweighed the cons. There is a restaurant on the island and the service can be a little slow but we didn't care ... we would order and let the kids play in the sand until the food came.

All in all we were very happy there. I should mention there was one bartender on the Ocean side named Fatima that was remarkably unfriendly to children. The bar was empty for the most part and EVERY other employee was great if the kids were around the bar listening to music or by the pool. They would interact with them and take their orders for water or sodas but she went out of her way to make sure they knew they weren't welcome there .. even when the parents were sitting right there at the tables in the bar area with them. This was unfortunate since we were on the family side and there are kids all over the place. We asked to speak to the manager Nelson but he never came out.

Room Tip: If you stay on the Ocean side upgrading to a Oceanview room is DEFINITELY worth the money. If the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slang2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.3 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,541 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,147 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Aruba, it's right outside your door. Our location is Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown gives you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic, get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite product. Both with exclusive access to a special discovery hiding just of shores. Renaissance Island, Aruba's only private beaches, a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Marriott and Southall Travel so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing