We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms and not ideal location for beach vacationers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Small rooms and not ideal location for beach vacationers”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Let me start by saying the private island and boat ride out are so gorgeous and the customer service was fantastic. Unfortunately the hotel itself is not really what we were looking for in a beach / tropical vacation to relax and unwind - there are no balconies and the rooms are very small compared to other places we've stayed. It is very clean and the house keeping does an excellent job so if cleanliness is your thing this place is nice but I like space if Im spending 7 days somewhere and we struggled to find it in our rooms and the resort area. I did venture out into Oranjestad a few times both at night and during the day and felt very safe but it is more fast paced city feel versus the actual beach resorts. One day we took a cab to the beach areas (about $20 usd) and spent the day near the more beach focused resorts - we realized that we missed the mark and booked a true "city" hotel thinking the private island would make it a beach. If you want a beach vacation go for the hotels in the beach zones - if you want to experience city life and more boardwalk and flashy lights (not a ton of late night life besides casinos) book here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Preacher-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,001
    1,568
    517
    199
    144
See reviews for
828
2,242
112
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

What a FANTASTIC resort! My husband and I just got back from our first time in Aruba last week. We stayed on the adults only Marina side of the resort! This resort is AMAZING and on the most beautiful island! The entire resort was so pleasant. Everything was centrally located for us. There are plenty of shops, casinos, and restaurants not only in the hotel, but within a short walking distance. But if you wanted to go the the Hotel Zone, it is only an $11 cab ride or their Arubus is cheaper, easy, and will get you there just as fast. We ventured out when we realized the Casino at the hotel had no Craps Table (Found a $5 table at Holiday Inn and $10 table at the Marriott). There is a decent sized nice fitness room, beautiful infinity pool overlooking the marina/cruise ship port, great swanky lounge, and water taxi to their AWESOME private island all in the lobby. The whole hotel is swanky looking inside. We loved it!

We stayed on the 5th floor and had a great marina and partial ocean view. It was the perfect size. The king sized bed was the most comfortable bed we've EVER had. There was mood lighting, up to date electronics, and TWO outlets on each side of the bed for your electronics! There was no sink vanity outside of the bathroom, but the bathroom was fairly large. The only dumb thing was the shower without the door. It definitely gave the bathroom more room, but that design is lacking common sense big time. The floors were flooded after every shower and no amount of towels seemed to solve the problem. The worst part is after a day at the beach, when you shower up and the water sits there in cold puddles with soaked up cold wet towels until the maid service comes the next afternoon. We finally minimized the problem about half way thru our stay when we aimed the shower head directly down and toward the wall. I will say though that was a great relaxing shower head. The only other thing was I wished they put a little more effort to cleaning the mold on the tiles in obvious eye level places.

The Private Island made this one of the best most relaxing vacations ever. Taking the water taxi there and back every day was fun. They are supposed to come every 15 minutes, but if you go later in the day, it is definitely longer. We were a bit upset on our last day when we were walking to the dock in the lobby, we were on steps headed down to the benches, the boat was coming and dropped people off and saw that no one was sitting on the bench waiting and left immediately. We had to wait a half hour for it to return. I wish they would've waited for a minute. The island is the most relaxing place on Earth. The adult side is quiet and not very crowded, even on days when it was a bit more crowded there are plenty of lounge chairs stacked up in the corner you can take and sit wherever you want. The flamingos on the Adult Beach made our trip! We enjoyed watching them every day, they were great to take photos with and really friendly. We even got to feed them pellets. I did NOT like the fact that twice we saw kids coming on the adult beach. I understand they want to see the flamingos, but the flamingos were being chased by them and they were using two hands to feed them and it was clearly making them more aggressive on those days. As a bird lover, please respect those beautiful creatures, the flamingos were perfectly friendly as long as you stay as calm as they are. One other tip, if you have water shoes, bring them, the beach is a bit rocky.

Overall, this hotel was AWESOME! We will be back! If you are looking for a quiet resort away from the craziness of the Hotel Zone area, but still want some downtown action this is a wonderful place. The private island is INCREDIBLE! I would say the demographics here were definitely ages 30s/40s+ It is definitely comparable to any trendy Vegas resort if you like that kind of atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tropicLuv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile


The beginning of our stay was not pleasant as we were placed into a bottom floor room near the pool that was not renovated and was in process of being renovated. THE problem was the cleanliness of the room upon entering, TV was not working in living room. We were told that all rooms above where in process of renovation and we were the only room left on that line not to be completed. After some discussion with the front desk and management we were changed to a renovated room top floor over looking the pool. THIS is when we felt our vacation started but it took 3 nights of dealing with the less quality room. So if you are staying at this location...the children side hotel make sure not to stay in the renovation section.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I love Aruba is one of the most beautiful island I have been. The Renaissance Aruba Resort is very well placed in front of the Caribbean Sea and the cruise terminal. The most amaizing is that the little boat come inside in the chanel and take you out. Also the pool area have an amaizing view, I did not used the pool because I love the sea, but I have stayed and enjoyed a drink and my breakfast on the pool area. Great staff, great hospitality. The rooms are big and confortable I will definitely return for another holiday on this wonderful place.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Catalin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel twice (both times at the adult only side). Our room was beautiful and the bed was HUGE!! On top of that, the mall is downstairs and there are great restaurants and souvenir shops down the street. The main street is right in front of the hotel. The private island is also nice for a few hours but if you don't have the time, I wouldn't bother going as there are more beautiful beaches in Aruba.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We just got back from Aruba last week. This hotel is just amazing!!!!!!!!!!!! We stayed at the Renaissance Marina Hotel (the adults only hotel of the two properties). If you stay at this hotel you get access to a stunning private beach (free of charge) and to the Renaissance Aruba Resort (family hotel) just across the street (located on a swimming lagoon with a large swim-up to the bar style pool). So you really get access to two hotels and a private island for the price of one hotel. Now the best part: Renaissance boats access the Marina Hotel from the ocean through a tunnel and pick you up in the very center of the hotel (the part the interior rooms overlook). It's too amazing. The boat ride is free to and from the private island which is about 10 min away. The private beach was the most beautiful part of our trip. Our hotel and the island ended up being about 80% of our enjoyment of our entire trip. This hotel is a must-stay. The rooms are high end and very stylish. Footnote: We did not see any construction going on at the Marina Hotel (adults only hotel). It appeared to be all at the Resort hotel (family hotel) across the road. Also if you do end up going to Aruba, make sure you go 3 hours early to the airport when leave as the departure process is long and drawn out so FYI.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank steveW3094YP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

After much research and recommendations we booked with the Renaissance Marina (adults only). The hotel is great with many amenities including the private island! Lizards, flamingos, delicious frozen drinks and readily available activities. The pool, bar, restaurants, and access to the family renaissance resort across the street made our stay like home away from home. We recommend this resort and would go back again. Skip the all inclusive option and go out on the town for eating!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Dollbaby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.3 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,591 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,856 reviews
2.0 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,353 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Caribbean, it's right outside your door. Our luxury hotel in Aruba offers a perfect location steps from Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown boutiques, giving you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic. Get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite accommodation. Both provide exclusive access to a special discovery, Renaissance Island, with Aruba's only private beaches and a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing