We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A romantic, special stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A romantic, special stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I got engaged during my stay there, and the atmosphere of the hotel made everything that much more magical and special. The room was romantic, modern and clean. I really enjoyed the happy hour by the pool- the view is beautiful and the crowd was relaxing and chic. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,003
    1,570
    517
    199
    144
See reviews for
830
2,242
112
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

August 2-August 6, 2014
I was very disappointed with a recent stay at the Renaissance Aruba Ocean Suites. Upon arrival, we were given a room that was not clean. It had smears on the table tops, food ground into the carpet, and the floor was not clean. We asked for another room and were told there were none available except for the one "someone" didn't want. This room was not clean either. The countertops had sticky residue, the floor was not clean, and the bedding for the pull out was not clean as it had kool aid stains. In addition, there were two leaks in the ceiling (one in bathroom and one in hallway). We were given a $50 resort credit. I expressed my dissatisfaction in a note and was told the manager would contact us. She never did. The leaks were fixed two days later. Upon checkout, I half expected we would be given compensation for at least one night, instead I was told the $50 was not credited because we had been "upgraded." Needless say, we were very unhappy with the quality of this Marriott property and its service. The only upside to this stay was the lovely private island.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie0864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArubaHospitality, Director of Operations at Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Julie,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our exclusive Renaissance Island during your recent stay at our Resort. We have also taken note of your comments with regards to our housekeeping & without any excuse for the shortcomings, the Resort is undergoing a room renovation to be completed by this year end.
Hope to be able to welcome you back soon after the completion of the room renovation.

Regards
Parimal Trivedi
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a great place to stay in Aruba. Not only does it have well equipped rooms it also has some great views of the ocean and the garden pool. Resort has its own little beach but also offers a short boat ride to a private island that is the ultimate in relaxation. Equipped with hammocks and lots of beach area pink flamingos meander around the island capping off natures beauty. There is plenty of good shopping in this downtown area. With a rental car or cab it's a 5 mile trip to some of the other resorts providing more shopping and a Casino on every corner if you are into that. Many good restaurants, including those on the waters edge, to choose from. Aruban weather is beautiful year round. A week on this island will certainly be a relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the ocean or the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Renaissance hotel was nice in most rooms. I stayed in the Ocean Suites building. They didn't have a renovated room the first night we were there, so we had to move rooms the next day. Updated rooms are very nice.

Couch bed was reported as comfy from roommates. Bathroom light switches are outside the room, and behind the door which was slightly annoying. The showers did not have doors, by design, and got everywhere. King bed was insanely comfy, though pillows could have used some work.

Pool was awesome and roomy. Had a fake beach like thing which was nice too. Swim up bar was convenient but expensive. Newly met friends tried to buy me a drink because they were all inclusive and I was not, and the bartender didn't allow it...even after I've spent $300 - $400 in a few days. Food was really good at the bar.

Now the best part; the island. Exclusive for renaissance customers, you get on a boat to their island. You wait 5-20 minutes for a boat to take you on a 10 minute ride. There is a covered section to make sure you don't get wet. 2 beaches on the island surround by rocks to keep waves out. Platforms in the middles of both swimming areas. The family friends side has the bar, restaurant, and bathrooms. Bartenders were friendly and made good drinks. Had some pizzas from the restaurant that were pretty good. (Seafood pizza and bbq chicken pizza).

Wedding was held on the adult side and the whole island was reserved for the wedding party. Beautiful setting that made for beautiful pictures. There are pink flamingos wandering around as well. I would highly recommend for a destination wedding. I don't know how much it was though, so that could sway you.

Rooms: $231 per night in ocean suites for king room with fold out couch. King bed has its own room.

Drinks: $7.50 a pop for the most part

Food: $10-$25 for most items. Best french fries I had on the island. Also had room service one morning that was good. Pancakes, eggs benedict with home fries (delicious home fries) came to $27.

Only down side is the area around the hotel shuts down at 9 or 10pm if you're a night owl.

Dutch pancake house is right next door, best breakfast you'll find on the island. Visited multiple times...but that's another review :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel was one of a kind, city stay with beach access no one else has in Aruba. The private island was perfect for our wedding and honeymoon. Conveinent to Government house and the private island was near perfect. The shuttle boat actual comes into the hotel and takes you out to the private island. Private island has place to eat, get drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The thing that sets this hotel apart from the others is that it has the price of the "off shore" hotels but the luxury of its own private beach. There are two Renaissance hotels in the "downtown" area of Aruba, so you get to experience the downtown life. They are located by a few casino's as well as next to the huge "I love Aruba" sign and in easy walking distance of tons of places to eat from fancy to Subway. The rooms are clean and the pool is nice.

Every 15-30 minutes or so a boat takes you from, quite literally, their lobby to their own private island. Its awesome because you even get to ride in the jet boat which is fun all in itself. Once on the island there are a million flamingos and iguanas and hammocks everywhere. It truly is fantastic and beautiful and doesn't even compare to the high rise section of towns standard beach.

Pros
Own private amazing beach.

Cons
Downtown and away from all the night life and high rise hotels. Cabs are always available though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darling070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

First of I would like to start and say if you are a couple coming to this resort then I would tell you that you might be better off staying at the Marina than the Ocean Suites. Me and my wife stayed for six nights at the ocean suites and we were not impressed with our room, granted I'm usually not too picky when it comes to the rooms we stay in because I believe that you shouldn't be in a room all day if you are on vacation but you should still feel somewhat at home. The tv's weren't even flat screen, the room seemed a little outdated and for the price I paid I feel like I should have definitely got a little more bang for my buck. This is a family oriented resort so if you want that privacy then you are better off at the marina. Also the private beach everyone talks about I didn't see what the big deal was except that you don't have to deal with the madness at palm beach with getting a hut and everything but we went down to eagle beach and we had no problem finding chairs and huts and it still seemed pretty quiet. What I didn't like about the private beach was that you might as well have brought water shoes because as soon as you stepped into the water you had to deal rocks that damn near cut your feet in half because it hurt so much to walk over them. The hotel is in the downtown area and it is very slow paced and quiet so if you are looking for that then this is for you but if you wanna be where there is a little bit of action then you are better off staying in the palm beach area as everything you could want is right there on the strip because a cab ride to the beach from the hotel was $11 and anytime after 10p.m or so the rate changes. We got different prices each time when riding back to the hotel after midnight. All in all I loved Aruba and can't wait to go back but I don't know if I will come back here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArubaHospitality, Director of Operations at Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Oneal,

We are in the process of renovating all our rooms in the "family friendly" Ocean Suites section of our Resort which is scheduled to be completed by this year end. Our Resort's location has its own advantages, primarily, being away from the hustle & bustle of other Resort's location & the exclusive usage of our Renaissance Island only for the guests of our Hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back at our Resort & you may want to reserve your accommodation at our "adults exclusive" Marina Hotel.

Kind regards
Parimal Trivedi
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.3 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,592 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
2.0 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,355 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Caribbean, it's right outside your door. Our luxury hotel in Aruba offers a perfect location steps from Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown boutiques, giving you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic. Get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite accommodation. Both provide exclusive access to a special discovery, Renaissance Island, with Aruba's only private beaches and a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing