We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T GO!! NOT WORTH THE $$”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Let's me first say, we had an amazing time in Aruba even though the Divi is not up to par.
Unmaintained througout the grounds. Rooms outdated and unmaintained. we had water in our bathroom everyday seeping through the tile. Could see outside though the door frame day and night. Double lock on the door-screws loose. The is a frig in the room but will not be stocked with anything. So please explain why it's there. We have traveled all over the Caribbean at all inclusives and alway have well stocked frig. Also no free wifi no free safe in room. $50 for a week of wifi that is so spotty and $2/day to rent the key for the safe. Come on Divi really!!
Food, buffet at breakfast the usually slop except for the made to order omelets and toast. Flies everywhere all over the dining area. Disgusting. No staff cleaning until after breakfast is over.
Walls, floors in need of desperate repair or just some paint to make it more appealing.
Only 1 restuartant onsite at the Divi Red parrot..be careful bird poop on chairs. Most resturants at the Tamarijan. No you won't go hungry but you will not get quality food that one should expect from Aruba.
Pool area, great....spent the day on the beach and pool just so we didn't have to go to our room.
Many folks have been coming back for 20-30 years WHY? they haven't changed a thing since then. We dubbed this place the "retirement home" away from home. Evening entertainment was very lacking and mostly resort is quiet by 11 pm.
Pro: Never had to play the chair game (getting up early to reserve beach/pool chairs). Always chairs on the beach and at the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sjtex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,452 - 1,458 of 2,886 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

We have been to several all inclusive resorts in the Caribbean from St. Lucia to Punta Cana to Cozumel to Curacao and from Sandals to Breezes to Iberostars to locally owned resorts. We enjoyed our stay at the Divi better than any other resort so far. The beach was beautiful, the staff very helpful and friendly and the food and drink way better than average.

Rooms - by all means UPGRADE! The casita rooms (beachfront) are in desperate need of remodeling. This was our original booking but we immediately informed the desk the room was not acceptable to us. We were given the chance to upgrade for a small fee to an ocean view room in the Veranda section even though the resort was at capacity. The Veranda room was beautiful. Others at the resort loved their casitas but we did not, maybe just personal preference. The Tamarijn resort next door is also owed by the same folks and privileges are shared between the two resorts. Some folks we talked to preferred the Tam and it's amenities and some, like us, preferred the Divi. Once again, personal preference.

Food - we were a little concerned at first about the limited restaurants at the Divi compared to the number offered at the Tam. The variety of food quickly dispelled our concerns. The variety and quality matched or exceeded that of Sandals. We normally eat a dinner outside of the resorts at least once during a trip to break up the resort normality but found it not necessary here.

Drink - with the exception of Sandals, the drinks were among the best of all of the resorts we've been to. Most were top shelf brands. Don't expect any good Tequila though. Only one brand that was local and We did not find it good at all.

Staff - absolutely wonderful! Always friendly and attentive. As at most all inclusives, these people work their butts off for you to have a great vacation. Please tip them accordingly!

Grounds - beautiful and clean, clean, clean!

A shuttle runs between the Tam, Divi and nearby casino until 4am. You can walk between the facilities or ride if you so desire.

Although both resorts were at capacity, we felt we had the place to ourselves at times. Things are very spread out. The Tam seems to have more activities going on while the Divi seems a little more laid back. Evening entertainment was good with a variety offered between the 2 resorts.

We met quite a few people who stay here every year. We have decided we will be joining them. We feel very much at home here and want to return again and again.

We can't say anything bad about this place. We wish we could; that way we could keep more people away leaving this gem to ourselves!

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the casitas (beachfront rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ILLandSurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Divi for our 4th time and would not stay anywhere else. The staff is awesome and always remembers us. Easy walking distance to the casino and shopping. We always like to take a walk to the Palermo rum store and stock up for our trip back home. I've been to other islands and will always come back to my Aruba.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My husband and I returned from our 37th trip to Aruba on Jan.31,2013,36 of these trips we stayed at the Divi. Although food was never their strong point once they became an all-inclusive it truly deteriorated.
The breakfast buffet is particularly unappetizing. The bananas were either totally green or rotting,the melons unripe,the omelet overcooked and the baked goods vile tasting.
Except for Ginger,the other restaurants were quite bad. The food at Paparazzi was awful to look at and tasted worse.No Italian restaurant we have ever been to would ever serve food like that. The Red Parrot is not much better.
Fortunately, the pizza at the bar near the main pool is excellent as is the pasta at the Sandpiper bar. The sandwiches are also good. However, one cannot eat pizza and pasta every day.
If the Divi went back to being just a regular resort we could eat wwherever we wanted. But to pay for an all-inclusive and then have to eat somewhere else becomes exhorbitant. But we do so 2 or 3times during our stay
We keep coming back to the Divi because of the beautiful beach and the ability to walk out of our casita right on to the beach.
The staff is really friendly and we are always greeted with smiles and great warmth..
We do hope the management will do something to improve the dining experiencce.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Debrah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My family and I had a wonderful week’s stay over Thanksgiving, and are making plans to go back. It started off with a dissatisfaction which was remedied quickly. We had booked a beach-side (casita) room but were not happy with it. The top of the dressers and nightstands were worn, the bathroom was in disrepair, and there was a gap in the room door that let in light and even some rain. We spent one night there and were moved the next day to a Veranda room on the first floor. It was a little ‘further from the action’, but still very close to the restaurants and beach, and the room was much, much better. The staff told us it had been renovated within the past year.

The buffet restaurant at the Divi was pretty decent. Our child is a picky eater, and she always managed to find something. The breakfast juices were out of a machine, rather than fresh. There could be a wait if you wanted coffee or soda for breakfast, as sometimes the wait staff would be slow to stop over to see if you needed anything. At lunch and dinner, though, wait staff would take your drink order and bring it pretty quickly. There were several options for entrees which changed daily, and there was fresh fruit available at every meal.

For the a la carte restaurants, we ate at The Red Parrot several times. We enjoyed the menu (a small sampling includes escargot and shrimp appetizers, a couple varieties of salad and soup, and beef, pork, seafood and pasta entrees) and found the staff to be wonderful there. We also tried The Palm, where you cook your own meat and veggies at a grill built into your table. We can’t comment on the Italian and Asian restaurants on the property. You can only make reservations for the a la carte restaurants two days in advance. However, were able to eat at one the evening after we arrived since there was availability and we weren’t particular about the time we got in.

At 11 am, the bars opened up. We thought the liquors and variety of drinks available were very good. One of the bars served delicious small pizzas, thin or thick-crust, which quickly became a daily treat for us. I believe the sister resort, the Tamarijn, has a bar that serves other food such as burgers and fries. We saw the menu, but didn’t order anything there (other than drinks!).

The beach was absolutely gorgeous. It was soft white sand, there were no shells or rocks—perfect to walk on barefoot. It was not crowded at all. The water was excellent, too. Gentle waves, nice temperature, it got gradually deeper without any sudden drops, and it was a nice sandy bottom.

We paid $2 per day to access the safe in our room. It doesn’t fit a laptop, but we managed to cram in our cells phones, camera, iPad (angled, it’s too large to lay flat), billfold/wallet, passports, etc. The drawback is that it uses a key rather than a code, so you are given a lanyard to carry the key around.

Another negative is some of the resort amenities have extremely limited hours. For example, there is a rock wall. However, you must sign up in advance to use it, and it’s only open for two hours in the morning two or three days per week. Also, if you need an ATM, there is only one at the Tam, not at the Divi.

We found the staff to be helpful and kind, particularly Gilbert, Robertico and Lorenzo. Overall, though, despite a few negatives, we had a wonderful time and would recommend the resort. As long as people know what to expect (it’s not what I would consider upscale), it’s a lovely place for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wink123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My wife and I spent 7 nights at the Divi Aruba and we are glad we chose this wonderful resort.
I have broken down the review by subject and hope you find it helpful.

Transportation:
Getting a taxi was easy. Just go outside and there is a man outside directing everyone exiting the airport along with taxis and destination fees. If I am not mistaken it was $22 and you pay by vehicle not people. On the way back the driver charged me a couple extra bucks but it was not worth bringing up.

Arrival:
Once you get dropped off the concierge offers you a wet clean face cloth and drink. They take your info and quickly get you and your bags to your room. I had a small problem here but was resolved quickly. I was told I would have to change rooms the next day as they were booked up. They told me they thought I canceled due to my unexpected 24 hour layover in Atlanta. I was not very please as I paid for the entire week 60 days prior. Once in my temporary room for 2 minutes they called me to tell me my permanent room was ready and someone would be there to get my bags. Like I said small problem but fixed ASAP.

Room:
It was very clean and everything in working order and fairly new. Nothing special, good or bad.

Pool:
Nice large pool mostly filled with young children and the parents. It is a roman style pool with a kiddy pool attached. There are plenty of places to sit or lie down. We never used it so I do not know how comfortable the lounges are.

Beach:
The beach was right out of a post card. The sand was like sugar and the water was blue and not to turbulent. No rocks under the water. There were plenty of lounges and shade tables to place a lounge under. No biting insects, all in all very nice.

Clothing worn:
During the day everyone was in swimwear. At night the custom was casual attire for the evening meals, a collar shirt with shorts for men and a dress for the ladies although some did wear a collar shirt and shorts also.

Food:
Food at all the restaurants was tasty. These are the restaurants you make a reservation for. Everything ells was buffet style and mediocre at best.

Staff:
The staff for the most part were professional, friendly and helpful. No issues or attitudes.

Guests:
Everyone was friendly and respectful of each other. Most of the guests were European and most of them from Sweden followed by Germany and Britton. Next were Americans however Sweden clearly had more folks than anyone. There must have been a big sales push for European family vacations as almost all of them brought their children unlike Americans were mostly couples save for a few families.

Will we go again? Probably not, we are still exploring the Caribbean and there are many more places that are closer and less expensive to fly to.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank Steve_n_KarenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

If your wish is to totally relax this is the place to go.

The beach is unbelievable, the service is great, the location fantastic.

Breakfast was excellent. A buffet with something for every taste. From french toast to cereals, english breakfast to croissants. For lunch and dinner you could choose from one of the many restaurants on the resort. Dinner was not haute cuisine but good. The idea for all inclusive is that you do not need to do or arrange anything and do not need to go anywhere. This is the place for that. With kids it is no problem to eat in any of the restaurants.

Cocktails and drinks are also included. Cocktails are delicious especially in the heat of mid day.

Staff at divi are very helpful and nice. They speak every language you can imagine and are very fond of kids.

We will go again.

Room Tip: Ocean view is unbeatable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carlos_xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
0.3 mi away
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,004 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,289 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
#16 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba All Inclusive

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #45 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range: £268 - £579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Aruba All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mile-long beach is just the start. Enjoy breezy, sunny days strolling along the shore or relaxing pool side with a cocktail. The Divi Aruba is a refuge of relaxation, do as little or as much as you like. The atmosphere is laid-back both day and night. There are activities ranging from pool volleyball, to snorkeling to sunfish sailing. The nights heat up with theme shows including carnival, limbo and salsa dance lessons. Select from a variety of restaurants, bars and lounges, most right by the water's edge. All Inclusive Amenities: • All meals and snacks throughout the day at your choice of 10 dining options • Unlimited beverages at 8 bars • Guest accommodations just steps from the sand • Accommodations with a patio or balcony • Four freshwater pools • Non-motorized water sports • Complimentary Wi-Fi • Bikes (child, youth and adult sizes) • Lit tennis courts for night play • Divi Winds Sports Center with 30-foot rock climbing wall and fitness center • Taxes and service charges ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Aruba Divi Divi
Divi Aruba Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing