We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location - absolute perfect beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Location - absolute perfect beach”
Reviewed 4 February 2011

The place is really great - especially the beach is totally outstanding. The only negative is the room faciities at Tamarijn- the room at least the ones in building 1500 needs to be renovated but clean and OK but not more. Entertainment at Tamarijn and Divi was excellent as well as the food at the a la carte restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofiestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,259
    1,355
    405
    163
    87
See reviews for
988
1,607
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Stayed at the Tamarijn for a week at the end of January, and of course it was a wonderful break from the weather in New York City. We are an older couple, and in the interest of full disclosure we admit to being food snobs, so we don't expect good food at all-inclusive resorts, cruises, etc., and we are never disappointed. The Tam is a tired, low rise resort directly on a spectacular beach (with no snorkelling however). The management of the place leaves much to be desired. Many of the staff do not seem to have had the opportunity of much training. For instance, because guests are required to make reservations for the restaurants (if they wish to avoid the buffet), we waited in line at the reservation desk for half an hour (No, it didn't just seem like half and hour; it actually was half an hour.) while Louise (alone at the desk) helped a couple with very elaborate sightseeing plans and vouchers even though our reservation would have taken 20 seconds. The irony is that during the first few days of our stay, the computerized reservation system was down and the flow of guests to the restaurants worked just fine. A lot doesn't work at the Tam. Although the resort adverstises wireless, don't believe it. They also say that they monitor and deter the hording of the beach chairs under the shade palapas. They don't. And there are not enough to go around, so there is an early morning mad rush to claim these shaded spots, and some people selfishly monopolize them without using them. Outside our room, the same folks kept their t-shirts and towels on the chairs all night, every night, although they only used the spot for about an hour a day. There are lots more examples of shoddy management.. So why are we planning to return? The beach, the beach. We would open the sliding doors on our resonably-priced first floor room, walk four steps across the patio, and put our bare feet on to one of the lovliest, least crowded beaches in the Caribbean.

Just a quick tip. We like to snorkel, so after reading about the Octopus on Trip Advisor, we booked an afternoon trip hoping for a quiet, nature-centered sail and snorkel. No such luck. Our trip was crowded with a noisy gang that was more than three sheets to the wind. Curiously it was a different trip on a larger sailboat, the Palm Pleasure, that offered a more professional and knowlegable staff, much better facilities (you know what I mean), and better snorkel sites. (And also plenty to drink if that's your pleasure.) The Palm Pleasure costs more than the Octopus, but well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZoltanNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We love the Tam, we love the location, waterfront rooms, beaches, food and drinks. Every year the price goes up and we kind of expect that, what we don't expect is that the quality of the vacation goes down. Case in point, we used to get soaps with hotel names, now generic. Not that it is important to have soaps with the hotel's name but it is the smaller stuff that the resorts are scrimping on. Food and drinks are top quality from the tam to the divi. The wait staff and cooks are beyond reproach and are the most friendly in the world. The cleanliness is compromised. The service for other activities also compromised. The complaints we had were: 1, the cleaning staff always swept the outdoor lanai and wet mopped it too. not this time, 2, hair dryer did not work and no back up was available.3, drain plug was stopped up, 4, light fixture did not work, 5, locked out due to electrical system in key . Not being a petty person and realizing that it is probably the best beachfront location, we will return but we will always search for the best price. For top price, you get top service, if we are going to get not top service, we don't want to pay top price

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbro9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Great location, could not ask for more. the rooms were not the most luxurious but who needs a fabulous room when you have the most beautiful views from the room. The food was good and staff decent.
Be sure to get up early and reserve yourself lounge chairs because others take them starting around 7 am (if not the night before). Signs say that if you are away for an hour staff will take your stuff but that is not true. If you want somewhere to sit on the beach reserve early
Evening entertainment was lacking at this resort

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valerie2272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2011

My husband and I took advantage of Divi/Tamarijn's honeymoon special, which is a guaranteed ocean-front room (plus some little extras) at the rate of their lowest-priced room. That part was nice, so it's not a bad deal if you're honeymooning.

As for our actual stay, at first I was disappointed with the room, since it cost so much per night. It was basically the level of what you'd expect from a decent La Quinta or a Comfort Inn... just the basics, nothing fancy like jet tubs or your towels folded into animal shapes. But if you can get past the lack of opulent luxury, I WILL say that the ocean front rooms give you a breathtaking view. A beautiful blue ocean and pale sandy beach is just RIGHT THERE. Open your curtains, take 10 steps, and you're on the beach. The beach front rooms at the Tamarijn have MUCH better views than the Divi down the road.

As for resort activities, be forewarned that most of the cool ones (ie, waverunners, spa treatments) cost extra. A LOT extra. You'll probably find better deals with doing the same activities elsewhere on the island. If you eat all of your meals and do all of your drinking at the resort then it might be worth the cost, but during our week-long stay we got tired of the same choices (some of the resort restaurants are NOT complimentary) and ventured off the resort. Aruba itself is very, very American friendly, too, and the concierge at the Tamarijn was great about getting us a cab or helping us find places to eat and things to do.

Overall I'd say our experience was "okay." Not bad, not mind-blowing, just overall okay. If you'd prefer to hang out at the resort, you're a honeymooner, and you feel strongly compelled to avoid the crowded beaches of the larger resorts (like the Marriott, good lord!), Tamarijn is worth consideration.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmTreesPleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I went to Aruba for the first time for a family gathering, and the place my other relatives chose was the Tamarijn. It was their fourth visit to the resort as they travel there each year at this time. While it may not have been my first choice if traveling alone, the Tam was indeed a fine place to stay the week. It was a very nice AI facility located just minutes from downtown, shops and the airport. The physical condition of the resort is very good, both rooms and grounds, and the staff is friendly and attentive. I found it interesting that there was constant tipping at the bars, buffet and resturants. That meant you needed to have cash with you at all times. Sorta defeats the purpose of an AI facility, eh? The food at the buffet was average-to-very good, while the Red Parrot located at the Tam's sister resort was excellent. We made trips to a few casinos, and one of my nieces came away with enough winnings to pay for the cost of her trip.
My first impression of Aruba upon arriving was, "I'm back in the States". Almost all the signs and advertisements are in English, and there are Subway's, Taco Bell's, Valero gas stations, Pearle Vision Centers, Starbucks, etc. everywhere you look. Off the resort, I found the locals to be very friendly and felt safe where ever I went, regardless of the time of day. As expected, the prices for items in Oranjestad are elevated due to the cruise ship pier location, but there are many local shops near the beach resorts that offer more affordable shopping.
If my nieces and nephews decide to go back for their fifth visit next year, I will definitely make the return visit to the Tamarijn with them.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElPasoJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We just returned from our second stay at the tamarijn.....I feel obligated to post a review here as I used this forum to base my decision to travel to Aruba and the Tamarijn. Since I have stayed there twice I can sincerely give an honest review. My first impression of the Tamarijn....unassuming. There is no flare to the lobby of the resort, no grand entrance. pretty quickly i discovered the true value of what the resort had to offer once i stepped out the back door of my room and stepped on to a beautiful beach with silky soft white sand. a cool ocean breeze and the ocean 30 feet away..... i strolled down to the bunker bar grabbed a beer and plopped down on a chair and soaked it in. We stayed in the 1900 block last year which was what i think a good spot....first and foremost....its close to the bunker bar, secondly it is on the quieter side of the beach and away from the main pool. we stayed on the second floor which was ok since we didn't have kids with us.....this year we requested a first floor room (which we got in the 2200 block) because we were returning with the kids (4 and 11)....in the end it didn't matter because the only thing we did in the room on both trips was sleep, get ready for dinner and use the bathroom.....the first floor offers a morning wake up view of the ocean/beach from your bed (as you will see in one of my pictures).......if you are a beach bum this is the place......it is not crowded at all...(unlike the high rise area where everyone is on top of each other, that is another story)....you literally have your own beach.......The rooms are average and not overly big (pack light, your at the beach) and yes the bathrooms are not fancy.....the rooms are very clean and the beds and bedding are very comfy......trust me, my wife is as picky as they come when it comes to cleanliness and she had no concerns....you may have read in some reviews that there are rocks in certain areas of the beach and not in others....well the beach completely changed from last year....no rocks in the 1900-2500 at all...you could actually swim and walk in front of the bunker bar......there was plenty of things to do for the kids....they played in the sand and ocean for hours on end......if not they swam in the pool.....chased iguanas around.....helped themselves to the ice cream machine and ordered pizza, chicken nuggets or mexican fries from the pizza per tutti (great snacks, lunch here)....they had no problem keeping busy.....my eleven year old daughter and i strolled up to the high rise area.....where the non all inclusive hotels are .....the beaches are crowded....no where near as nice....we walked along the beach for awhile and then tried to go to the lobby of the raddison to get a taxi back to our hotel....we were stopped by security and told we could not go to the lobby because we did not have foot wear and my daughter was in her bathing suit.....i smiled and quietly thanked her for reaffirming my decision to stay at the tamarijn......

a short list of things....

remember...your in the islands...slow down
sand piper and per tutti for lunch
red parrot and palm grill for dinner
walk the beach from the tam to eagle beach
jeep tour
snorkel baby beach
go to the buffet for breakfast early....it gets busy and noisy
smile at the bartenders
watch sunsets from the bunker bar

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank richards1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
0.4 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
1.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,647 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Property: Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All oceanfront rooms on the mile-long beach make this lively resort the perfect choice for beach lovers. The Tamarijn Aruba is Aruba's hot spot on the beach where the fun never stops. There's plenty of activity day and night. Learn to windsurf, ride a bike on the boardwalk or climb the 30-foot rock climbing wall right on the sand. Kayaking and snorkeling are just steps from the rooms. When the sun goes down, the fun begins with lively music around the pool and theme shows. Or try your luck at the Alhambra Casino nearby. All Inclusive Amenities: • 10 Restaurants and grills • 8 Bars with daily drink specials • 4 Freshwater pools • Non-motorized water sports • Divi Winds Sports Center with fitness center • Bikes, beach volleyball, tennis clinic • Weekly water aerobics, yoga and Zumba classes • Lighted tennis courts • Nightly entertainment with theme nights • 30ft Rock climbing wall on the beach • Daily activities • Kids Fun Club for ages 5 - 12 • Free Wi-Fi throughout property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., West Indies, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Hotel Tamarijn
Aruba Tamarijn
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Resort
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing