We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we found it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
Ranked #41 of 222 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$17
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Aruba's only "Por Kilo" Latin Wood Fired Grill restaurant serving a buffet style lunch "by the pound". The number 1 lunch experience on Aruba. Lot's of slowly cooked and roasted latin comfort food. Mesquite fired grilling of prime beef, seafood, chicken, chorizo's. And well over 30 options of sides and salads. Pick anything you like and pay only for the weight of your food. Average spending $12.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Glad we found it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

The Kitchen is off the beaten path, but definitely worth the trip. Extensive menu, including kids menu, reasonable prices and friendly, attentive service. Meals each come with veggies, plus family-style sides for the table. This is our seventh trip to Aruba and we're always looking for new places (I'm so tired of the many places in the high rise hotel
area with mediocre, overpriced food) so this was a great find. Just be sure to get directions if you plan to drive yourself, the GPS was inaccurate.

Helpful?
1 Thank RMWeeks04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    46
    17
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We Just Got Lucky!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We heard a lot about this restaurant and tried it. Great food and service. This restaurant is part of a culinary school in Aruba. The menu range is from wood-fired pizza to dinners. Prices are reasonable: salad $6.00 (big) house wine $6.00 and dinners teens and low twenties. Great wait staff. A MUST TRY

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angeloartglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidWest USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Once found we kept coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had not read about this place on TA before going here for the first time. It was less than a mile from where we stayed. Other guests had recommended The Kitchen as a good low priced location in the area. We were so pleased we ended up going back several times for the food and friendly service. We did the lunch buffet a couple times. You pay $2 for each 100 grams. Works out to less than $10 a pound. A full plate is about $12. Items are cooked fresh in small portions so that the food is not sitting very long. Even some of the fired items were still very hot and crisp. There is a Wood Fired oven in the kitchen which is visible when going thru the buffet. Kitchen, restaurant and restrooms are very clean. It is not fine dining, but then the prices are about 1/2 what a lot of other places we went to charged.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeyJetttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton Ohio
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Once is enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Hiding near the back of the Certified Mega Mall on L.G. Smith Blvd, The Kitchen serves lunch and dinner in a glass strip mall location, a sleek new design with a distinctive modern flair. The menu is pretty extensive. Entrees include Aruban-inspired items: grilled meats and seafood; a selection of pasta dishes; and a variety of stir fry choices. If you like fish and seafood, there are many options.

We made our dinner selections from the Aruban part of the menu, two different grouper recipes: one grilled with peppers, tomatoes, and onions, one pan-fried with creole sauce. Both were served with rice, boiled potato, vegetables and black beans. The fish was good, nice texture, prepared well, spiced very conservatively, even the creole sauce. There wasn't much contrast to the standard Aruban side items (and Brazilian black beans) which we found to be pretty bland at other restaurants as well. This is not a criticism of The Kitchen, it’s commentary on Aruban native cuisine. I thought the black beans might have a bit of Brazilian zip, but no.

Service was friendly and fairly prompt, prices were very reasonable for Aruba. The only blemish on our experience was the extra items on our check, two beers and a salad, none of which we ordered. Our waitress offered apologies and got it fixed. Otherwise unremarkable, except we overheard the same issue at the next table just a few minutes earlier. Twice in ten minutes? I won’t allow myself to believe this was deliberate, which leaves only incompetence or bad computer skills to blame. Bottom line: The Kitchen did a pretty good job within the limitations of Aruban native cuisine and it was an excellent value, but I can't say I was inspired to make a return visit. P.S. Keep a sharp eye on your check.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Creeker2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really Friendly, Really Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We heard about this place from people we met on the beach and we weren't disappointed. Located away from the restaurant row on Eagle/Palm Beach, The Kitchen rewards your persistence with really good, really reasonably-priced food and friendly service. Really tasty. We went twice in a week and weren't disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing