We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Fort Zoutman

Fort Zoutman
Ranked #29 of 78 things to do in Oranjestad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fort Zoutman houses the Aruba Historical Museum, the Willem III Tower and the Bon Bini Festival, a weekly folklore fair.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We went here before we left Aruba and it was definitely a nice way to end the trip. It's an old fort turned museum. It's also where the Bon Bini festival is held. It was very interesting and I learned a lot about the history of Aruba. The signs about the artifacts, area, etc. are in multiple languages- English, Spanish and Dutch. (I think I also saw Papiamento). The museum is mostly indoors and has air conditioning, so it's great to do on a rainy day or if it's unbearably hot. It doesn't take a lot of time, maybe an hour at most, and is very cheap to get in- $5. The kids got in free. This is a great place to visit and learn about Aruba's culture and history.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank iLoveAdventure4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    60
    47
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Compact location, but the history is interesting.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This fort showed the history of the settlers of the island, rather than the natives on the island before it was settled. The museum dedicated to the natives wasn't open the day we were there (not open on Monday).

This museum was interesting. The relics and historical items were reminiscent of colonial american historical items. Still, was charming and well displayed. No one else was there, so we had the run of the place. The museum portion was air conditioned which was a nice relief from the heat.

We signed the guestbook. Was interesting to see notes from other visitors. Cool place. $5 entry fee was well spent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Family V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Aruba history”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a cool place where you can learn some of the Aruba History for the past 100 years.
It is on the small side and it is very intimate, so visiting it is really worth it,
It won't take much of your time.
Worth a visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank chrisbana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very interesting and cool too!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We liked learning some of the history of Aruba at this old fort converted into a museum. It houses a diverse group of artifacts quite well described (in English) on large placards. It's also air-conditioned so a nice pleasant break on a hot day. Cost us $5 each.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TolerantTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Oldest building in Oranjestad”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stumbled upon this treasure by accident while doing my morning power walk! I was attracted to the beautiful architecture of the building itself with its colorful façade! There is a historical museum inside with centuries of history. I was so intrigued and pleasantly surprised! On Tuesday nights tourists are invited to the fort for the island’s Welcome Party, the Bon Bini Festival from 6:30 – 8:30 pm celebrating the island’s culture and history. Definitely worth visiting, it's small, so 1-2 hours and then off to lunch, shopping, or whatever it is that makes you HAPPY!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaeP617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Zoutman also viewed

 

Been to Fort Zoutman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing