We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peruvian ceviche was a highlight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DELIMAR

DELIMAR
Ranked #29 of 220 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Kennett Square PA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Peruvian ceviche was a highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Recommended by our host at the Club Arias B & B, this family restaurant in Oranjestad was a treat. The ceviche was prepared with local fish (of course) and was fabulous. We each had fresh seafood prepared in Peruvian styles and enjoyed our dishes very much. As others have said, the restaurant was not too busy. We arrived at 7 p.m., and around the time we were there, of the nine or so tables, five were occupied. Service was pleasant and timely, setting was pleasant. Good food, who could ask for more!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    69
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was a very pleasant find. Food was excellent and the Tres leches cake superb. Don't let the emptiness at dinner fool you. It is busy at lunch with a local crowd. We would have passed by if not for another couple telling us they'd eaten there before and the food was very good. They were right. If you are looking for some local flavor and home cooking, this is it. We will be sure to go back before leaving for home. A real pleasant surprise.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drlarry25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, slow service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Tried to eat at Que Pasa, but it was full, not even room at the bar. And the hostess seemed truly disappointed she colliding fit two more. So we walked by Delimar and they were empty, which usually is a bad omen, but I was overall content with the meal.
The appetizer and first cocktail came out in a timely fashion, but it was a long wait for the entree and offer for a second cocktail. I noticed this happened to each of the four occupied tables.
All of the food was exceptional, I had a ceviche app and a seafood medley entree.
There are many exceptional restaurants in and around Oranjestad, so I will try others before returning to Delimar, but I have to say it's food was worth going back for more.

Maybe the following is an unfair comment because many restaurants in Oranjestad close at 7pm on New Year's Eve, but Delimar turned away a foursome at the door at 7, then let a family of four in at 7:30 (there were at least six empty tables). The family was probably friends of the owner, but still, seemed like poor form to me.

Helpful?
Thank Shortonvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My husband & I dined here on Dec 14, 2013. The owner waited on us & explained the menu in great detail then answered our questions. The food was wonderfully prepared & fresh (we both had Mahi Mahi). For dessert we both had Tres leches cake. It was the best I ever had. One appetizer, 2 entrees, 2 desserts & 2 mixed drinks $95 including tip. I HIGHLY recommend this place located behind the Renaissance next door to Yemanja.

Helpful?
Thank nfahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Awesome food and great service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Unbelievable seafood. Great goat stew and ceviche (sp). Deserts were very good. While their English was OK, they actually knew what gluten was which was very helpful. All around great place

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xcheefoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DELIMAR also viewed

 

Been to DELIMAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing