We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Very nice Hotel, espectacular beach, You can ride in the golf car around the resort. Little pools near each building also the main pool. You can walk to the supermarket.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jachacon1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,350 - 1,356 of 2,080 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

we stayed in Divi Dutch Village Aruba - a low rise hotel which suited us just fine - cosy swimming pools, lovely relaxing beach areas- with no banana boats zooming by - great facilities- my son was always one of the first to be queueing up at 9am to get his ice cream.
room was great with a full kitchen - we stayed full inclusive and ate out in the many different restaurants they had on offer - one of our favourites was called Gingers
we also ate in the ' windows on Aruba ' restaurant which is situated with the Golf complex and you get a speical rate - an small island with a big happy personality - would definately recommend to all types of traveller.

Room Tip: as a family of 4 we booked the Divi Dutch Suite that was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catherine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Nice beachfront but birds swarming at the so, so breakfast buffet and landing and taking dives at tables/plates...moldy rooms in some parts of the facility, unfriendly and unmotivated staff. Go with a branded property if you choose Aruba...I suggest St. Maarten, Bahamas, and Little Dix Bay and some US beaches before Aruba. This property is being fixed up. I'd wait. The two Divi properties that flank this one seem to have larger crowds by the pool and lots of kids. The lounge chairs all get reserved by about 7 a.m. Be prepared to wake up early. P.S. re: Aruba...all casinos are full of smoke!

Room Tip: Some of the bigger rooms with more amenities have the mold. Be careful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AtlantaU2Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Dutch Village has by far the least congested beach from Orangestaad all the way to Palm Beach. The beach varies a little from year to year, this year it is big and clean. There are no water sports at the Dutch Village end of the strip so there are no boats Zooming around pulling skiers, parasailers and rafts, no jet skies etc. If you want a room with these activities next door then Dutch isnt the place. I'd you enjoy beach combing in relative peace, clean white sand beaches and want excellent proximity to both High Rise area and Orangestaad then Dutch Village is a short ride (bus, taxi or car) to either.

Pros: rooms are clean, all have terrace or balcony. Buildings are on beach side of road with multiple pools and 1 minute walk to beach. Some rooms have ocean view. Nice kitchens/baths, easy access to grocery/liquor store. Bath/beach towels provided. The beach is never crowded at all, it's a pleasure to have room to move, walk, run, play. The Bunker Bar has awesome sunsets and a lively happy hour.

Cons: The Divi All-Inclusive is in between Dutch Village and the beach so the ocean view not great from Dutch Village units. Fri and Sat nites there can be some road noise due to building's proximity to the street.

We've stayed at Dutch Village for six years and find that the value is very high for what you get compared to other places. It's the opposite of the High Rise scene, layed back and low key.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Divi resorts are crime ridden. Units and safes in rooms are being robbed with no help from resort management and North Carolina management. Don't believe what they advertise about NO CRIME. Have been vacationing in timeshares for past 25 years and have seen nothing but island and Divi Resorts going downhill. Before resort was bought by Divi Corp the grounds, units, staff couldnt do enough for you. That's a joke now. Please find another island to visit where you will be able to enjoy spending your hard earned money!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cosmetics01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed in the Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort August 2011 and on first arrival, thought the hotel was absolutely beautiful. The Golf buggy drivers were very friendly and I thought it was going to be a perfect two weeks!

Breakfast the next day was a little disappointing. We ate at the Sea Breeze Cafe and found the selection was quite limited and the staff seemed annoyed that I'd asked for some water! The main pool was lovely and right next to our room. After a few nights we chose to eat at the Tamarijn Resort (part of the Divi resort) which is a 5 minute walk or a short ride in the golf buggies. We found the staff were much friendly and selection of food much better. We ate breakfast here for a few days. We found the best place for all meals and had the friendliest/nicest staff was at the Divi All Inclusive resort (10 minute walk from Divi Golf). The pool and beach were good here and everything seemed to be great.

After a few days when the golf buggy drivers realised you didn't tip them every journey, they became less helpful and suddenly didn't want to drive you anywhere. Our nightmare occurred half way through our holiday though!. At 2 am my younger sister was woken by water dripping through the ceiling of our hotel room. My dad put a bin under the drips and said he would call reception later. Then I noticed water dripping above my bed and within a matter of minutes water was pouring through the ceiling as if it was raining indoors. There was a Jacuzzi on the roof above our room and the major worry was that it would fall through the roof. After a few minutes the water was ankle deep (I'm not kidding, photo as proof!) and the 2 men sent over from reception looked utterly shocked and had no idea what to do. We grabbed all of our possessions and took them through to the other bedroom which fortunately was still dry. We chucked everything in our cases (family of 5 and we packed in a few minutes flat!) and left our room in only our pyjamas with our cases in tow. After alerting the other people on our floor, who by now were opening their doors, also saying they had water flooding through, we ended up sitting by the pool for an hour. Now gone 3am they found us a new room, this time on the opposite side of the pool. We went into the room to find 1 double bed and a sofa. We phoned reception and ask for bedding and a camp bed to accommodate the 5 of us. They assured us someone would be over. We waited and no-one came with the bed and bedding. In the end just to get us through to the morning, my younger brother, sister and I shared the bed and my parents slept on the sofa.

On the morning of our flight home, we went down to the pool early to catch some last few rays of sun. We went back to the hotel room to shower and as we turned the taps on, not a single drop of water came out! We complained to reception who after a long time faffing around, phoned us to say they had an alternative room at the Dutch village resort for us to shower in. Armed with our toiletries and clothes for the flight home we were shuttled over to another room, where we had a 2 minute shower each before dashing back to the room, to get ready to fly home. It only got worse when we tried to check out!

We booked the holiday with Hayes and Jarvis (a partner of Thompson and First Choice). On a positive note the Thomson rep Sandra at the Divi All Inclusive Resort was so helpful and such a friendly person, she couldn't have been more helpful. Unfortunately the same could not be said for the hotel rep on the Divi Golf Resort. As we went to check out of the hotel for our flight back to London we found the coach had not arrived to pick us up. We asked the rep where the coach was and she kept saying it was on its way. After waiting half an hour, we said you need to phone them again, we have a flight to catch. She turned around to my mother and said: "you're in Aruba ma'am, chill out. You only have to be at the airport 2 hours early" For our airline we needed a 3 hour check in for an international flight. She kept refusing to call the coach driver and kept telling us to chill out and that it was not her problem. We asked if she would pay for the taxi that was waiting in the hotel car park to take us and she refused. Eventually after 50 minutes only when we shouted in reception how awful the hotel was, she ran outside with $20, threw it at the taxi driver and told us to leave the hotel in the taxi.

I can honestly say I have never been more glad to leave a hotel and country, which for months I was very much looking forward to going to.

Never ever again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I visited Divi Village Golf and Beach resort March 18 - March 25th after finding out that our pre-booked cruise vacation was going to be cancelled due to propullsion issues. We scrambled to find places to go and used RCI to find hte ideal cruise replacement.

We have visited Aruba once before several years ago and previously stayed in the High-Rise section. Divi is located in the Low Rise section and we enjoyed the more relaxed area. The beach is easily accessed by crossing hte street from the resort and was wonderful. Plenty of sand and space for everyone. A far different experince than in the High Rise area. One thing that could have been better was the location of the Beach huts. In Aruba, shade is at a premium and the location is very near the road which is less than desirable when going to the beach. Who really wants to hear all the traffic while relaxing? The water is a distance from the road and moving hte huts would seem like a change for hte better. None hte less, the huts were well occupied.

Our room was nice, although it appeared that it was in the middle of some sort of rennovation. The bathroom vanity seemed to be missing the finishing touches and the air conditioning vent in the master area was missing. Thismeant we had to feel the air blowing on us continuosly.

We had a studio which was well stocked and we opted out of the all inclusive and shopped at Lings for Breakfast and Lunch items. Ling's is amazing with an fantastic selection at resonable prices. It's nice to be so far from home and still find all of the food favorites. Don't be alarmed bu the posted prices as they are in Arubian dollars. The translation to the american dollar is a good one. I was concenred when my grocery bill displayed $165, yet once converted I only paid $65 USD which is what I expected. If possible, try to eat in whenever you can. Dining out in Aruba is quite expensive.

We dined at several locations in Aruba and found the food and service fantastic. A bit pricy (about $50pp) without having any bar item, but definitely well prepared. Our favorites include Giannis and Azzuro in the High Rise area, as well as Nobushi for Sushi. We also ate at an Italian Restaurant very near the Califorina Lighthouse which offered great food and a nice outside dining area to watch the sun set.

We decided to rent a car upon arriving in Aruba and found it wonderful to travel around the island during our stay. We enjoy the beach as well as snorkeling and Arashi Beach is one of hte nicest places, especially to snorkel. Was going to take one of the many catamarran snorkel tours but realized that they simply stop just south of Arashi Beach. A very easy swim from the beach area. Baby Beach is also an excellent beach/snorkle spot. Baby beach has some services while Arashi does not.

During our stay the weather was outstanding and the temperature oscillated from 79 0 85 degrees with the occassional brief shower. DO NOT FORGET to apply sunscreen often. At 12 degrees above hte equator, you will feel the sun immeidately.

Again, it was a nice substitute for what should have been a cruise vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EnjoyingLifeAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,289 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#3 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,885 reviews
1.9 mi away
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
#14 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,805 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range: £135 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing