We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I guess it all depends on what you are looking for but this "resort" was not acceptable for us. The room was not ready at 5pm! They left laundry in dryer and a full load in dishwasher--not my idea of vacation. The check in staff and concierge did not seem happy to see us or friendly at all. We went to beac on first day and there was not any service to set up chairs or help at all. It was a free for all with everyone grabbing chairs whether they were staying here or not. I understand that Aruba beaches are all public but expected to have some resort like services. Not here so if you expect that, go elsewhere. The pool was no better. Packed with people, dirty and basically disgusting. I wanted swim there if I were paid to do so. We ended up leaving, forfeiting all of our money and moving to a hotel. Please do not rent or worse buy here if you have any level of expectation of a level of accommodation or service. It was really unbelievable Low rent experience.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuck3810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    662
    246
    120
    107
See reviews for
636
814
47
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Dutch Village is for people who are looking for a peaceful getaway. We chose to not do the all inclusive option. We reserved a room with a kitchenette and across the street from the Dutch Village is a brand new supermarket (Ling and Sons). We purchased our groceries for the week and went out for dinner not only on the Divi resort, but other restaurants in Aruba (with an all inclusive package you are tied down to staying at your resort and miss out on other great placed in the island). Our walk to be white, sandy beach was 45 seconds from our room door. Staff is very pleasant from check in to check out and everything in between. There are golf carts constantly driving around the resorts that can take you to different places in the resort. Many people who I encountered on the resort are loyal customers coming back every year.

Helpful Hints:
-Bring lots of singles to tip (housekeeper, transportation drivers, front desk, etc.)
-Check out the infinity pool and bar behind Windows on Aruba Restaurant
-Typically beach chairs are taken by 9am, get out there early and place some towels on chairs
-Free wifi is available at Alhambra Casino Marketplace (15 minute walk from the Dutch Village or you can take a shuttle golf cart)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Got here for a late check in at 6 pm, we walk into the room it was a pig sty never was cleaned a total mess, don't know how they could give you keys to a room that was just a wreck, they did accommodate to move us but wasn't where we were supposed to be, will never stay here again much better at other divi resort

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shahow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
320 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Our roomy condo was very clean. It looked new. All the appliances worked, the bed was comfortable, and we had a garden view. Since they fumigate once a week, we had no problems with insects. The nicely landscaped grounds had three different pools and a number of Jacuzzis. The gorgeous beach is just steps away. Divi Dutch Village is in the low rise hotel district which is less crowed and less noisy than the high rise district. We did not take the all-inclusive package which limited us to what Divi restaurants we could eat at and we could not get a drink at the beach bar. But since we had a rental car, we got to try a variety of outside restaurants and since our condo was only steps from the beach we could get our drinks from our own fridge. Travel around the Divi complex was provided by golf carts. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokeylinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at the Divi Villas the second week of December and had a wonderful time! The weather was beautiful - in the 80's, windy, with a little bit of rain on one morning. Our rooms (my husband and I had a studio villa that connected to a one bedroom villa that our children stayed in) were terrific. We were on the 3rd floor of the Birdie X building - our views were spectacular (overlooking the 9th hole with the Caribbean in the distance). Being on the 3rd floor also gave you access to the 4th floor hot tub and sitting area. We were right next to the infinity pool (which was never crowded). It was a short walk to the beach (which was never crowded, either). We never had trouble finding lounge chairs (either in the shade or in the sun). The beach is huge! We brought travel mugs with us and had them put our drinks in them to bring to the beach. It is very windy in Aruba and the lids kept the sand out of our drinks and made it so we didn't have to make as many trips back to the bar. The buffet food was so much better than I had anticipated (I found myself liking it better than the ala carte restaurants at times). Check in and check out with Lisandra was great. We went on a jeep ride with ABC Aruba - highly recommend that! (Our driver was Edwardo - fantastic!) Went for a short Segway trip, too - that was a blast! - Danny was our guide. Having a washer and dryer in the unit was really convenient (cut down on what we needed to pack for the week, too). Awesome week! Wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: If you can do stairs, 3rd floor has the best views! Birdie X has wonderful views and is very conven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indianatraveler056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have traveled extensively and if I could have given ZERO for a rating I would have. The rooms are cheaply constructed, the concierge was horribly rude and the spa decided they didn't have availability when we arrived even though we booked THREE days in advance. Then they had the nerve to "scold" us for arriving four minutes late when they couldn't even accommodate our reservation. I will NEVER stay at this inferior resort again. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliWillis33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We went for a short family holiday, with the desire to not just sit on a beach, but actually explore a bit of the island and see what other services (shopping, supermarkets, etc) are available. So a big reason for choosing this resort was the self-contained nature of the rooms with cooking facilities. We rented a car (through Econorentals - I usually stick to the majors but these guys were fantastic!) so were mobile.

Pros:
Overall a good experience. The rooms were decent, large, and the cooking facilities were sound (not brilliant - too few pans etc, no dishwasher). Beach was nice, and even though it was across a road - this was very close and the road is usually quiet. Loved using the barbecue next to the pool. Happy hour cocktails at the pool closest to the beach were great.

Cons:
Staff at reception were not overly helpful. Drinks from the bigger pool bar were poor. I constantly get surprised how resorts allow such mediocre pool bars - they should be one of the central features of the place.

We went with children and this is not a resort tailored to families, but we knew this and wanted the central location as a base for our exploring, and for this it was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judd e l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,647 reviews
1.8 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,145 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Property: Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing