We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but all depends on where you stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place but all depends on where you stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We rented a penthouse condo with a private rooftop terrace and the place was outstanding. The terrace had a hot tub, dining area, tv, surround sound....and so many other extras that made this stay terrific. Because of this, it's probably hard to compare my review to others that may have stayed in a different room type. So I will focus solely on the property:

Pros:
* Very nice pool and the slide was a huge hit with my kids. They must have gone down it a few hundred times per day.
* Overall property was very clean and service was great
* New Image spa was outstanding!!! They gave us discounted coupons so we had several massages during our 1 week stay and probably was the best i've ever had
* Food - we only at a Mulligans but it was very good. Heard great things about Windows on Aruba but didn't try
* People are very friendly

Cons:
* Shuttle service on the property was spotty and it's needed because the place is big. It's great that it'll take you to the other Divi properties and casino, albeit a shady one, but there were many times we waited 10+ minutes for one.
* Would've been nice if they had waitress service at the pool as opposed to having to go to the bar to get a drink. Not to mention you needed this room charge card, which was made from paper, to charge anything. That's the not the smartest thing to use considering you're by the pool, it's going to get wet and destroyed
* Unlike the Palm beach area, there's not much around so you definitely need to rent a car, but don't use the Hertz by the hotel check in area - very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atkahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    691
    258
    126
    114
See reviews for
681
858
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed 8 nights with a large group in 4 different rooms. We had a fabulous time! The rooms were clean, only minor things like not enough towels on the first night and minor maintenance issues (which can happen anywhere). Our rooms were updated so no issue with aging accommodations. We stayed in the hotel part, not the time share villas. We cooked a lot in our rooms (the oven is a bit different, but we figured it out) and everything was comfortable.

The pools were wonderful, clean water and fun!

The overall service was mostly ok. It almost seem as if you were "bothering" the staff by asking questions. This was noticed by dialing zero from the room asking questions regarding restaurants or activities. Also at the bars and restaurants staff were not as attentive as they should have been. Walk up to the bar means you want a drink, there shouldn't be a need to flag someone down or specifically ask for that drink.

Front desk, maintenance and cleaning staff were awesome! The lobby valet was also excellent. Helped us frequently figure out how to get places. Highly satisfied with the friendliness!

This area of hotels is farther away from the busy Palm Beach area with restaurants and shopping and downtown Oranjestad. Which meant is was less crowded and loud with people. Yet with a taxi almost always ready and waiting - everything is close at hand. Taxis can only carry 5 people and ride cost is standardized. We had $9 to almost everywhere (Palm Beach, Downtown, Aloe Factory, Butterfly Farm) with cost going to $12 on Sundays. Simple to get around! Right off the bus line as well if you prefer that method of transit.

We got married using the Aruba Weddings For You office at the Tamarijn - amazing people!
Overall, great vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kuhnsl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Too many bugs and iguanas to enjoy breakfast, the pool or a drink!

The room was okay. I stayed the first few nights at Divi Phoenix.. the room was much better there.

Both resorts had a strange smell in the room that caused me to have several coughing spells - it was like the filter needed to be changed. My travel buddies noticed the smell, but it didn't bother them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Room was fantastic- we stayed in a studio in the hotel section (not the time shares). The room came with a kitchen with most everything you could need: stove top, microwave, a large fridge,pots/pans, plates, etc. The bathroom was clean and renovated, the bed was comfy- couldn't ask for more. We stopped at "Ling & Sons" grocery store (highly recommend) and stocked up on some food and liquor. The drinks we made in the room were the best drinks we had on the island. The pool infinity pool was amazing, but the drinks at the bar were VERY weak, and we just ended up bringing our own to the pool/beach. The beach is a short walk across the street, which we never had a problem crossing. However, the water on that section of the beach is slightly rougher (small waves) and might not have been suitable for someone with small children. On the plus side, this beach was large and fairly secluded when we went. We rented a car and ended up visiting other beaches such as baby beach and the one on the divi phoenix- which turned out great.

Stayed early June 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort timeshare tour was horrible!
My first experience at a timeshare informational presentation on Sunday, May 18, left such a bad impression with me. I was in the market to purchase a timeshare, but I will never consider buying or recommending this location based on what my fiancé and I had to endure with the Finance Manager, Eric Abdul.
We were approached the day prior to attend a lunch that was to be provided prior to a 60 minute presentation. We were told that the informational presentation would not be a high pressure experience and we could leave at any time. We were told that we would be given a gift certificate for dinner, a free 7 nights/8 days stay at one of their locations, and a bag with 2 tee-shirts for just going to listen to what they had to offer.
Finding parking at this location was horrendous. Parking in front is for a short limited time only, so we had to park way up the hill and walk back down to the hotel guest check-in. The front desk identified the area where we were to report to. The location was disorganized on who would be our contact and the staff were not friendly/unsmiling. We were handed a clipboard to fill out a lot of very personal information. We were then brought back to the sales area to be shown the site model and watch a program on the video screen. We provided details of what we were interested in purchasing and were given prices of their units. No lunch was ever mentioned. We were then shuttled in a golf cart to the back of the property to be shown an example of what was being sold (not what we had told them we were interested in). This area was more like an apartment complex from back home than an island/beach feeling vacation location. We were then shuttled back to the hotel sales area.
At this time, we had the “pleasure” of experiencing the high pressure sales technique! We no sooner sat back down at the table, when the Finance Manager, Eric Abdul, joined us. His conversation started off with a drastic reduction in the price that was mentioned when we first got there along with other “perks”. After being there for ~2.5 hours (vs the 60 minutes promised), we told Eric that we would like to discuss this and would call him in a few hours. Of course, we were told that once we leave, this “fantastic package” will not be available because it is “time sensitive”. He told us that he was going to leave the table so that we could discuss it. After he returned, we told him 3 more times that we really want to discuss it at length. What happened next was an extreme surprise!! Eric stood up so fast from his chair that I thought it would fall over backwards, he then looked at us with angry-cold eyes and exclaimed very loudly “VAMOOSE!!!” I was so embarrassed when people from the 2 tables around us looked up abruptly in surprise at us like we did something wrong!!! Eric then proceeded to race across the sales room with us in tow to the door.
What is amazing is that we were at the beach talking with another couple and they had a very similar experience and they told us that they bought elsewhere the next day!! Another couple trying to sell their timeshare from this place said that they were told that there were enough huts on the beach to shade them, but after their purchase, they found out that there isn’t enough for everyone. I am so glad that I did not make the mistake of being pressured into a purchase at this location!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the timeshare look like apartment complexes.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Merri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seekonk, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Rooms was very spacious. Very modern furniture, our room was located right near the pool area. Beach is approx. 50-60 steps across the street, not a problem.
Drinks are reasonable, Towels are available at all pools so there is not a line or wait. Would definitely stay here again. Extended our stay from a time share for a couple more days. Definitly worth it. Do not stay at the Divi Dutch Village, make sure it is in the Divi Village and Divi Golf Resort. Best Beach on the island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I am a timeshare owner at Divi Golf and Beach Resort. I purchased my timeshare pre-construction in 2004. Life and work prevented me from visiting Aruba again until May 2014. The check-in process was a disaster. The line for checking-in extended outside the lobby into the arrival area. A cancelled flight sent travelers scurrying for affordable accommodations. I empathized with the travelers however, I was disappointed Divi didn't have an express check-in line exclusively for owners. The complementary rum punch I consumed 45 minutes into my wait made the following 20 minutes more bearable.

I prayed for accommodations worthy of my wait. Well, my prayers were truly answered. I was amazingly impressed with the space and location of my villa. My villa was on the second floor of an "Eagle" building. The villa can comfortably house a family of four plus or two adult couples. The kitchen is stocked with all the silverware and cooking ware you'll need for your stay, full-size fridge, microwave, dishwasher, stove and oven. The king sized canopy bed was attractive however, the mediocre quality mattress didn't do my back any favors. Both of the full-size restrooms have showers jacuzzis and showers. There is also a washer/dryer combo and ample closet space in the villa. Additionally, the second floor villas have exclusive access to the third floor deck/lounge area which has a hot tub, propane grill, sink with countertop, a table with chairs and an additional lounge chair.

Additional observations:
-The BEACH is a simple 3-4 minute walk across the street from the resort. Good exercise
-The grounds to the resort are well maintained.
-The pools, golf course and common areas are beautiful.
-The restaurants on location have amazing views of the beach, pool area and golf course. The food wasn't bad or memorable (seperate reviews).
-The resort lacks an adequate emergency backup plan. There was a lengthy blackout at the resort during my stay.
-Security guards were posted at the access gates to the units/villas throughout my stay to mitigate break-ins from locals

Room Tip: Request "Eagle" or golf villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divi Aruba
Divi Aruba
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,822 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
627 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Property: Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing