We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far Superior to Tierra Del Sol”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Played TDS on Monday, and this course two days later. I shot the same score at both (85), but didn't feel like I'd fought a war after the Divi round. The winds at Divi are about 1/10 of what they are at TDS. And that makes a huge difference in terms of playability. While it's only 9 holes compared to TDS' 18, Divi does an outstanding, indeed far superior, job of presenting and maintaining their 9 as opposed to a marginal 18. And it's cheaper. The views at Divi are not as nice as TDS, but the grounds are vastly better maintained. Indeed, there were groundskeepers working on every hole I played, and I played 9 twice. But they all recognized I was there, shut off their mowers, trimmers, etc, for my shot, and one even gave me a useful tip for where to aim on a slightly blind tee shot on #8 (the left bunker).

The greens rolled flat and true, but are very small. And the rough around the greens is very tough. On a windy course, that's going to run up scores. There's also a fair amount of water on the course (4, about 250 out on the right; 5, to the right of the tee, 6 to the left of the tee and requiring a long carry into the wind from the tips, 8 river to the left of the fairway, and 9 basically everywhere). A course map would have been nice, or perhaps a yardage book.

Play was quick as the course was about empty. The restaurant off the 9th is very nice but not set up for golfers playing 18. There's no way to order ahead and no grab and go food. No cart girl, either, though there is a mid course drink station at the intersection of holes 4, 6, and 7. I didn't partake of that, however, as it didn't look like anyone was in there. I also probably could have played 36 holes as there was no obvious starter anywhere near the first tee.

The driving range is a netted in cage with AstroTurf mats. $1 for 25 balls. The cars are gas, and noisy, but fast enough. There are iguanas everywhere, and they seem to relish playing chicken with the cart. There's also an owl. Bring a camera of some sort. The course is enclosed by several roads and condos, so it's a little noisy. It was clearly squeezed into the space, but I'm glad they did. The iced towel at the end of the round is a nice touch.

If I ever return to Aruba, and I hope I will, I will definitely play here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Winecharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

970 - 976 of 2,170 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Got upgraded from a studio to a one bedroom suite.
Had full kitchen, two full brash, living room, dining area and large bed room. The room had two patios which was nice to use. The main pool was very big with a swim up bar. Plenty of lounge chairs, water slide and fountain.this was of the nicest Divi resorts we aside at.
The others were good but this was a lot better.
People made this more enjoyable. Golf carts took you around, beach was short walk across the street. Had more than three pools to choose from. This was just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I have been to Aruba over 30 times and owners at The Divi Resort for 22 years. We are consistently happy with the upkeep, upgrades, staff, and improvements. We are situated on a golf course with incredible pools scattered throughout the resort and a short walk to the ocean and spectacular beach. Our children, our friends, our family join us year after year to enjoy the facility, the ambiance, and the incredible weather. If ever I have a question or concern it is addressed immediately. Staff and management remember you from one year to the next and what I appreciate is that the employees are there year after year. I feel safe, I feel relaxed, and I am happy from the minute I arrive until the minute I leave five weeks later. It is like home!

Room Tip: Depending if you want pool view, golf course, ocean, or gardens...be sure to ask for what you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ShiskaSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed at the Divi Village Golf and Beach resort with 6 others from April 26th - May 4th. It was a great condo style hotel in the low-rise district. Three of us stayed in a one bedroom suite. It had one private bedroom and bath and a pull out couch with another bathroom in the large living area. There was a full kitchenette, including an ice maker in the full size fridge. There was also a washer and dryer even though we didn't use it. We walked to Ling and Sons grocery store even though we were all inclusive. It was nice to get snack food as there wasn't a huge election on site. We took a cab ride back with the bags which costed around $9.


Not a whole bunch for entertainment if that's something you enjoy. When we felt like doing that we went to the Tam.

Mulligans was the open air restaurant right on the golf course. Absolutely fantastic. Ate almost every breakfast and lunch there. Great service and top notch drinks!! The pool side restaurant was great also. Had fast service and great snack type food. We also ate suppers at Ginger, Red Parrot, Papparazzi and Palm Grill. They all had amazing food and service except for the Palm Grill. The service was something to be desired, ignorant would best describe it. And the cleanliness is left a mystery. We were given a tray of sauces for our table which we all double dipped our forks and food in, we are all friends. I then watched our waiter pick it up off our table and carry it over to the table of guests beside us. I got up immediately and informed them of the fact that we all had our dirty forks in it. Only time and place the whole trip we did not leave a tip.

Did one round of golf, beautiful course. It was nice to see just how big the resort was from those different angles. It's huge. We called from the room when ready and a golf cart picked us up. It took you to any of the divi properties. With the all inclusive package we got to dine at all the divi properties. We did the divi aruba and the tamarajin.

The beach was across the street, a 5 minute walk from our room. Nothing to cry about. Beach was beautiful but we are more of pool people. The pool was very large with a small waterside. There was also a large hot tub. We picked the resort for two main reasons; the fact that if you stayed here you could play at all divi's and it was the only one with a swim up bar. That turned out to be a complete joke. Big, beautiful space and zero service. Sometimes we sat at the pool side of the bar or stood on the other side and were ignored for 15 minutes at a time. That being said we were usually the only ones there. The staff would pretend not to see us as me they were standing right there. Even leaving a tip didn't bring better or friendlier service. When you did get service, it was without a smile!! You always felt like you were bothering someone.

As for Aruba itself, one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. The water was ice blue, something no picture seemed to capture. It was very clean and the people were friendly.

We took a driftwood chartered fishing boat. It was a nice boat with great service. The waters were beyond rough and they ended up bringing us in early at our request as there were a few that were getting sea sick. The fishing was not great, we only caught 2 and they were nothing to write home about. We also did the Aruba sunrise tours which was a sunrise side by side tour. It was a great experience. Arias picked us up right at our hotel and brought us back. No lunch or drinks provided but you could bring your own. He was. Great tour guide!!

All in all aruba was a great vacation and I would defiantly go back to the divi village.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Molson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had an amazing time in the top floor of our villa overlooking the golf course. The apartment itself was spacious with all amenities: full kitchen, laundry machine, tumbler and spa tub, nice living room area with tv, dvd player etc.. Roof terasse had hot tub, grill, small kitchen, and the two extra balconies made sure we could stay in the sun or shade as we pleased.

Beach, and pool facilities were also excellent and visiting in January there was plenty of room on the beach.

The grounds are beautifully kept with lots of cute iguanas running about, there will be a few mosquitoes from the still water on the golfcourse, but nothing major.

The hotel is a short bus or cab ride away from the more lively northern palm beach area, or to the south the shopping opportunities of Oranjestadt, but that suited us fine, the bus is cheap and runs frequently.

The on site restaurants are fine for a quick meal, and especially to sports bar was good value for money.

We didn't go for the golfing but we did book a training session with the local Pro which let us run the course without paying a full green fee, and had a lot of fun and sore arms doing that. The local pro is a very charming Scott, and a good teacher.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a One Bedroom Suite at The Golf Villas and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Subtilicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Having never been to Aruba before, we didn't know which resort to choose. We definitely made the best choice. The staff here are so friendly and accomodating. The grounds are well maintained, the pools are all beautiful.The beach being right across the street worked out well, we spent some days at the beach and some at the pool. Loved having all the lizards and iguanas walking along the paths with us. Seriously would highly recommend this resort for families. We have three units linked together to accommodate our 7 people, the 3 kids have the middle unit for their own space, we have 5 bathrooms, 3 kitchens, and an exclusive use of the rooftop hot tub and BBQ grill. Loving our first visit to Aruba!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Everyone knows the Divis are exclusive, beautifully maintained and exceptional resorts. The Divi Dutch Does NOT meet the same expectations so do not be fooled! If you pay for the all inclusive you get to stay at one of their premier resorts and get the goodies. If you are trading your weeks or points, and Do NOT want their all inclusive plans... you get stuck at the divi dutch OVER FLOW. Tucked away from any beach view area it is a garden or courtyard view. The pool does not have its own bathroom, bar or grill like the others do. There is NO lobby for Divi Dutch. When you check in and out...you do so across the way at the golf course and then get a shuttle to the tamarjin and then a different shuttle to your area. The rooms are lovely. We had a two bedroom, living room and double kitchenette with 2.5 baths. Our housekeeping staff were great and many of the shuttle drivers were accommodating. Many however would wave and say "next one" or " I go ....not ...." and drive off. At some of the bars and restaurants if you were not part of the all inclusive you needed to go to one place to purchase a ticket for the exact drink and food you wanted and THEN go to the bar to get it. You could not return your towels (for pool) at the same place as the others...but no one told us that until our second to last day, so we had the same towels most of the week. Lack of amentities and information, as well as access to things (like a lobby) made our week longer and hotter. It was disappointing. Our home resort is Casa Del Mar (just a few doors down)...much more accommodating but not available the week we needed.

Room Tip: If you don't mind NOAT seeing the beach, Divi Dutch would be okay. If you don't mind walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toniann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
0.3 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,948 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,178 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,105 reviews
1.9 mi away
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
#14 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range: £131 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing