We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its ok!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Universal Restaurant

Universal Restaurant
Ranked #75 of 220 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Price range: US$11 - US$20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We invite you to experience a true Cantonese meal with amicable service, or even enjoy one of our delightful dishes in the comfort of your own home by ordering in. We look forward to sharing our traditional Cantonese meals with you.
mabon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Its ok!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Food is expensive but the food is good and the place is also nice. But really expensive to eat here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathy0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Must Go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

My parents, from the States, have been hosting Chinese New Years here for many years, because of the quality of the food, because of its authenticity.
I dined there last week for the first time, with my father. It is newly renovated and enlarged, and with convenient parking, a bonus.
We were greeted instantly, and with such cordiality.
We do not enjoy the very spicy food so popular these days, and so the chef accommodated our dinner choices and deleted the spicy ingredients, replacing them with something else, which was really brilliant.
The chef brought the squid to exactly the right temperature, avoiding any toughness, it was out of this world tender and delicious. The shrimp, ditto. The selections were prepared in the traditional/authentic manner I know from Hong Kong and from China, not as western versions. The presentation was quite nice, with vegetables carved to resemble blossoms, as garnish.
The service was attentive yet not intrusive. As well, the owner came out to greet us and chatted about our dinner, about our family, and answered our queries about their new renovations. The dining room was not too cold, as I was fearful it might be. I hadn't brought a sweater, as this was an impromptu visit.
I suspect the local people appreciate it a great deal, as the takeout area was bustling, non stop. Although the prices appear on the high side, the prices are more than justified for their quality; it is NOT standard take out quality.
In all, I understand why my parents value this restaurant, and return every year to have Universal host their Chinese New Year party. I must give it the 5 stars, they have earned all five.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Located in an unassuming building in the historical Wilhelmina Straat this place was an amazing surprise once you walk through the doors. Beautiful decor, friendly staff and tasty food. It is very well known among locals, and if not because of the advice of local friends we would have missed this gem.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis and Alexa... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aruba
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"food is okay prices high"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have been there a few times the food is nice and some of the staff is friendly but , their service charge and prices a bit to high for a normal Chinese restaurant !

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maneli69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Universal Restaurant also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Universal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing