We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, Great sevice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The West Deck

The West Deck
Ranked #17 of 220 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Bahamian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
“Good food, Great sevice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Delicious meal (try the ribs) and excellent atmosphere! But the best part of the meal by far was Our server, Francisco. In an island where service is so-so, this gentleman was attentive, helpful, and overwhelmingly pleasant. Kudos to The West Deck for having the best server on the island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    434
    114
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best meal we had while in Aruba!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Happened upon this place on our way back from a day out and decided to try it for dinner. It had great atmosphere and was accommodating to our cranky and tired 5 yr old. We had been to few other places while in Aruba but we were wanting something with local fresh taste. Our waiter (Donald) was helpful in picking out something from the menu and knowledgeable about what was good and what we might enjoy from our particular taste after we described it to him. When our order came out it was more than I could ask for. We started with an appetizer (at Donald's suggestion) that was simply delicious and left us wanting more. When our entree's came out (fried whole baby red snapper and pan fried red snapper filet, my wife and I were amazed by it freshness and how delightful each bite was. I appreciated Donald's honesty when deciding what to order and it made all the difference in the world. If you are looking for some fresh seafood with a Caribbean flare then I would suggest you try The West Deck.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Welcoming atmosphere...great breezes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We really enjoyed our lunch here - all things combined...drinks were good.....food was good.....views were great. We may go back again. Coconut shrimp were a little overcooked and not enough coconut but still good. Ribs were very good. Very relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank inmancg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth Stopping By”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch while we were staying at the Renaissance Ocean Suites. A friend of ours, a local, used to work there and suggested it. We were not disappointed. Nice outdoor waterfront seating where they launch boats and watercraft. I had a delicious Aruban style grilled grouper dish, and my wife had a wonderful $9 grilled fish sandwich. Their house margarita bucket-sized with plenty of tequila, and Beer was priced right. Eric takes time to get to know his customers. The place is a solid performer in the oceanfront bar/restaurant category.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MyBrideandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overrated?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I stopped in at The West Deck around 5:30 p.m. Since we did not have a reservation the linen on the table had to be changed. They have different linens on the tables for reservations, and non-reservations. The linen that was place on our table was dirty - not a good sign. Service was slow-the waiter did not offer any information regarding their meals. He enjoyed visiting with the other female employees, than waiting on the one table he was assign to---ours.
The meal we had was pretty good. Shortly before leaving, an individual attempted to sing along with his organ and taped percussion--He did not add anything to the ambiance.
There are better places in Aruba I would recommend for dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The West Deck also viewed

 

Been to The West Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing