We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great prices”
Review of Red Fish

Red Fish
Ranked #21 of 224 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food great prices”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went here on our last night in Aruba with four family members, after hearing about the place at the Driftwood (same owners) earlier in the week. We enjoyed the food immensely but if you're looking for ambiance, do not go here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    248
    76
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“flies everywhere and slimy fish”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We tried this restaurant out one afternoon and were overwhelmed with the amount of flies once our food came out despite the constant Aruban breeze. The fried fish, some may be shocked at, although we were not, was served bone-in complete with tail and scales. It did not taste right, and upon cutting closer to the tail, we discovered the fish to not be cooked through. This did it for us, and we did not return. It does not take very long to cook fish, especially a such thin cut fish. Beware. This is the only restaurant in Aruba that we have eaten in which we would never return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Ranches
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Service - poor food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

If this is what the locals eat maybe they should try some other restaurants around the hotel area and try something to compare it with.
It is a local hangout but most local hangouts have not very good food and this is one of them. French fries and coleslow served with your fish is no local food.
Anyway to make a long story short - the service was nice and efficient the atmosphare is average unless you like a real huge screen TV but the food leaves a lot to be desired.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WernerJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Crazy amazing!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Best fried shrimp - lightly touched by batter. Cold balashi - awesome. The conch is fabulous and the fried fish eggs as an appetizer a must.much, much better than driftwood - owner is the same. This is a local hang out. Perfect. People complain about their fried shrimp? If you do not like what the locals eat - stay at the big beach hotels for their buffet or go to ones of the US restaurants - in my opinion just crazies do that.
Best place for local food and peeps.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank alf0012010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great local place for fried shrimp”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I went to Aruba with 2 friends and went to Red Fish on our last night from a suggestion from a bartender at our resort. This was really good fried and grilled shrimp. We really enjoyed the laid back/local feel. You get a lot for your money and order by 1/2 pound or pound of shrimp or catch of the day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy-TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Fish also viewed

 

Been to Red Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing