We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious!”

Yemanja Woodfired Grill
Ranked #2 of 225 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Yemanja is relaxing and welcoming with a passion for tradition and excellence. Serving international food with strong Caribbean influences prepared on our wood fired grill. Also, offering healthy foods with an extensive vegetarian menu and catering to all your dietary needs, such as vegan and gluten-free. Seating is either inside (air-conditioned) or outside on a cozy terrace. Both inside & outside seating are non-smoking.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is one of the few really good restaurants on the island. Quality, fresh ingredients, beautifully cooked, with great service. The music and ambiance are great. The cool bar area and romantic outside courtyard aren't visible from the street, so I think a lot of potential customers just pass by. It's a shame because a lot of the more famous 'tourist' restaurants on the island, like the Flying Fishbone or Madame Jeanette's, have pretty unimpressive food. I've owned a vacation house on the island for six years, and this is the only restaurant I feel comfortable recommending to foodies. I won't miss a night out here when I'm on island. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,388
    334
    89
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food & Service was good”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This place wasn't on our favorite list, but we had a picky eater in our group who didn't really care for the typical European cuisine presented at many of the better places on the island; we thought some wood fired steak would shut him up.

We had reservations for 15 people, arrived a bit late due to parking issues and our table was ready to go.

The wait staff was super friendly and played along well with the jokesters in our party. I didn't find the service to be slow, but there was definitely a wait between courses as it is usual for cooked to order meals, but for the size of the group really it didn't seem delayed.

There wasn't a single meal that wasn't delicious, my own stuffed pork and French onion soup were the least good ones out of all of them. The picky eater in our group ordered the shirt ribs of the specials menu and he later proclaimed this his favorite restaurant on the island and best short ribs of his life.

I can't make any statements about consistency here, this was my first and only visit, but I would certainly come back on my next visit. The menu has plenty to offer and the deserts were delicious; the chocolate fondue comes with too many sweets and too little food though), the creme brûlée was insane, with the most even coating yet.

Really I was shocked to see this many bad reviews, I am glad I didn't pick this place based on tripadvisor as I often do, because I would've missed out on a pretty good dinner!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in perfect atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Probably the best meal we've enjoyed on the island! Perfect atmosphere! A hidden patio surrounded by tropical plants which transform the downtown location. Our food was all perfection, and we are very particular. Our waiter Juan Carlos was very patient and offered great choices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benehol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious...”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is really a nice restaurant: the decoration, its location and the service. The food, on the other hand, is just superb. My wife had the stuffed pork tenderloin sitting on a mushrooms risotto.... delightful, delicious. I had the grilled cobia sitting on a truffle risotto... the cobia fish was supposed to have this too fishy taste but it was treated nicely and I found it at its best point (you can tell when a fish is fresh like in this case); it blended perfectly with the risotto. For dessert, we shared the orange crème brûlèe and it was good. I would definitely come back to this restaurant on my next trip to Aruba.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatoCorreaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This place was expensive but probably the best meal we had on the island. Great snapper dish with risotto. Entrees were about $30-$40 each.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yemanja Woodfired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Yemanja Woodfired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing