We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camacuri appt @ Aruba, near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camacuri Apartments Aruba
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Camacuri appt @ Aruba, near the airport”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

It's close to the airport, so it's easy with a taxi to this appt. Strange that there was no reception avalaible, so I called the landline, but this was disconnected. This appt. is not expensive, it's clean, has warm water, a small kitchen with gear, a swimming pool and a laundry section. You will need a car to discover the island. It's a pretty long walk to the beach, so be prepared for that. There are lots of chickens walking around the appt. That's nice, but they poop on paths, which is not so nice. If you have a car available, it is good value for money to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    32
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
32
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ferrara, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

It's at ten minutes walking from a beach and from the central avenue of the capital, but downtown is at 45 minutes. By taxi in a quarter you're at the airport , but no noise. Our room (big, clean, confortable and silent) was ground floor, but in that period were many mosquitoes, may be better rooms at first floor. We reccomend a car. The residence has two parking, and one is fenced. At walking distances (10 min.), behind the stadium, there's a little chinese supermarket, for the first days is enought. It's the third time in Aruba and here it's a very good quality/price ratio.

Room Tip: Against moquitoes may be better rooms at first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeCinzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just spent 2 weeks in Aruba (first visit to the island). Didn't want to stay in one of the overpriced hotels in the North of the island, so I searched for alternatives and came up with Camacuri. These are self-catering apartments/suites quite close to the airport and the stunning Nikky Beach (where you can watch the glorious sunsets in peace with a drink of your choice in hand...). The apartments are cleaned every day, so that is one less thing to worry about. The staff are exceptionally polite, friendly, cheerful and helpful.
There is no flying at night on the island, so the proximity of the airport is not a problem; even on the days when I was working in the apartment (all apartments/suites are air-conditioned), I was not bothered by the air traffic and, as the apartment is situated away from main roads, any other traffic sound.
The complex has a swimming-pool (not huge, but enough to swim a bit and cool off in) and BBQ-area, which is quite nicely set out. There are enough chairs/loungers around the pool for everyone, and an outside shower to be used prior to swimming, thus stopping sand/debris from entering the pool and bothering other guests.
They also have an enclosed, private parking area at the rear of the complex, thus allowing easy parking/access to your rental car.
One recommendation I would make is to take mosquito spray / a travel-net with, as, although they are not a huge problem, there are mosquito's on the island, and if one gets into your room it can be annoying.
They also offer a 'welcome-package' of various groceries (including wine & beer) so that you don't have to rush to the shops directly upon arrival to stock up. I ordered said package, and it was pleasant to find it waiting for me in the apartment; but I do find it quite expensive for what you get. I think that, as the supermarket is just up the road & stays open 'till fairly late, I would rather recommend going shopping for yourself upon arrival & save yourself some money.
That aside however, I can fully recommend Camacuri and will certainly try to book there again should I have occasion to visit the island.

Room Tip: Apartments for singles/couple's, suites for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ian_Healy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I was reffered to this appartment by a friend of mine. I travelled in December to Aruba and decided that for Jan1st to the 4th I wanted to stay at a nice not so huge place with my kids. Before that, I was staying at my nieces house who went to Miami. But as I didn't feel well, I decided to look for a place where the kids could have some fun, while I was resting in my room. To have people around us, just in case...... This I decided at the very last minute. m

It's a very nice place to be. Not too large, exelent ambience, nice and clean pool. Rooms are clean and neat. Friendly hostess and personell speaking at least 3 languages. In the middle of the city but without the hustle. Very nice garden. About 10 min from the airport. WiFi service. Airconditioning, private parking, thight security,

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a room with microwave, would be handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilkRosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My husband and I chose Camacuri for a quick overnight stay before catching a plane to Venezuela. It looked like we could easily walk there from the airport when we landed in the evening and then walk back first thing in the morning. That turned out to be correct, it was only a 20 minute walk, but sadly my navigating skills failed me and we couldn't find the place. We finally stopped into a small restaurant on the main road to ask and, serendipitously, the woman who worked at the front desk was in line right behind us! She put her dinner on hold to drive us to Camacuri and check us in! This turned out to be especially lucky because even if we had found the place right away, we might have arrived after closing time. This is my only complaint - knowing how late we'd be arriving, their desk hours should have been made clear, since we didn't have phones and would not have been able to call to be let in. After that miracle, we had a wonderful evening. It was amazing to hit the beautiful pool after our hot walk, and the room was comfortable, cool, and clean.
If proximity to the airport or a nice base of operations for longer visits is what you're looking for, this is definitely the place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank enigmachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

As this is our first-time stay at a holiday-apartment (normally we stay at hotels) it makes it a bit difficult to make an even-handed review. Let's give it a shot:

Camacuri apartments is situated a 5 to 10 minutes drive to downtown Oranjestad. It takes about the same time (5 minutes) to get to the airport. To rent a car is rather advisable as public transport is not really an option if you want to get to the typical tourist attraction of Aruba: the far-off beaches, the lighthouses, Oranjestad, the national park, et cetera. Don't worry about where to leave your rental car: Camacuri has a free secured parking lot.
Some of the apartments are arranged round a central courtyard and others (the larger, more comfortable and more expensive ones) are built along a quite tasteful garden-like expanse (trees, cacti, succulent plants, some birds -hummingbirds!-, the occasional iguana and a lot of lizards) which also has a small pool. All of the apartments have a small terrace at the back but unfortunately the view is restricted because of the fenced wall surrounding the entire compound.
The studio apartments themselves are sparingly, but adequately, furnished. The decor isn't especially stylish or trendy; in truth it could use a bit of an update. All apartments have air-conditioning.
The beds are quite 'springy'; so if you prefer this, it could be a bonus. Conversely, if you like a firm bed/mattress you might be in for a bit of a disappointment (we found them to be okay).
Every studio comes with a kitchen. Ours was of the "no frills' variety: no oven, no microwave, no dishwasher, a 2 element electric stove (one element not functioning properly), no other electric appliances. According to photos on the website (camacuriapartmentsaruba.com) some of the other apartments have kitchens with an oven and larger electric or gas cooking-ranges. So if you're planning tot do some (or a lot!) of cooking yourself, you might want to take these differences into account and choose your (type of) apartment accordingly.
The very friendly housekeeping staff keep the studios squeaky-clean and change the bedlinnen twice a week. Of course any used crockery/cutlery/pots and pans you will have to clean yourself (don't forget to buy some dishwashing detergent; brush and cloth you'll find in one of the kitchen cupboards).
If you need to do your laundry: there is a laundry room with washing machines (cost: 5 Aruban Florins = $2.75) and dryers. Regrettably washing powder isn't provided.
Very important nowadays (as we are such digital junkies we couldn't do without it anymore): Camacuri has free WiFi.
If you're interested in watching television: some American and Latin-american channels are provided as well as BVN (a Dutch-Flemish channel) and a BBC-channel. Pay-per-view or dedicated film-channels (usually an option in hotels) are absent. But hey: why would you want to watch TV when you could be having a good time elsewhere on Aruba?
And if you don't already know what to do or where to have dinner or what beaches are nice and quiet: the dedicated staff will give you and any and all information you wish for (in English, Dutch, Papiamento and probably some other languages as well!). Tell them you're going to go swimming and they'll very obligingly lend you a beach towel.

If you're looking for a more luxurious and higher service level stay, then you'd better book a hotel.
If you prefer direct access to the beach, then you're going to be better of choosing one of the residences/hotels/resorts on the West side of the island.
But if you prefer a bit of quiet, don't need an excess of non-essential luxury, and have a (rental) car available: then Camacuri apartments is reasonably good value for money.
Tip: the simple 'studio' is very basic. It might be a good idea to choose one of the other types of apartment: studio deluxe, suite or luxury suite. Also: the apartments along the 'garden' have more outside space and a nicer view.

Room Tip: The simple 'studio' is very basic. It might be a good idea to choose one of the other types...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacqyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Beautiful garden, extreme clean apartments, carm, friendly management and staff, everything in top shape, like new.
Love it there!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank basbogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
2.6 mi away
Paradera Park Aruba
Paradera Park Aruba
#1 of 1 in Paradera
443 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aruba Beach Villas
Aruba Beach Villas
#1 of 1 in Malmok Beach
174 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aruba Sunset Beach Studios
Aruba Sunset Beach Studios
#1 of 6 in Malmok Beach
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pauline's Apartments Aruba
4.6 mi away
Seabreeze Apartments
Seabreeze Apartments
#1 of 1 in Pos Chiquito
44 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sasaki Apartments
Sasaki Apartments
#5 of 28 in Noord
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camacuri Apartments Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camacuri Apartments Aruba

Property: Camacuri Apartments Aruba
Address: Avenida Milio J. Croes 46B, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Camacuri Apartments Aruba 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a perfect hideaway in Aruba? Come home to Camacuri apartments Aruba. Camacuri apartments Aruba is an authentic Aruban retreat, tucked away in a lush tropical garden. We don't skimp on service. And we are perfectly located: Oranjestad is just 5 minutes by car and we're four blocks from a cozy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Camacuri Apartments Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camacuri Apartments Aruba Hotel Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing