We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
35
39
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
39
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distancetoasterlizardssupermarketdryeraruba
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

If you're looking for a place in Aruba that's clean, friendly, fun, and local, then the Camacuri Apartments are the place to go. My fiancee and I stayed for a week and loved eating breakfast with a family of chickens, walking out the front door to a genuine Arubian community, walking to the beach in a few minutes, and seeing a side of Aruba the high rise resort hotel strip completely misses. If you want American restaurants and stores with double and triple the prices because they're on a sandy beach on an island, head for the high rise resorts... but if you want a taste of Caribbean culture and the people of the Aruba, head for Camacuri. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool. Besides the obvious reason why, it has better wifi and is closer to the parking lot (helpful if you're planning on renting a car)
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatePhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for almost 2 weeks and we had a good time. We had a one room appartment, what is a double bed (bit on the small side) and a sofa, coffeetable, little table and 3 chairs inside and a kitchenette and the bathroom seperate. The kitchen has glasses, cups, some cooking stuff and a toaster and a coffeemachine. We could sit in front of the appartment and in the back, there are chairs and a table. Staff is friendly and helpfull. They clean the roomp daily, not on Sunday, but you can get fresh towels or bedlinnen if you want to.
The gardens are lovely as well and ther is a little swimmingpool and enough chairs and loungechairs beside the pool.
If I ever go back to Aruba, I go back to Camacuri appartments!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adavidanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

It's close to the airport, so it's easy with a taxi to this appt. Strange that there was no reception avalaible, so I called the landline, but this was disconnected. This appt. is not expensive, it's clean, has warm water, a small kitchen with gear, a swimming pool and a laundry section. You will need a car to discover the island. It's a pretty long walk to the beach, so be prepared for that. There are lots of chickens walking around the appt. That's nice, but they poop on paths, which is not so nice. If you have a car available, it is good value for money to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

It's at ten minutes walking from a beach and from the central avenue of the capital, but downtown is at 45 minutes. By taxi in a quarter you're at the airport , but no noise. Our room (big, clean, confortable and silent) was ground floor, but in that period were many mosquitoes, may be better rooms at first floor. We reccomend a car. The residence has two parking, and one is fenced. At walking distances (10 min.), behind the stadium, there's a little chinese supermarket, for the first days is enought. It's the third time in Aruba and here it's a very good quality/price ratio.

Room Tip: Against moquitoes may be better rooms at first floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeCinzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just spent 2 weeks in Aruba (first visit to the island). Didn't want to stay in one of the overpriced hotels in the North of the island, so I searched for alternatives and came up with Camacuri. These are self-catering apartments/suites quite close to the airport and the stunning Nikky Beach (where you can watch the glorious sunsets in peace with a drink of your choice in hand...). The apartments are cleaned every day, so that is one less thing to worry about. The staff are exceptionally polite, friendly, cheerful and helpful.
There is no flying at night on the island, so the proximity of the airport is not a problem; even on the days when I was working in the apartment (all apartments/suites are air-conditioned), I was not bothered by the air traffic and, as the apartment is situated away from main roads, any other traffic sound.
The complex has a swimming-pool (not huge, but enough to swim a bit and cool off in) and BBQ-area, which is quite nicely set out. There are enough chairs/loungers around the pool for everyone, and an outside shower to be used prior to swimming, thus stopping sand/debris from entering the pool and bothering other guests.
They also have an enclosed, private parking area at the rear of the complex, thus allowing easy parking/access to your rental car.
One recommendation I would make is to take mosquito spray / a travel-net with, as, although they are not a huge problem, there are mosquito's on the island, and if one gets into your room it can be annoying.
They also offer a 'welcome-package' of various groceries (including wine & beer) so that you don't have to rush to the shops directly upon arrival to stock up. I ordered said package, and it was pleasant to find it waiting for me in the apartment; but I do find it quite expensive for what you get. I think that, as the supermarket is just up the road & stays open 'till fairly late, I would rather recommend going shopping for yourself upon arrival & save yourself some money.
That aside however, I can fully recommend Camacuri and will certainly try to book there again should I have occasion to visit the island.

Room Tip: Apartments for singles/couple's, suites for families.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ian_Healy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews