We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
35
39
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
39
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distancetoasterlizardssupermarketdryeraruba
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Camacuri is an appartment complex nearby Surfside beach and nearby Oranjestad, capital city of Aruba. The appartments itself are basic but everything you need is available. All is more than clean and the owners are taking good care of the environment (think green). The atmosphere is relaxt and serene. Renting a car is recommended when you want to buy groceries at the Jumbo (supermarket),approx. 7km drive or want to explore the island. The Jumbo is located in a huge shopping mall, named Super Foods. When going to the beach, Baby beach is like being in paradise, this is also a beautiful spot to go snorkling. For us a 10 day trip to the island was more than sufficient to explore the main sites and to relax at the beach or pool of Camacuri. Aruba is not the cheapest destination but a worth wile experience.

We do recommend Camacuri when you are not seeking for luxury but just a relaxing and enjoyable vacation.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Joke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

My wife and I stayed at Camacuri about 2 months ago. First time in Aruba. We had a WONDERFUL time. Camacuri appartments complex is a very peaceful, clean, pleasant and client-focused place. I would not trade trade that for any other high rise hotel which are quite far from the city and its very unique athmosphere. It is within walking distance of the city, about 15-20 minutes on the very scenic boulevard edging the beach, also from grocery stores and local restaurants (Peanuts and La Granja : great food and very reasonably priced). We didn't rent any car. Just bus and walking. I can confirm what many have written: the people at Camacuri really cares - they know you, and they try their very best to be of help should you have any personal request, happened with us. Masha danki to all the staff for our succesful holiday! We will come back, guaranteed !

Room Tip: We were staying in the area of the swimming pool -- great little appartments like cottages.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GlynnSaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

My wife and I, and a friend initially booked this property as the photos looked great, and it offered a two bedroom unit. When checking in, the unit assigned was very dark, it was dirty, and had multiple bugs and spiders running around. The room shown in the photo must have been photographed when the unit was new. The "second bedroom" was just a loft with no privacy and a very steep stairway to the under roof, very hot loft. The unit featured one small bathroom, again quite dark and the fixtures appeared old and looked dirty. The main bedroom was at the back of the unit without a window making it very claustrophobic with no ventilation.

When the front desk was informed of the units condition, they did not offer to move us to another unit, which was odd in that there were no other people around and our car was the only one in their lot. After not working with us for another unit, and my wife and her friend not wanting to stay, we asked to cancel the room and a refund of our prepaid stay. This request was rejected. We left anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank DickW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

We really love the Camacuri! It was my first time to Aruba, but my husband lived there in the 1970's so things have changed. We are not the type to stay where there are crowds of people and this place was perfect for us. The whole staff is wonderful, from check in to check out. The long-term residents there are very friendly, despite the language barriers (we speak English only and most people speak Dutch as a primary language there). The studio apartment was very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. If you need other amenities, such as a toaster, microwave, etc...you can get them at the reception desk for a nominal fee. Beach chairs and coolers to rent too for excursions! The pool is small but was adequate for us.

If you want night life and lots of the frills and bells and whistles with a vacation, then DO NOT stay here as you will be disappointed. For us-we are happy with the simple things in life and do not require much. The Camacuri is a very special place. The relaxing and quiet atmosphere, away from all of the madness at the high-rise hotels is just perfect for a relaxing vacation.
I would not recommend this place to families as there isn't much for children to do here.There is a self-service laundry facility available for very reasonable cost. You need to find your own transportation to the Camacuri also. There are many places within walking distance to shop and eat at from here.
We do love it here.
We are all ready booking for next year:)

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbingamanPetoskey_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We requested a main floor room months in advance, when we checked in we were put on the second floor, Hans the Manager said in a few days he could move us but decided we would stay, we rented the one bedroom apt, the bed was terrible and too small for two average sized adults to sleep in, the room was clean, only one setting for water temperature, so if you want cold water to drink you are out of luck, pool area was nice and clean, the hotel is clean and safe, if you are looking for something close to the beach, do not book here, we walked to the beach everyday in the scorching heat which was not fun, we both walk for exercise even for us this was a challenge, the sidewalk is narrow and uneven I would not advise to walk on it at night as there is poor street lighting and don’t walk on road as everyone drives very fast, very noisy here, airplanes landing and taking off, sirens at all times of the night, the staff in general are friendly and helpful, renting a car here is a must or use a taxi, I would recommend staying here for a short term 1-3 days, if you can go without sleep that long or at the very least one night as it is close to the airport.

Room Tip: Rent a car
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 514dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews