We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Regular and Favorite”

The Dutch Pancake House
Ranked #10 of 222 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In May 2003, The Dutch Pancakehouse opened its doors at the beautiful Renaissance Marketplace,downtown Oranjestad. This family friendly restaurant is ideal for breakfast, lunch and dinner with your whole family. The Dutch Pancakehouse offers a wide selection of Dutch pancakes, poffertjes, eggs and other delicious menu items such as special dinner pancakes, schnitzels, and desserts. Their authentic Dutch pancakes are all handmade and baked with only the best fresh ingredients available on the island. They proudly received Aruba's first 'Best Breakfast in Aruba' award. The Dutch Pancakehouse crew is looking forward to welcome you and your family in their recently renovated restaurant for a wonderful and unique dining experience.
Terrell, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Regular and Favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

After some shopping around, we are stuck on this for breakfast. Never tasted better coffee -- thought it was a special Colombian Juan Valdez blend. When I mentioned it the waitress smiled and told us it was supermarket Folgers -- with their local water and Dutch condensed milk. Eggs were 3 and done right. The pottertjes were delicious. Interesting to see this place busy and the cafe next door empty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GerardsofNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    889
    410
    127
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, PA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Ate here yesterday and absolutely loved everything. The "pancake" is a little different than the American pancake - single and thinner, but fantastic tasting. I had the banana pancake with powdered sugar, wife had the silver dollar pancakes, kids had chocoalte crepes. Everyone loved their meal, waitress and staff were very attentive with our drink refills and pleasant. Will go back at least once before we leave.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAJAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stopped to grab a quick lunch on our way to the airport and what a great choice! We've briefly stopped by couple nights prior and picked up to go their apple pie a la mode, our teenage daughter loved it so we figured it will be good lunch option.
Never had dutch pancakes before, but I am sold. So delicious!! I've had one made with onions, tomatoes and just a little cheese. They are thin crust, look like a very thin omelet, so tasty!!
My daughter had the cordon blue with fries and raved about the good quality of the chicken. Hubby had the Venice pancake, some kind of Italian beef, very tasty as well, a little on the greasy side from the meat, but no complaints!!
And than the pottertjes!!!! Out of this world!! We were so stuffed from our meal and thought we;ll take them to go and have them in the airplane!! Tough luck! The three of us could not stop eating them! We ordered a medium size I believe they were 21 small pancakes with blueberry jam. Delicious!!
Our waiter Caroline (it just happened she helped us on both occasions) was wonderful!!! We told her we are on our way to the airport and served us accordingly!!! Sweet young lady, very pleasant!! Ask for her, you'll not be disappointed!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
345 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Average Crepe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We were excited to try a Dutch pancake on vacation, so we stopped in the afternoon. Place was completely empty. We ordered the chocolate Nutella and banana and strawberry one for $14. It looked big when she brought it out but really any crepe would not folded like they normally are. Toppings were plentiful and it came with a big scoop of whipped cream. It was good, but tasted no better than any other crepe we have had before. I am glad we tried it, but honestly it just wasn't anything special. They do have a large menu and serve savory creeps as well. Roy was server and the service was average for the island but very nice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mws813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I ordered the ham, gouda and mushroom pancakes...not what I expected, but it was an awesome surprise. Probably the best breakfast I've had in Aruba.

Helpful?
Thank armil88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dutch Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to The Dutch Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing