We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Llangadog
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The Red Lion is now closed and looking for a new owner. (please check )
When we first went some years ago the lovely couple there built the business up and won best pub food...etc We had some great food there and all at reasonable prices. We stopped going after what seemed like a change in supplier regarding the food.Plus i believe some bar staff left.
As a result it slowly went downhill and we decided not to go back. I passed 2 days ago 19/3/2013
and noticed the for sale sign.Which is a great shame. So in my mind the pub went from Excellent to Average.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anton e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    11
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Been to the Red Lion twice now and always had the best of welcomes-the young lad behind the bar remembered us which is always nice, even remembered what I drank! Food and service is excellent and is another venue that I will visit regularly. Must try the venison or the sewin next time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We had a family Sunday lunch. The food was excellent, well presented and hot plates. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and efficient. We will definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly with good food”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I had an evening out at the Red Lion with my family after my son passed his degree and although we were quite boisterous in good spirits the staff there joined in with the banter and we had a thoroughly great evening. We had 2 pre dinner drinks each and all six of us had starter and main course plus three bottles of wine and the bill was £214 which for the quality of the food I thought was excellent. The menu is really good and varied with a good variety of local dishes. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tomstaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Went with family, and what a great find.
A beautiful building well kept and very well run.
From the moment we walked in, the welcome was warm and the young lady who served us was excellent .
A pint of Doombar was excellent, but the food was wow.
I had the Pork Belly with garlic potatoes and it was most probably the best meal I have had this year.
It was a pleasure to find such a great pub serving fantastic food, shame I live in the midlands.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bluenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Llangadog, Carmarthenshire
Llangadog, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing