We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch - one of the best!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Goose & Cuckoo

The Goose & Cuckoo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Goose & Cuckoo
Ranked #1 of 4 Llangadog B&B and Inns
Pontypool, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch - one of the best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

As visitors to the area and not knowing where to eat locally, we asked a local for a recommendation and he had no hesitation in recommending The Goose & Cuckoo @ Llangadog. We were seated in no time and promptly served with the most delicious home cooked Sunday lunches, we all chose different meats and all were presented and cooked to perfection! Thanks, we'll definitely be calling again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in the service was brilliant.
The food was amazing with chutney's made in house and a fantastic Sunday lunch menu.
The staff are friendly and don't mind a chat.
Good selection of local ales.
Great location from the national park....we stopped in after our hike!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank daffodil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent fabulous pub stayed two nights .
where the three of us ,had the most memorable
time ,service was best ever ,rooms ,superb, very clean,
best shower ,nice to walk in a bar where we were made
to feel most welcome, a very warm cosy place ,the food
excellent, superb menu ,excellent breakfast ,fruit was
freshest ever .Luke you and your staff deserve five star award
,we will be back, if only to have sticky toffee it was WOW

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

A lovely local pub with character. Well priced good food in generous portions. Staff are attentive and friendly. Good local beer. Particularly nice place to relax after a day's walking in the Beacons. Wish there were pubs like this in our area!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip1731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

What a find! Thoroughly enjoyed a most comfortable 2 night B&B stay for a local wedding. Spotlessly clean/good sized room (3) with one of finest showers ever! Nothing was too much trouble for manager Luke throughout, Didn't use restaurant but the breakfast (& local ales!) was first class. Could not fault this place which represented excellent value in every respect! Would return w/o question!

Room Tip: Only has 3 rooms - although street side, no noise as is a respectable, quiet village, situated in gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went here by chance. As you walk through the door the atmosphere hits you, it's a real pub. The staff are really helpful and friendly. We didn't think the food lived up to the ambience, it was solid good pub food, but nothing special. It wouldn't stop us going again. Perhaps we hit it on an off day. But the character of this pub is worth a visit on its own.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CallyMumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Based on a recommendation I booked The Goose and Cuckoo for dinner. The menu selection was brilliant and had a dish to suit any taste, a good range of hearty pub food with several different vegetarian options for starters and main meals. The service was second to none, we were sat and brought drinks immediately and after an appropriate wait our starters arrived. We had no annoying questioning as to whether everything was ok mid mouthful and could not have asked for more, all bases were covered! The food was all homemade and value for money, several reviews have remarked on price, but I must say we payed under fifty pounds for two starters, two mains and wine for the table! I can not fault the food and would recommend this to anyone looking for a good warming meal!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangadog
6.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
6.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#3 of 4 in Llangadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Goose & Cuckoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goose & Cuckoo

Property: The Goose & Cuckoo
Address: Queens Square, Llangadog SA19 9EE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llangadog
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llangadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Goose & Cuckoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goose & Cuckoo Llangadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing