We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great place to enjoy the country and...”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
231 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 231 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris P
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great place to enjoy the country and seaside - and with our dogs too!”
Reviewed 24 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed for a week, and could easily have stayed for much longer (we already booked our return trip in July before we even finished this one!). It's out in the country so it is really quiet with access to the Brechfa Forest paths just a stones-throw away, but within easy striking distance of the incredibly long beaches of Carmarthenshire and the beautiful west coast of Pembrokeshire. We walked loads of places and miles in the daytime but couldn't wait to get back to light the fire and wait for Nikki to bring us our dinner - something different each night, and she really is a great cook! Central heating, loads of hot water, cosy woodburner stove, and oh so peaceful - despite the miles that we walked, it's probably been the most restful break that we've had in years. And being able to take our dogs too made an extra difference as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, the warmth - and especially the food
Liked least: The whole experience was great - there was nothing at all that I would mark down
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2013
Oh what a lovely review Chris! Thanks so much for your kind comments plus all the info about walks, beaches etc which I'm sure other readers will find helpful. See you in July!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelle280...
1 review
“A perfect short break for us and the dog...Just what was needed!”
Reviewed 10 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend in Brechfa Forest Barns in the lovely Bay Tree Barn. We were welcomed by Nikki who was very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The barn was perfect, it really did have everything you need which gives you a lovely home from home feeling.
The views are breath taking and Our dog Jarvis loved that he had his own space with the fenced garden. We had a great day at the not so far Pembrey country park at the beach and the rest of the weekend was spent walking through the stunning Brechfa forest. It was then lovely to return to a nice warm cosy barn and spend the night infront of the log burner!!
We are already planning another break in 2013...looking forward to it already.
Thank you Nikki and Jason.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2012
Thanks so much for posting this review. We're always delighted to hear our guests have enjoyed the barn, walks, facilities etc and it's so helpful to others who are thinking of booking with us. Hope to see you next year then! Regards, Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Nov 2012
So lovely to hear you're thinking of a return visit Yvonne. Many thanks for your kind comments. I'm sure our TripAdvisor reviews are a great help to those thinking of booking with us. See you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Nov 2012
Ahhh thank you John! Come back soon - there's lots more cake waiting for you :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brettenham
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Nov 2012
You were both most welcome. Thanks a million for reviewing us - we really appreciate it. Come back soon both, and bring those gorgeous doglets with you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Meals
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Oct 2012
Lovely comments Danny - thank you. Glad you enjoyed the meals and star gazing and delighted as always to hear our guests want to return. There is no light pollution here so we have the best sky at night when the weather is clear. Jason would love to take you guiding next time. Perhaps you'd like to try one of our brand new Bionicon full suspension hire bikes too! See you soon we hope :) Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kirsten M
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous holiday”
Reviewed 24 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We have just come back from our third stay at Brechfa Forest Barns. This time we even had lovely sunshine. So much to do ! Llandysyl Paddlers is great for children and grown up children. Pembrey Sands makes for fantastic dogwalking, as does Breachfa Forest.
Parrog Beach, Newport has some BIG crabs to catch. Brecon Beacons has huge waterfalls and great walks.
Our 10 and 13 year old boys had a days mountainbike guiding with Jason and slept very well that night. "The Daddy" also had a day and slept equally well. Please don't leave without having had Nikki's food or you will seriously have missed out, it's all delicious.
The accommodation is spot on and very clean. Everything has been thought of. Hospitality is second to none.
Just great for families and dogs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2012
Yay! And back again in October for your 4th visit too! So kind of you to leave this lovely review - the details of which will no doubt be helpful for those reading it. See you in a few weeks time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing