We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect weekend break”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
236 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 236 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenkinj2
1 review
“A perfect weekend break”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Well where do I start this place is truly something special. My husband and I have just returned from a weekend break staying in the old bike shed with our two dogs Jenson and Bobby and we can't wait to come back. First thing first the location is perfect so many places to explore both our pups were shattered every evening I have never know them so quiet. Secondly the BBQ pit we were lucky enough to hire it Saturday evening and all I can say is if you are going to book to stay make sure you also get booked into the BBQ pit I have never seen anything like it the attention to detail is phenomenal and everything you need (apart from alcohol) is provided. Last but not least the host the wonderful Nikki as soon as you meet her you will know you are in good hands. she clearly loves what she has built here and her passion for looking after you is clear. Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Thank you Jo & Huw. The perfect review from fabulous guests. So pleased you enjoyed it all, especially the BBQ Hut. Come back soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wbrown63
Berkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely break, great hosts!”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed in Bay Tree Barn for a long weekend with our two dogs (wayward pup & older girl) and were made to feel very welcome despite having a crazed puppy after a long journey. The barn is equipped with everything you could possibly want and Nikki took the time to go through local facilities, things to do, how things work in the barn etc. There is also a very helpful book with recommendations on things to do in the area. The location is beautiful and quiet, with views you could never tire of, a night sky full of stars and fantastic walks literally on your doorstep. We found the barn to be comfortable, clean and inviting with lots of extra homely touches you don't usually get. Best nights sleep I've had in ages. We spent our time visiting relatives, fantastic beaches and discovering the local area. Cefn Sidan beach at Pembrey is amazing and Llansteffan is well worth a visit. Not enough time in a weekend to do it justice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Just brilliant. Thank you Wendy. Hope a return visit is on the cards soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasiminDj...
2 reviews
“Already waiting to book our next trip!”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I was really looking forward to taking our 3 boys away with us for our first holiday. Having three dogs and finding somewhere to stay is always difficult which is why we have put it off for so long. I didn't really know what I was expecting, but WOW. We stayed in the hay barn and it was perfect, the views, the accommodation, the surrounding areas, the local pubs, the beaches, the forest, all just perfect! Staying away from the coast meant we got to travel around and find different places to explore - but on the evenings we wanted to stay in, we were nice and cosy with everything we needed. We even made a roast on the one evening it rained and every utensil we needed was there ready and waiting. Our three boys were made to feel very welcome and the locals were lovely. Whilst at the barn, we watched the sunset over the valley, watched the sunrise on the other side of the valley, and even stargazed at 4am and saw 4 shooting stars where it was so clear. I just wish we had stayed for a few more days! We can't wait to book our next trip. The only thing I'll do next time is bring less food and my pillow! See you next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
What a truly lovely review Yasimin. We are always absolutely thrilled when guests love our place as much as we do. See you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain88
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a lovely stay in the Old Bike Shed! At the end of the week our little dog (Zeus) was exhausted after exploring the beautiful Brechfa Forest and the wonderful waymarked walks.

We also did some exploring of our own to Laugharne, Poppit Sands, Cenarth and many other lovely places close by.

The weather wasn't great for the first few days, but the shelter of the forest allowed us to have plenty of walks, the facilities in the Old Bike Shed made it really enjoyable (eating, watching films and playing Scrabble in front of the cosy fire).

Zeus had a great time on the dog friendly beaches nearby and we also managed to enjoy a lovely meal at the dog friendly and nearby Black Lion pub.

All in all it was a brilliant stay, the only downside was having to go home and back to work.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thank you Owain. So pleased you and Zeus enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy J
1 review
“Utter Peace”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a fab time with my son Noah and Scout the Cocker. Fab beaches best fish and chips. We will return. Fab place

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Brilliant! Thanks Andy - we look forward to welcoming you back for more of the same :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacky H
1 review
“Great accommodation, great setting and great food...”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great accommodation, great setting, great food...and totally dog friendly...couldn't have asked for anything more...views and walks are outstanding and the recommendations for visiting local pubs and attractions were spot on...a return visit a must for 2017, thank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Yippee! Another 5 star review and another guests wishing to return. Thanks a million Jacky. Looking forward to seeing you again in 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol s
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Real Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Myself ,husband and dog stayed in Bay Tree Barn for 7 night`s,it was truly the most relaxing holiday we have ever had.
The barn is well equipped and cosy, the weather wasn`t too kind to us but it gave us the excuse to light the wood burner one evening.
The barn is perfectly situated for long walks in the forest,with amazing pubs nearby,also perfect for the many beaches that are all dog friendly,our favorite was Llansteffan.
Carmarthen is close by with good shops too. There is so much to see and do in the area.
We walked everyday and visited the beaches and other interesting places, the week flew by.
The view from the barn is spectacular in all weathers. The garden was safe and secure for the dog.
Nikki and Jason are the perfect host and nothing is too much trouble,they are on hand if need be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: The Shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Carol, a million thanks for taking the time to post this lovely review. Please come back soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing