We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing dog friendly retreat”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
216 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 216 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MillieAnd...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing dog friendly retreat”
Reviewed 6 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are currently touring England and Wales and spent four nights in the Hay Barn at Brechfa Forest Barns - and it was four of the best nights of our holiday. The cottage is BEAUTIFUL - cosy, warm, homely, clean (no, pristine!) and welcoming. The hosts are incredibly friendly and approachable - on hand if you need them, but happily leave you to get on with things and enjoy your holiday in peace if you don't.

The cottage is decorated to a high standard, and the bedrooms and bathroom were very spacious. A lovely welcome tray greets you on arrival, which includes a treat for the dogs, as well as their humans.
The dogs loved it here as much as we did - we weren't aware the dogs could have slept upstairs with prior arrangement (saw this just now on a previous review) which would have topped the holiday for us - but we must have missed this, as we saw in the information that they could go on the sofas if your brought your own throws (which we did, and they loved!) But, this was a perfect doggy retreat non the less. Dog sitting can even be provided - something we've never seen in previous holiday rentals (at most, we've seen a kennel offered) so this was a nice touch. We didn't need to use this facility, but it was a unique and helpful addition to an already doggy delight! The dogs certainly felt this was a perfect home from home - as did we.


The views are BREATHTAKING!! Honestly, no wording would do them justice. We loved gazing out at the sheep and across the fields, you can see for miles. And the whole place is so quiet - takes you away from it all, absolute bliss. One of our favourite parts of the stay was watching the bird feeder from the cottage window - I have never seen so many beautiful birds on one feeder - whatever time of day - such a wonderful spectacle!!


The walks were incredible - plenty on the door step to see, or you can take the car and explore further afield. We did both, and loved all.

One thing was clear whilst staying here and that was the pride and passion that Nikki and Jason have for their business - they are proud of what they have achieved here, and rightly so. We stay in approx 2-4 holiday cottages a year, and over our ten year relationship as a couple and dog owners, I don't think we've met such dedicated hosts before. It's clear that this place is a huge success from the time, effort, but mostly love they have poured into this place - and any guests staying here reap the rewards of their hard work. It's a truly magnificent achievement - and a place we will undoubtedly return to one day..

And we can't leave without mentioning another highlight of our trip - seeing the beagles, who feel like
little celebs in their own right. What lucky dogs they are to live here and have Nikki and Jason as their owners!!!

Thank you for an amazing stay - we wondered how one place could have such continuous high reviews - now we know!

From us and our four legged best friends xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2017
OHHHHHHHH!!!! What a treat to read your very, very kind review. Unless you are a holiday let owner no-one knows how much it means to us to read how very much our guests have enjoyed their stay here. Thank you so much for going into such detail to provide anyone reading this with an insight into what a holiday here can be like. Here's hoping the rest of your December tour is as successful and we very much hope you return to see us again one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahBail...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend in the Welsh countryside ”
Reviewed 1 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had a wonderful weekend away here with my family and our two dogs for my 30th Birthday. The accommodation was lovely and dog friendly. There are so many gorgeous walks in forest and nearby beaches too (the dogs loved it!). The views from the accommodation are beautiful and the Welsh countryside did not disappoint! We hired the BBQ hut for six of us and had such fun...in fact we have had so many people ask us since seeing the photos on Facebook about Brechfa Forest Barns as they too would love to visit and certainly use the BBQ hut! We were made to feel very welcome and Nikki cooked us up a feast of delicious food from her menu on the Friday night we arrived. We left relaxed, happy, well fed and with wonderful memories. Thank you for having us and we hope to return again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2017
What a fun way to spend a big birthday. We're so pleased you all enjoyed it Sarah. And thank you for the lovely review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan2323
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful getaway”
Reviewed 21 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I stayed in the old bike shed with my large german shepherd and we both found it very cosy and comfortable with plenty of space. My dog can be reactive so I was a little worried before going, but I needn’t have been because it’s all very secure and quiet, I’m very glad we went. Nikki was very friendly, nice and helpful. The views were beautiful and there were lots of quiet & pretty walks nearby which we absolutely loved! Would definitely recommend staying here

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2017
Bless you. Thanks so much for the lovely review Amy. So pleased you were able to enjoy some time away with Shadow without worry. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella D
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful place and extremely dog (and people) friendly”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had a 4 day break in the Bay Tree Barn at the beginning of November to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. Everything was perfect - including the weather (though it would have been lovely & cosy with the log burner if the weather hadn't been good). The owners, Nikki & Jason, have worked extremely hard to make this a relaxing, comfortable holiday home. Nikki was very welcoming and she'd left lovely 'extras' for us (Welsh cakes and dog biscuits) and spent plenty of time explaining everything and showing us the very informative guide to what to see & do in the area. It is a fantastic place for dogs. If you take your own throws dogs are allowed on the sofas and each barn has it's own fenced garden. For the first evening we ordered a 3 course meal from Nikki and it was superb! We had goats cheese to start, homemade lasagna & salad, then sticky toffee pudding and ice cream. In such a sheepy area, this place is fabulous for dog walking as it's so close to Brechfa Forest. We did 3 different walks in the forest and all were wonderful. There are also lots of dog friendly beaches a short drive away. As we were going out for a special meal at the Belle, Llanllwni one evening we booked a dog sitter (recommended by Nikki) who was lovely and made a real fuss of our dog while we were out. We can't fault this place and would recommend it to anyone - but especially to dog owners.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
How lovely Stella! We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and the area. Delighted you enjoyed my cooking too! What a lovely 50th surprise you arranged for your husband. Thank you very much for this glowing review. It makes our day to find our guests have taken the trouble to write about their experience. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joods67
Weybridge
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Me, Him & Dog holiday ”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is our second stay in the Old Bike Shed; and it's beginning to feel like a real home from home. Nikki and Jason's USP is that they truly make sure all guests, whether 2 or 4 footed, are made to feel utterly welcome. There are so many great places to visit - forests and beaches, and so many cafes, pubs and restaurants where the four legged member of the family is welcomed too. Nikki's a wonderful cook and her 'legendary lasagne' lives up to the description, and the BBQ Hut makes a special treat for the bipeds! Thank you Nikki for everything and for making this holiday memorable for all the right reasons. Will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Oh wow! What a smashing review Judi! Thanks a million. See you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali W
1 review
“Fanastic stay”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Had a great weeks stay in The hay Barn, 3 people and 8 dogs. Walked in different places each day, Beaches, forests, lakes all very dog friendly. Would recommend this to anyone wanting a get away with their best friends

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
Thanks for the great review Ali. So pleased you and your 8 dogs enjoyed your stay here and all the places we recommend. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne m
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Walks galore!”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Have just spent 4 nights in The Bike Shed.
Greeted by Nikki and shown how everything worked.
Was aware the bike shed was small, but found it perfectly adequate for a base with everything you need for self catering. The ladder to the sleeping area looked a bit daunting at first but was easily managed.
Lots of info supplied for walks and Beaches. We couldn't walk ' from the door' due to sheep on the path leading to the property as Dexter, our chocolate lab, gets very agitated around live stock. However no big deal as we wanted to explore.
Plenty of walks nearby, my favourite was Keepers. Good cardio workout and lovely stream at the bottom.
Went to Pembrey - well worth a visit and the beach is beautiful, miles of almost deserted sand for dogs to let their hair down!
Llansteffan also had a lovely beach and enjoyed exploring the castle. Had a lovely cream tea there too.
Tenby and Saundersfoot are also worth a visit for the 'seaside' feel. Takes around 45 minutes by car.
All in all had a great time. Relaxing place to stay and friendly owners. Would definitely recommend for anyone wanting a dog friendly holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
Thank you Anne. Delighted to hear you and Dexter enjoyed your stay here. Just to clarify to anyone reading this, the cottages each have their own totally enclosed gardens/patio and the 18,000 acre forest which opens at the top of our track is "sheep free" however there is a short walk up the track to the forest entrance where you may encounter livestock and we recommend dogs on a lead in this area. Hope to see you again Anne :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing