We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night to Remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ty Mawr Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Brechfa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Night to Remember”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This hotel is delightful. It is an old building but modernised with style and respect for the age of the place. The hosts are great. They welcome you warmly and make sure you are comfortable for your stay.

The accommodation is brilliant. The room is spacious and comfortable. All amenities are available. The food in the restaurant is outstanding. Freshly prepared using local ingredients, a wonderful experience.

This is a must place to stay when in Carmarthenshire.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveconnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
94
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Thanks for the great stay at Ty Mawr last weekend with my wife Lucy (minus our three children!) The setting of the hotel was fantastic and our room was lovely. Dinner was excellent and fantastic value, with the pear and almond pudding and honey ice cream desert one of the best we have both tasted.

We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have just had my second stay at Ty Mawr, both visits with a work colleague, not the same one. It is only a small place, but well organised, decent sized bedrooms, really good service, and the icing on the cake being the food. The evening menu leaves you with the difficult decision as to what to have, as we would happily consume any of the delightful dishes on offer.
Breakfast is also of a very high standard, when you eat quality bacon, sausage and black pudding, you can taste the quality. Comfy bed, peace and quiet, free parking and wi-fi (but no mobile phone signal - another positive perhaps?).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinHemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annabelviney, Owner at Ty Mawr Country Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
I am so pleased that Justin has enjoyed his two stays with us.
Just so everyone knows we do have full Vodafone signal at the hotel though, as Justin found out, all other mobile networks do not work in the village. Because of this we offer the hotel telephone for guests to use and just ask for a donation to be put in the Welsh Air Ambulance collection box as payment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Cardiff, South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Recently spent a night a Ty Mawr - its an beautiful county hotel, with pleasant gardens with a river running through it. From the time we arrived nothing was too much trouble, the standards are set very high and the staff friendly, the public rooms and bedrooms are charming. The locally produced food was excellent; the breakfast sets you up for the day exploring the beautiful countryside. A visit to nearby Carreg Cennen Castle near Trapp is a great way to walk of the breakfast. It’s easy to see why Ty Mawr won Welsh country hotel of the year.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Just seen that Ty Mawr has won welsh country hotel of the year Well deserved We stayed twice last year and I know we will be visiting again and again as its the only way I will get my husband to visit my home village in Pembrokeshire !!!!! The food was excellent Annabel and Steve should show other hotels & restaurants with rooms in Wales how to provide a superb breakfast !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

From the moment you arrive, your every needs are catered for. As a shooting party we have stayed at Ty Mawr with Annabel and Steve many times. Each time you are made welcome, your guns safely locked away, and an arrival drink waiting for you on the bar! Every visit you make you feel more at home and Annabel is the best host we have every known. Steve is in the kitchen preparing the next feast, and between the 2 of them provide excellent food and service. Following a mouthwatering meal with an excellent wine list, you are guided into the sitting room, where a woodburner is in full heat and you relax in big soft chairs and sofas, where petifores, coffees and liquers are served. The bedrooms are all first class, and well appointed with everything you could need for a stay. Breakfast is taken to the next level again, with an excelIent choice, I am not surprised they have been awarded the best country Hotel in Wales for 2011. Can't wait to go back in January

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcoNorthantsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

You leave Ty Mawr feeling that you’ve been at one one the best “clubs” that you can imagine. From the moment you arrive Annabel looks after your every need with a minimum of fuss. She’ll pour you a mean cocktail, tell you where to walk the dog or even where to buy the delicious bacon you had for breakfast - yes, the provenance of most of their ingredients is so local that you could walk to collect most of them.

Talking of ingredients, that’s where the other half come in. Steve would never claim to rival “Heston B” but he certainly knows how to get the best out of the wonderful local ingredients that are available to him. Most of the legendary Ty Mawr breakfast comes from “down the road” - eggs, sausages, bacon, even kidneys if you are lucky and ask for them in advance. It's just as as well they don't do lunches as there wouldn't be room for dinner. There's even a well thought out “short” but varied menu and a very interesting and well priced Wine list.

Steve treats his ingredients well, converting fantastic Welsh Black into Steak Tartare or maybe cooking shellfish that was alive on the Cardiganshire coast a few hours earlier. Mains are kept simple but often have Steve’s “twist” for added interest. Annabel may have a hand in the “puds” and there’s always something irresistible. If you’re greedy try the ex cheeseboard too, as you’d expect there’s a goats cheese from just several villages away.

Although there are only 6 bedrooms the chances are that you’ll recognise some of the fellow guests, that’s why its like a club – we all keep coming back. Not that I’m “anti-children”, it’s also rather nice not to have screaming kids anywhere or parents getting cross with them – there is a “no kids policy”. More importantly there’s a continuous programme of upgrading all the bedrooms, regular visitors will know “what it was like” and last year’s award of “Best Country House Hotel in Wales” was in fact overdue. Ty Mawr is an old building and isn’t perfect in every way, that’s part of it’s charm – it has character too.

Thankfully Steve and Annabel haven’t modernised the character out of Ty Mawr, their stamp is an individual one and it certainly appeals not only to me but also to others. We all keep coming back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brechfa
0.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
713 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
801 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Country Hotel

Property: Ty Mawr Country Hotel
Address: Brechfa | Near Carmarthen, Brechfa SA32 7RA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Brechfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brechfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ty Mawr Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th-century converted farmhouse with many original features remaining including wooden beams, thick stone walls, wood burning stove, tiled floors. Good food using seasonal produce from the local area to provide a daily-changing menu. Very conveniently located for visiting the many attractions the area has to offer including Aberglasney and the National Botanic Gardens plus Dinefwr Park, Dylan Thomas' Boathouse, Carreg Cennan Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ty Mawr Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Country Hotel Brechfa, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing