We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Aberllech

Aberllech set in the heart of the Brechfa Forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aberllech set in the heart of the Brechfa Forest
Aberllech Front Porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Aberllech set in the heart of the Brechfa Forest
Aberllech
Front Porch
Hot Tub, Summer House and Seating Area in the back garden
View from raised patio / hot tub area
Hot Tub, Summer House and seating area
View from the Hot Tub
View from the Hot Tub
Summer house to change in from the tub
Stairs up to Hot Tub at night
Lounge
Lounge measuring appx 20ft x 15ft
Lounge measuring appx 20ft x 15ft
Lounge
Lounge fireplace
Kitchen
Kitchen
Our pub 30 paces from cottage
Our pub 30 paces from cottage
The beer garden by the River Cothi
The Cothi which runs through the Village
Abergorlech from the Brechfa Forest
Abergorlech
Double Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angeladef
Pontypridd
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second perfect stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was our second stay at the cottage and it was perfect. We are a group of 6 ladies in our 40's and 50's and wanted to have a weekend to chill and relax, with the hot tub being a huge bonus, this stay ticks all the boxes. George and Louise who own the cottage also run the local pub The Black Lion, on both visits we have enjoyed excellent food and service. We look forward to visiting again next year.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The big living room with wood burning stove
Liked least: No washing up liquid and no shop nearby to get some
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andy M
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another gem from George and Louise”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My wife and I visited Abergorlech for another mountain biking / fishing holiday in May 2013. We’d stayed in Cothi View (another property owned by the same couple in the same village) in 2012 but this time it was booked so plumped for Aberllech this time.

We weren’t quite sure what to expect as there were no reviews but we knew that George and Louise had a well earned reputation so it wasn’t exactly a risk. The pictures don’t really do it justice so here goes.

Negatives first:
The kitchen looked dated and although there was a separate fridge and freezer, the fridge could have been bigger. Secure storage for the bikes meant bringing them into the conservatory that has a hard floor. It could do with a bit of paint here and there…………. that’s it.

Positives;
The kitchen was actually fully functional, everything worked, double oven, mircrowave, toaster, electric hob and if that isn’t enough then Louise is still serving tasty good value food just a 2 minute walk away.
From the description we weren’t sure what we would find in the utility room but were pleased to find a new automatic washing machine, separate tumble dryer and down stairs loo. George is toying with the idea of putting in a shower which would certainly help for larger groups.
The living rooms beat our expectation too. The main front room has all the original features, a large flat screen telly and great stereo that you can plug your iPod into and plenty of seating. Next to that and not featured in the pictures is another large living room with a dining table and patio doors leading out to the back, ideal for groups who’ve had enough of one another (obviously not in my case if you’re reading this dear). Then for us the best room was a little conservatory/sun room on the front of the house to the left of the front door in Georges pics. For blustery wet days this was warm and dry and sitting in the 2 arm chairs gave lovely Southerly views across the valley.
Upstairs the bedrooms are a good size and our double bed was very comfy. The bathroom looked modern and fresh with an electric shower over the bath.
The hot tub wasn’t a reason we chose the house but was a great way to soothe tired limbs after riding and really made it feel like a holiday. You had privacy from the neighbours with the cover tilted up and views to soak in. The patio was just the same with almost 360 degree views. The weather in May wasn’t up to much but we still managed to spend some time up there. Whilst the views from the patio at Cothi were lovely, these were better with no immediate neighbours (church and graveyard one side, house about 70yds the other), fields to the rear with sheep and views across the roof of Aberllech. Under the patio is the garage that George hopes to clear out and that would then provide secure storage for bikes outside the hosue.

The pub and the riding remain as good as we’d remembered. The pub has its own reviews elsewhere but it was still as welcoming and friendly as last time (in fact some of the same faces were still at the bar …. you know who you are!). It’s popular with visitors and locals alike, the beer is well kept and the cooking so popular Louise was using the separate dining room as well. George offers wifi access for those customers who can’t live without mobile phone and internet for a few days. The mountain bike trails were still in excellent condition with both start points being either a levelish 2 miles to the black, blue and green or 0.25 the other way for the red.

In short you can see that we loved our second visit to this gem of a location and we will be visiting again. Yes there are a couple of minor niggles but massively outweighed by all the positives. Now we’ve stayed in both properties we would choose this over Cothi View for the extra space, improved views and hot tub but if it wasn’t available we would still be happy to save a few pounds and go back to the smaller cottage.

Another fantastic stay........ thanks George and Louise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sun room and all round views
Liked least: Kitchen dated
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hayl18645...
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed at the cottage for 2 nights for a hen party. George was extremely helpful and communication was excellent. He advised us on activities we could do and gave us contact number for a taxi service for a night in carmarthen. The cottage was stunning! It is really pretty and quaint and in a lovely location. Facilities were great; 3 double bedrooms, bathroom and downstairs toilet. The kitchen was well equipped and there are 2 reception rooms, one a modern extension with dining area and a beautiful view out to the garden. The garden is beautiful with views of fields all around. It was absolute bliss to relax in the jacuzzi (complete with disco lights!!) surrounded by wonderful views of the country side! !The walks in the area are lovely and there are some excellent picnic spots along the side of the river!! The pub (which is owned by George and Louise) is only a couple minutes walk and the beer garden in a lovely spot with beautiful surroundings! We went into Carmarthen on the saturday night but were very grateful for the delicious homemade pizzas on the sunday night from the pub!
Our weekend was amazing and George and Louise couldn't do enough for us!! Cant wait to go back!!
Massive thanks for a great weekend!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;