We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely accommodation with simply outstanding...”
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks Cadair Idris - just one of the many guiding options available at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
132 reviews
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Cadair Idris - just one of the many guiding options available at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
MudTrek accommodation
Transportation to and from your guided rides at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Groups welcome at at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Amazing riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Doethie Valley - just one of the many guiding options available at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Ride from the door! - one of the many guiding options available at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Bring your own bike or hire from our fleet at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great guiding from the door at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Beautiful views from the accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Incredible riding options at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Fantastic food at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Fantastic food at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Fantastic food at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Good times at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks!
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Good times at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks!
Chalet girl service at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Fantastic off piste guided rides at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 132 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BikingMum
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely accommodation with simply outstanding hosts - they really do end up feeling like friends!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We had a great trip with our two sons (aged 10 and 12) - enjoying the classiness of the accommodation, excellent cooking, perfectly judged guiding, and warm hospitality. I can't recommend Nikki and Jason's place enough - you feel like you are staying with friends (with exactly as much privacy as you want) rather than just in a beautifully appointed barn. Excellent value too - we will be back! Thanks Nikki and Jason.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you Laura. So pleased to have a review with a reference to families - we're not just for groups of blokes! Such kind words. Can't wait to have you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian E
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellence Personified.”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Comfortable warm barn in a great location , facilities perfect for wet and muddy groups to relax and enjoy superb wholesome food cooked by Nikki from a pre arrival menu.
The group had an amazing days riding guided by Jay & Gareth who go the extra mile , we enjoyed magnificent forestry trails with highlights of Red and Black downhill routes at the local trail centres, Despite torrential rain (all day ) we had a brilliant day, Nikki's packed lunches kept us fuelled.!
Jay took all our bikes back to base (washed them off) and returned later to collect a merry bunch from the pub. We finished off with a video re-run back at the farm . BRILLIANT .

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The downhill trails
Liked least: Going home so soon.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2014
Really kind to take the time to review us - muchly appreciated and just great to hear how much you enjoyed yourselves :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic hospitality”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This is how it should be done in the UK. Make the most of a stunning location provide fantastic hospitality, in great accommodation offer guided cycling (for those who want it) and even on a wet weekend in February you wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nikki and Jay's hospitality. It makes all the difference
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2014
Brilliant. Thanks so much for your kind words. Good to know we're doing it right :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidH11...
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First class in Every Way”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The service was great from the off with Nikki being understanding as we dithered about the date and numbers. We got good advice about the local trail centre and other aspects of our trip before we arrived. On arrival we found the cottage warm and welcoming as were our hosts. The accommodation was well thought out and with good facilities.The fully catered service was a real bonus with a varied menu backed up by tasty and plentiful servings. We really enjoyed the guided ride with Jason leading us over trails we would never have found. The video Jason took on the ride provided us with the evening's entertainment. MudTrek set a very high benchmark, compared to our various trips elsewhere this is simply the best ever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was well organised so we made the most of our time
Liked least: Not applicable.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2014
Simply the best ever?! Just brilliant that you all enjoyed your break with us so much. Thanks a million for the super review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn Y
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mudtrek a must for every MTBers bucket list!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Mudtrek really does have it all.
The location is isolated and idyllic. The accomodation is perfect for bikers, walkers anyone visiting the brecon beacons. Its homely with great facilities everything you could wish for.
You just turn up and absolutely everything is sorted no need to worry about tea coffee breakfast lunch or dinner.just bring your own alcohol.
The packages they offer are great for any MTBer, we had a day of off piste riding with Jay which was great and tailored to our skill level (we even got a KOM on Jays patch!) finishing off at the black lion (typical welsh pub) for some lovely ales. Before Jay ferries you back to the Barn for some more of the wholesome and plentiful food on offer. Compliments to Nikki here!.
To me the point about mudtrek is different to your standard accomodation review. I am sure if you looked hard enough you could find something thats not perfect....But that attitude and review really defeats the object of Mudtrek. Jay and Nikki make Mudtrek an absolutely amazing experience and words cannot describe how great they make it. You just have to find out for yourself...But please leave some space for me to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jay and Nikki
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2014
Your 2nd visit Glen and your 2nd wonderful review. Nothing pleases us more that knowing our guests have had the very best time we can offer them. Apart from when they re-book of course! See you guys again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
estorilbl...
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Weekend Mountain Biking with Mud Trek”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We spent a weekend mountain biking in Brechfa with Mud Trek and had a really fantastic time. The Guided ride introduced us to naturally technical terrain which made a real change from the trail centres. The Guides were very friendly and helpful making the ride even more enjoyable.
Accommodation was first class as was the food served. For those that have enjoyed a ski chalet experience this is the same for mountain biking.. All meals were served in our cottage and all clearing up done for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall set up and welcome ...home from home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed the "off piste" stuff Phil. And the food & accommodation of course - Mr & Mrs Mud are thrilled with this review. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m0nty2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything was great, even the beer”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed in a very comfortable chalet style building. It was very warm and well decorated. the food was excellent and always brought in with a smile. The riding was fabulous, the route had been put together very well and worked out to be just the right length to leave us tired. The hospitality was brilliant too, we were always made to feel welcome and they couldn't have been more accommodating with any of our requests. Overall this was a fabulous weekend that has left me wanting nothing, but to return soon!!! Highly commendable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The riding and food
Liked least: The rain, but it is wales
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 13-17
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$104
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing