We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
1 review
“Would not go again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

Overall, the hotel is beautiful and very clean. But food is very expensive and getting up at 7am for a beach cabana is really a pain. The location is also not very convenient if you want to try some of the more reasonable restaurants in the area. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyAbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,597
    1,461
    339
    141
    60
See reviews for
1,449
2,842
85
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,653)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

The Marriott is a great hotel. It has been newly remodeled and the rooms are gorgeous. The entrance is sleek and looks very upscale, and so does the lobby lounge. The pool area is gorgeous, especially at night with the different color lights. We didn't swim in the pool but we did use the hot tub which was very relaxing. The beach was soft, not a lot of stones or rocks. Even the gym was well equipped and the staff made sure you had lemon water and plenty of towels. The fact that you could venture over to the Marriott Ocean Club and Surf Club was also a plus.

The only downside to the hotel for us was that there is no microwave in the room, and the staff is not allowed to heat food for the guests. I understand that this Marriott brand doesn't include microwaves in the room, but the food in Aruba can be very expensive, and they do give you a lot of food. It was a shame to have to throw away the leftovers. But, we learned to share meals and buy appetizer portions to avoid spending on such large quantities. When on vacation, you adapt and keep going.

The island is beautiful, the ocean is breathtaking, and the people are friendly. As for restaurants, we enjoyed Smokey Joes at the mall and Champions inside the Marriott. Also check out the DePalm Jeep Adventure, the ride to the uninhabited part of the island can be very scary, but it is a lot of fun.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindWings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
184 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

 Aruba is where you go to relax in the Sun. Not much to see of on the island. Lots of stuff to see under the water. But, again, yo go to Aruba to relax. We stayed at the Marriott on the Tradewinds Level. Frankly, that is the only way to go. You are on the top floor with the best views. Breakfast, lunch and heavy ‘snacks” are there for free. As is the beer and soda. At night, premium whine, champagne and liquor is also available - for free. Sure it is included in the room price, but it makes it really simple.
The beach is a beach is a beach. Wide, nice sand and not too many people as the Marriott is at the end of the road. Bar “service” is somewhat infrequent at the beach.
The pool is big and nice. The rooms are big and nice.
We had an Anniversary dinner at Ruth Chris which I set up ahead of time. As usual it was excellent. The only other meal we had on site was an all you can eat Lobster dinner. The Lobsters would go for $25 each in the US. I have five and my petite wife has three and they were excellent!
The Casino? We go to Vegas often so it is not fair to compare Vegas to this “thing” called a Casino.
Would we go again? Probably not. There is Curacao down the pike and we might go there. But for the people who have asked us about going to Aruba - I encourage it as long as they stay in the Tradewinds Level.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

We just returned from a nine day stay in Aruba. We stayed at the Marriott Stellaris. This was the second time at this Marriott and the fourth time in Aruba.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a smile and a cool fruit punch. Our check in was quick and the staff were very pleasant. Our room was ready and in fact we were upgraded to a pool/ocean view on the 7th floor. The view was amazing! Our thanks to the hotel staff for their attentiveness. Our room was always clean and tidy.
There was no construction and the pool was newly renovated and was open.

Beach: The beach was awesome. The water was warm. We didnt stay at the pool because the beach was so clean and wonderful.

Food: We ate at Lavista for breakfast. It was very good. Daily Buffet was $22, however, ask the check in counter if they have a coupon which gives you $5 off. The Sunday buffet is $29.99. Ruth Chris was very good but a bit pricey. I bought a Ruth Chris gift card in the states to use in Aruba and it was accepted so I could defrey some of the cost. I also purchased a two for one Marriott certificate for $109. We used it at Simply Fish. We ate on the beach. It was really nice and well worth the certificate. It is for a three course meal and you can choose anything off the regular menu. They had a special $89 for a three course meal but it was a special menu. Champions was very good for burgers. We also ate off the property. We ate at Smokey Joe's, Papillon, Texas di Brazil and Gianni's. All were very very good. Gianni's was just ok. Papillon had a special for three course meal for $89. So if you look, you can always find some specials.

Transportation: You can get the bus right in front of the Marriott. Get a round trip ticket. Its approx $5 for two people. I believe its the #10 bus and take it to the end of the line. You'll be in the downtown area. Its nice to see once. There are a lot of stores and restaurants in the High Rise area so its not necessary to go downtown more than one time.

The only con I can think of would be that the Marriott is at the end of the high rise area and its quite a walk. We like to walk so it was great for us. Also, the Marriott just implemented a new policy regarding beach towels. You are given a card to give to the person at the towel hut. Give them your card and they will give you two towels. Bring back the towels and you will get your card. When you check out you must give the desk your card. If you dont, they will charge you $25 for each towel. It was quite confusing and people were not happy with this system. Regarding Palapa's: we never had a problem getting one. We went to the beach in the afternoon and had no problem.

Lastly, if you're planning a trip to Aruba, the Marriott is a beautiful hotel but whichever resort you choose you will not be disappointed. The beach is great from one end to another. And the people are the friendliest. Have fun, relax and enjoy paradise.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peleChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

We honeymooned here and it was wonderful. Great customer service, very helpful concierge desk that helped us book tours, dinner reservations, etc. Very nice room/bathroom with gorgeous view from our room over the pool to the ocean. If you can, I recommend doing the Tradewinds Club, which upgrades you to a top-floor room and gives you included breakfast, lunch and happy hour every day. We took lots of walks up and down the beach and thought our hotel was one of the nicest ones.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

My friends and I booked our trip through CheapCaribbean.com, which gave us a great deal on a 5 day, 4 night stay at this hotel. The hotel was undergoing renovation during our stay; however, it did not directly affect us because our room was near the elevators that worked. From what I know of, the hotel is still under construction.

Although the hotel's location isn't the greatest (furthest away from Oranjestad and the airport), my room was always kept clean, the staff was friendly, and my room had a beautiful view of Aruba's Palm Beach, which was a real treat to my eyes. The hotel also has a variety of different restaurants to chose from and their breakfast buffet was especially delicious. Unfortunately, the island is DEAD. If you are looking to travel to Aruba for a cultural experience and to learn about the locals, you won't be pleased. Aruba is a desert island filled with tourists and over-priced imported products. Unless you are an underage teen looking to drink until you pass out, Aruba's nightlife was lackluster and extremely disappointing. My recommendation would be to take a cruise through the Caribbean and have your ship stop at Aruba for the day. The beaches and water sports are the island's only selling point. If you do chose to visit the island, I would definitely point you towards the Aruba Marriott & Stellaris Casino for your stay. Great service, very relaxing, delicious meals, and right on Aruba's Palm Beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennjuice619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

This hotel was amazing. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The views from the hotel was breath taking. I would reccomend this hotel.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DestinyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
4.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 101, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on Palm Beach, our Aruba getaway is essential to your alluring Aruba vacation. Enjoy comfort and relaxing Aruba accommodations featuring the resort, adult exclusive pool, and the exclusive Tradewinds Club - an upscale hotel-within-a-hotel concept on the top floor of this Aruba resort. Savor in the upgraded amenities, five daily dining presentations in the private lounge, a member-only beach area, and full access to the Tradewinds Concierge Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Aruba Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott Aruba Hotel Stellaris
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing