We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amsterdam manor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amsterdam manor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We did not stay at this hotel but we want to recommend their wedding coordinator Ane if you are getting married on Aruba. She and our wedding coordinator, Lissy helped us not only with our dream wedding but also with finding our luggage. Thanks to Ane and Lissy we got one of luggage on the day before the wedding and then the other on our wedding day. Thank you once again for your help with our luggage and for fulfilling our dream wedding. We will also recommend you to eat at least once at their beach restaurant Passions. The prices are a bit higher than average but the food and the location is worth it. The tables are placed at the beach so the view is stunning. Its beauteful to eat on the beach in the sunset.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SofiaFosselius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    455
    111
    51
    28
See reviews for
427
1,305
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Pros: we got an upgrade from Standard to Superior Studio for free! This place, as a four-star resort, is also a lot less expensive than the five-star resorts and offers a great value. The staff is friendly and willing to help. We also got champagne and a nice gift for being honeymooners. This place offers a free movie night, scuba lesson, and a Carribean dancing show.
Cons: the housekeepers initially told us they would not wash dishes, but then did so. At that time, I had washed my dishes twice already. If we have to pay 10% of the room as tip, housekeepers should do this. Housekeepers did not always clean the toilets. Otherwise from this, the stay here is absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richieh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We LOVED Amsterdam Manor. The location is perfect for a low-key couple such as ourselves. We visited mid-February during "President's week" and during this high season found the hotel to be relaxed and uncrowded. The staff was friendly, the resort hospitable, the studio we rented clean and had all the conveniences we needed to be happy.

Can't fathom the complaints about the beach being across the street. Yes, directly across the street is a fabulous, beautiful beach. It's not an issue at all. You might want to be careful if crossing with a very young child; of course, you wouldn't send a child that young anywhere alone anyway and older children will do just fine. There was never any traffic, just the occasional vehicle.

There is a bus stop right in front of Amsterdam Manor; we happily used public transportation during our stay and found it convenient, inexpensive and easy to navigate. We rented a driver for a private tour of the island, which we enjoyed and recommend.

After visiting the high-rise district, we were so very happy to have chosen the quiet oasis of Amsterdam Manor for our first trip to Aruba. If you're looking for hustle, bustle and partying, it might not be the best choice for you. However, if you want a restful vacation in a beautiful spot, Amsterdam Manor is a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upstateAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Laurel, NJ
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I have been to Aruba three years in a row and this was our first experience at Amsterdam Manor. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, which was very spacious and well kept.

The hotel compares to Bucuti. Maybe not as luxurious, but a good amount cheaper and the beach is just as easy to get to. Our trip was technically in the low-season, but there was never any traffic when we needed to cross the street to get to the beach. Also, all of our cab rides into the high rise area were a good 5-10 minutes shorter than our previous stay at Bucuti. This was a nice surprise.

Overall, the staff is very professional and friendly. The only negatives are that the breakfast is a bit underwhelming (average food at best) and the pool is somewhat small & not as close to the beach for those of us that like to take a dip in the pool to cool off (like me). I am being a bit nitpicky, as we really enjoyed our stay and would have a hard time picking between here and Bucuti for our next stay.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite was reasonably priced, spacious, and close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMeAlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Amsterdam Manor from June 23 to June 30, 2012. Me, my husband, adult son in one 2 bedroom unit and my daughter and son in law and their 3 small kids in another 2 bedroom unit. We faced the pool area and the beach was very visible from our balcony. We went to the grocery store and bought some adult beverages and snacks for Happy Hour on our balcony in the evenings. A lovely view. It was terrific for us, a decent kitchen for breakfasts, and some lunches. A good restaurant for the meals one didn't want to cook. They also have a nice room service that my son used a few times. Housekeeping is amazing. We weren't very fastidious but each day they made the place very clean and tidy. We ate at Passions on the beach and that was lovely. There are jet skis and para sailing right there on the beach. No venders that we saw, so that was a pleasant suprise. Definitely get a rental car and use a local agency. You can take a cab to your hotel and arrange a rental car there. We were almost 10 hours late arriving, supposed to arrive at 3:30 pm but United had other plans and got there somewhere after 1 am. The hotel was very accommodating to us despite the hour of our arrival, after 2 am. I think they are used to the poor flight record. Anyway we had a great time, went snorkeling and scuba diving. Happy Divers was the one we used for scuba and they were excellent. Jeffery took just me and my husband for a dive. It was so pretty on the reef! Baby Beach was also fun, a great place to snorkel with kids. Everyone we encountered was very friendly to tourists and helpful. Amsterdam Manor exceeded my expectations,it was a very pleasant place for a family vacation!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mopsdemott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We recently stayed at this resort for 4 nights in the middle of June and had a very good time.We are owners at the Marriot surf club but wanted to spend a few extra days and decided on the Amsterdam to spend the extra days because of its location near Eagle beach.We were pleasantly surprised at this resort.we had a superior suite right in front of the pool and it was fine for what we needed.The only problem we had was we really had no hot water for showers.Other than that it was very comfortable.The pool bar staff were very friendly and all the staff really seem to enjoy working there.The resort is just a short walk to the best beach on the island and Passions on the beach restaurant was one of our best meals we have had on the island and we have been to Aruba 4 times now.From the front desk to the housekeeping to the servers,Amsterdam management should be proud of the fact that their workers all seem to be so friendly and helpful to the guests.We will definitely come back to the Amsterdam for another short stay in route to the surf club.It gives us a chance to relax and enjoy in a smaller resort and do not have to fight for chair space or palapa space.Great stay!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimsct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGH Metro
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I spent a week at AMBR in early June which was our 2nd return visit to this resort. Our expectations were in line as we have stayed there previously, but we did have some new experiences to add.

Honestly, with that gorgeous beach across a narrow street, it's hard to say any place on Eagle beach is bad, but fortunately AMBR is a great resort in of itself. We arrived early, just after noon and we expected to not have our room ready at check-in, but we were pleasantly surprised to be able to go right to our room. We reserved a one-bedroom suite during this stay, our previous stay was in a superior suite. While the rooms are going through staged renovations, we did not get a renovated room, so we were met with the familiar decor as the superior suite. The one-bedroom is plenty of room. There is a decently-sized kitchen with a full size refrigerator, dining room and living space. There is also a separate bedroom and bathroom. We actually would have been pleased with out the living space as we rarely used it. We sat at the dining room table most times to eat, check email, etc. The only TV we used was the one in the bedroom. Still nice to have all of that space. We were on the main floor which was about 20 steps to the pool, great location!

We ate at Passions on our first night intentionally as it's right across the street and low maintenance in terms of getting there. While the location and scenery is fantastic, the food doesn't live up to it. Food was good indeed, just not up to the caliber of the surroundings. I will say the watermelon and feta salad was the best thing going, so delicious!

In the time between our stays (3 years), Mango's Restaurant updated their menu. We ate breakfast there on our first morning as we didn't have a chance to buy groceries yet. They improved their breakfast fare with a buffet, catering to more American breakfast tastes. It was a nice mix of American & European offerings. Delicious french toast!!

Housekeeping was great each day, always coming in while we were at the beach. Concierge and front desk personnel were fabulous, very friendly and helpful. Beach bar is great of course, awesome mojitos! My only suggestion would be that the hotel purchase some additional water rafts. By the time we'd get to the beach in the morning, which ranged from 9-10, all rafts would be gone. It appeared to be a trend of some travelers to get to the beach extremely early, get towels and rafts, stick them on some beach chairs and head back to sleep. Anyway, that's just one suggestion. Also, the Arubus stop is right in front of the resort which is super convenient and we used it quite regularly.

We enjoy AMBR because of it's proximity to Eagle Beach, small size and general demographic of customers. Not a lot of American tourists tend to stay there and we appreciate the less busy atmosphere that you can find on Palm beach in the high-rise area. All in all, another great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsMedoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
2.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
2.5 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Property: Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach 00000, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing