We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a wonderful first trip to Aruba”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was a wonderful first trip to Aruba”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I just got back from my first trip to Aruba and we stayed 7 nights at Amsterdam Manor from March 18th - March 25th. Our flight landed in Aruba at around 1pm so we got to the hotel fairly early and our room was not ready yet. So we went across the street and had lunch at Passions which is affiliated with the hotel. I loved how close the beautiful Eagle Beach is to the Manor and Passions does serve some pretty good food and snacks as well as drinks.

There were a few hiccups with our stay but all of them were addressed by the staff at the Manor. First was the check-in, I believe regular check-in time was 4pm, since we got there early we just waited along with the rest of the people who arrived early as well but as 4pm approached it seemed as though everyone else was sent to their rooms except for us. We booked a Standard Studio with partial ocean view. The staff didn't address what the delay was but just kept telling us that our room will be ready soon or in 10 minutes...let's just say quite a few 10 minutes passed by before we were able to go to our room. I think we checked in around 5pm.

The next two issues was with our balcony door and our shower. We were told our balcony door was not functioning correctly and it needed to be fixed (and this might have been what caused the delay in checking in). So they advised us to not open the door for the time being, which was fine. They fixed the door the next day while we were out on the beach, so that was addressed fairly quickly.

The issue with the shower was that the water temperature was not stable. It would go from very cold to very hot on it's own. So you can imagine this made showering very difficult and especially with sunburns, when that water suddenly got really hot it hurt! We mentioned this issue to the front desk a couple of times before they finally got maintenance to come take a look. So we did have to endure a few days of this shower situation.

They said that the whole faucet for the shower or piping had to be fixed or replaced because the room above us was having the same issue as well. So, they decided to move us to a new room for the remainder of our stay and offered us a complimentary breakfast at Mango's. The new room was a slight upgrade because it seemed like a Deluxe Studio with a private sitting area in the front. We did appreciate how the situation was handled but we just wished it didn't take 3 days.

Overall, the staff at Amsterdam Manor is very friendly and nice as with the rest of the locals on this happy island. There are two restaurants affiliated with this hotel Mango's and Passions. The service at Mango's can be a little slow during the dinner rush. Both places serve pretty good food. Breakfast is served at Mango's for an additional $17.50 per person.

And lastly, I thought it was such an interesting gesture for the housekeeping staff to bring us 2 dove chocolates every evening at around 7pm. It definitely made our trip that much sweeter.

Thank you to everyone at Amsterdam Manor!
Mr. & Mrs. Li

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissStacieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs. Li,

Thank you very much for your feedback and sharing your experiences. Our apologies for your inconveniences that you have encountered during check in, balcony door and the shower problem. We will address these comments to the manager in charge to prevent this in the future. We will for sure send your compliments regarding the food to the chef’s and the housekeeping department. We’re happy to hear that besides your inconveniences you enjoyed your stay and glad you choose us as your vacation destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    455
    111
    51
    28
See reviews for
427
1,305
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Amsterdam Manor and they did not disappoint. They continue to maintain the high standard they have set for themselves. From Samuel at the beach to Juan at the restaurants and Vincent at the bar everyone is friendly and gracious. The one thing that impresses me the most and will keep me coming back is the people and the cleanliness. They do a fantastic job keeping the place maintained and take pride in the resort. Eagle beach is a great beach...white sand, clean and clear water and you can walk for quite a ways. We will be back again next year!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
It is so great to read when our guest go back home satisfied. Thank you for your posting and for the compliments of our staff. We will be welcoming you back next year for your 3rd trip to the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, IA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our family of 6 stayed at the AM March 16, 2014 for a week. We had the two room suite, which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. This was our first time in Aruba, and we would come back and stay at the AM again! The kitchen was very nice and we ate in a lot of our meals to save some money, as it is pretty expensive to eat out in Aruba. The really nice thing about this resort is the super food grocery store is a 5 minute walk, making shopping for groceries so easy as we did not have a car. The resort was always sparkling clean, very friendly staff everywhere we went, and nice amenities. We rented snorkel equipment from the front desk for $5 for a mask, and snorkeled right off the beach near the rocks and saw lots of cool stuff. You can also rent bikes for $10 per day! Good deal! We LOVED the beach, nicest one in Aruba! Several days we walked to the high rise hotels for various excursions (1-2 mile walk, depending on where you were going) and it was crowded, busy and not as nice of a beach. Eagle beach was quiet, not crowded at all, plenty to do as far as water sport rentals, etc. We never worried about "getting a chair" on the beach, and whenever we showed up there was plenty of chairs available, and foam floatation rafts for free! We rode the bus a few times to get us around the island, which is super easy, cheap, and the bus stop is right in front of the AM. We ate at Mango's for dinner one night and the food and service was outstanding! REALLY, REALLY good experience at the AM - we just loved it! We had a nice balcony overlooking the beach and ocean, with a little table and chairs, and two lounge chairs also. Oh, the bathrooms are pretty nice, new, modern, which is important to me! Wi-fi is spotty, but you're on vacation! The walk across the street to the beach is literally closer than the walk from the high rises that are on the beach because they are set back so far. We will be back - we loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
As you have mentioned the resort has a friendly staff, the resort is always clean, the food is great, the beach is quite and relaxing, and we offer nice amenities.
We try to focus on giving you as our guest the best memorable experience possible and we hope to see you and your family back soon enjoying the beach life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our USA family of 4 (2 parents, 2 late teens) stayed at Am Manor in a 2BR suite for a week in March 2014, and enjoyed it greatly! Our first time in Aruba. Beautiful beach, beach bar, super happy hour bartenders. Many of the staff speak 4 languages-- Spanish, Dutch, English and Papimiento. Our dinner at the onsite Mangoes restaurant was terrific. But best of all about Amersterdam Manor was its genuine Arubian feel-- every moment, you know are you someplace different/ foreign/ distinctive-- from the hotel's yellow concrete walls, brick hardscaping, desert landscaping, blue pool, gables, outdoor dining and bars, eaves, rafters, vaulted ceiling (in our 2nd floor unit), patios (facing sunset), tile roofs. I could go on ...

Simply, the gestalt of the place is just way cool! So take a chance and forget the standard USA-type hotel fare over in the high rise district, which you can enjoy anywhere. Sure, go to the Hi Rise District for a dinner or 2 (we did like Smokey Joe's) and some garish shopping, lights, crowds, and chintzy tourist shops (we went to several and bought some "stuff"). But leave behind that district's crowded beaches and "anywhere" feel and spend most of your time at the AM. The staff is great and courteous, the friendly (4 language) Concierge Marllyn will make all your dinner reservations, and the beach always had a straw parasol for those wanting shade, and plenty of sunny beach when one wanted heat.

There are some minor downsides: Arubian design has "smallish windows", and one might quibble with particular room sizes or layouts (or, say, the room dehumidifier that was in our unit) but all that to us was very small potatoes. And a road divides the hotel and beach, but drivers honor the "Zebras" and we found the road to be a non-problem.

Restaurants we liked: Barefoot (near airport), Mangoes, Smokey Joes, Passions on the Beach (at AM!). Day trip we liked: To the National Park: Go in the morning and check out the Cunucu trail (easy), then hike up to the cell tower for a great 360 degree view of the island. You can be back at the AM pool by noon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregorGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your detailed posting on Trip Advisor.
Certainly we are quite diverse than the other hotels. The infrastructure of our hotel makes it unique, the perfect relaxing beach area and of course our staff gives you the Arubian feeling.
Please do not be a stranger and come back soon at the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have traveled to the Amsterdam Manor Inn for the past three years and love the quality of services and cleanliness of the resort. We re booked Feb. 2013 for this year, requesting a 1 bedroom room (thinking that our children might come). Arriving after traveling many hours we were told we were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite. We checked out the room and yes it did have a nice view, but small college style refrigerator, limited space for cooking and preparing as well as a hot tub (weather is too hot to use in Aruba). We went back to the lobby and expressed out unhappiness with the manager Somone. She told us she didn't have any other room for us even though we booked a year in advance. Obviously over booked her resort. We didn't consider this an upgrade since the room prices out cheaper than what the room did that we booked. She was extremely rude and told us that that was all she had and she would try to find us a room at another resort. She also told us that we had a discount and should be happy. The discount is a travel industry discount and I would have thought she would have wanted me to book clients at her resort. She didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. The honeymoon suite is a 1-bedroom suite and is considered an upgrade as this room is more private and has besides a shower also a Jacuzzi. The only downside of the honeymoon suite is that is has a smaller fridge but we offered you to place a larger fridge in your suite.

We offered you the regular 1-bedroom suite the following day for the remainder of your stay or another resort as the honeymoon suite was the last suite we had available.

We hope that despite the inconvenience, you still enjoyed your stay on Aruba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was our first time to Aruba, and I can say we for sure want to come back, especially after our perfect week at Amsterdam Manor! We stayed Feb 28-March 7th.
We had a poolside/ocean view room, with a great kitchen. We went to Superfoods (a 3 block walk) and stocked up on snacks and drinks, which helped us save money during the day so we could splurge on delicious dinners. There's a microwave, stovetop, good size fridge (not those tiny boxes), and even a blender, which we took to making our own pina coladas daily to bring down to the beach (we brought insulated cups with us and a soft cooler).

The pallapas on the beach provided perfect shade when we got hot, and we never had a problem finding one, and we are not early risers either. The hotel also provides comfy rafts to use, which were awesome!

Other highlights:
-The beach: I liked it so much more than the ones in the high rise area (we went down there for a snorkeling tour). Felt more tropical, unique, wayyyy less crowded, and better views.
-The staff was super friendly, the restaurants Mango's, and Passions were an absolute delight.
-The Arubus picks you up right out front to head downtown or into the high rise area with ease
-We did the movie night on the beach Wednesday night and that was super unique for us (and we got served popcorn)
-You can walk down to the Manchebo area and there are lots of restaurant choices there as well

Big shout out to the bartender Peter who kept happy hour drinks flowing, and always wanted us to be happy (which it was hard not to be!!!)

I'm depressed my vacation is over, but I know we will be back! Thank you, thank you, thank you for making our stay so fantastic!!!

Room Tip: We were in 110 A and it was a perfect location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dillia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We appreciate your detailed posting and also your highlights mentioned of our resort. As you have point out the beach is very unique and less crowded which makes it perfect for a relaxing vacation and we are happy that our staff and facilities assisted in making your vacation the best memorable vacation. Please do not feel depressed and come back soon at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Located directly across the street from the beautiful eagle beach. Beautifully designed rooms and one of the best sunset happy hours in Aruba. Live band,dancing ladies and singing bartenders (Peter) this place was awesome. Small but large in quality.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank Sacha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your posting and we hope to see you back soon at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
2.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
2.5 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Property: Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach 00000, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing