We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spring Break in March 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Spring Break in March 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great place to stay. Very clean staff was wonderful. So close to the beach closer walk then many a high-rise hotel had, just a walk across the road. Right on the bus line took it to Arashi beach to snorkel twice! Snorkeled with all the tourists who paid big bucks for their time, and they stayed only 20 minutes. Very safe, packed a lunch and enjoyed the beach too. Super foods grocery store was so close and amazing! An easy walk. Rented the bikes too and felt safe biking into town. Will definitely be returning to Aruba! Always felt safe and water and food were great! It's a place where you can relax and chill or book yourself busy! Buses were easy to do and they always took American money. The high-rise beach was fun to visit but eagle beach is definitely quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: It's nice to have a room facing the pool and Oceanside. Many rooms face the back but we had one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mstravelbuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed Aruba is a safe destination and the Amsterdam Manor Staff makes it even more welcoming for you. We try to make you feel at home away from home and we are sure that you have had a relaxing time at the Eagle Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,501
    455
    111
    51
    28
See reviews for
426
1,304
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed at the Amsterdam Manor for the last full week in March. We will not be returning. It wasn't awful, just mediocre.

What we liked:

1. The location was almost perfect for a beach lover. Right across the road from an uncrowded beach with sun, clean sand and plenty of chairs.

2. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful.

3. Mango's restaurant had a split personality. The buffet breakfast was poor with dry eggs, lousy pan cakes and french toast. Dinner, on the other hand, was very good with tasty dishes and large portions. Be prepared, however, for very slow service if on busy nights. We ate lunch at Passions on the Beach several times and were happy with everything. We did not eat at Passions for dinner.

4. A large supermarket (Super Food) is within a 5-8 minute walk of the hotel allowing us to purchases meals at decent prices. For a simple delicious breakfast, eat at the cafe just inside the entrance. It is both better an cheaper that that at Mangos.

What we did not like:

1. The rooms were no more than glorified motel rooms. The furniture was plain and serviceable. The kitchenette was tiny and poorly laid out. The so called veranda was tiny and barely fit a lounge chair and table with chairs. The beds were comfortable. There are no sills on the showers and, except for some rolled up bath mats, water would have leaked all over the bathroom. Water pressure was almost non existent.

2. The coffee in the restaurants and in the rooms was uniformly awful, both bitter and weak.

3. The pool was tiny and only 4 feet deep, more suited to children than adults. As all of the pool umbrellas had tables attached to the center poll, one got little of no shade when using the pool lounges.

4. The room service menu consists of two appetizers, two entrees and two deserts despite the restaurant menus being quite extensive. How to you have a caesar salad with no anchovies in the dressing and tastes like it was made with mayonnaise (argghh).

Considering the price we paid, this hotel was a poor value.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank outsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We're very sorry to hear your stay with us wasn't what you expected. Although we try to comply with every guest needs we can read that we did not meet your expectation. We would like to thank you for your positive and negative comments, so in the future we will keep on improving our service.

We do think we have a nice resort, rooms and facilities and most importantly as you have mention a friendly staff. Most of the guest that stay with us share this opinion too. Also our water pressure is controlled with aerators in all rooms to reduce the water flow but maintaining sufficient pressure. We are sorry to hear you experienced the water pressure as too low, but this is one of the ways how we contribute to the environment because we are a green hotel.

We hope that despite the inconveniences, you still enjoyed your stay on Aruba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Preston, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We spent 8 perfect nights at the AM from 2-21/3-01. We stayed in 108A and couldn't of asked for a better location! The resort was exceptionally clean, the people were very friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed Mangos, "love ya Quintin" and Passions on the Beach. Had an outstanding time with Peter the bartender at Horizons at the resort. They have a great happy hour every day from 5-6 and 9-10. They also have a managers cocktail party with free appetizers and lots of fun!
The rooms are very clean, and the maids even leave Dove chocolates on your bed every evening.We checked out the high rise section while we were there and were so glad we had decided to stay at the AM! They treat you like family and it's so less crowded on the beach. I could go on and on on how much we loved it!Eagle beach is a great beach...white sand, clean and clear water and you can walk for quite a ways. We will def be back again next year and booking at the Amsterdam Manor!!! ! Thank you for making our first trip to Aruba so enjoyable. It def wont be our last! Allan & Nancy
P.S. The sunsets at dinner are amazing!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a bottom floor room! Perfect for everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Allan and Nancy thank you for taking the time to leave a nice review. Our staff works very hard providing you great service so you can enjoy a wonderful vacation experience. As you mentioned the beach is beautiful and it is truly relaxing.
We will be waiting for your next trip to Aruba and the Amsterdam Manor and we hope to see you one more time at our famous cocktail party. Thank you very much for your feedback and for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The staff was very friendly, but the location is by the road so it's not an isolated place. The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff also friendly.

The restaraunt that the build by the sea every night is a nice but expensive experience. Aruba is very pricey all an all. A nice hotel, but with the money paid we could've had a better hotel on another island.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for leaving your comment for us. As you have mentioned we are situated by the road, however it is not a concern for most of our guest as the walking distance is not far from the beach compare to various other resort on island.
Thank you for your comment regarding our cleanliness of our rooms; we try to do our outmost best so that every guest can feel as comfortable as possible in their room. We regret that you felt that you could have invested your money elsewhere, but we hope that you still had a lovely stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I just got back from my first trip to Aruba and we stayed 7 nights at Amsterdam Manor from March 18th - March 25th. Our flight landed in Aruba at around 1pm so we got to the hotel fairly early and our room was not ready yet. So we went across the street and had lunch at Passions which is affiliated with the hotel. I loved how close the beautiful Eagle Beach is to the Manor and Passions does serve some pretty good food and snacks as well as drinks.

There were a few hiccups with our stay but all of them were addressed by the staff at the Manor. First was the check-in, I believe regular check-in time was 4pm, since we got there early we just waited along with the rest of the people who arrived early as well but as 4pm approached it seemed as though everyone else was sent to their rooms except for us. We booked a Standard Studio with partial ocean view. The staff didn't address what the delay was but just kept telling us that our room will be ready soon or in 10 minutes...let's just say quite a few 10 minutes passed by before we were able to go to our room. I think we checked in around 5pm.

The next two issues was with our balcony door and our shower. We were told our balcony door was not functioning correctly and it needed to be fixed (and this might have been what caused the delay in checking in). So they advised us to not open the door for the time being, which was fine. They fixed the door the next day while we were out on the beach, so that was addressed fairly quickly.

The issue with the shower was that the water temperature was not stable. It would go from very cold to very hot on it's own. So you can imagine this made showering very difficult and especially with sunburns, when that water suddenly got really hot it hurt! We mentioned this issue to the front desk a couple of times before they finally got maintenance to come take a look. So we did have to endure a few days of this shower situation.

They said that the whole faucet for the shower or piping had to be fixed or replaced because the room above us was having the same issue as well. So, they decided to move us to a new room for the remainder of our stay and offered us a complimentary breakfast at Mango's. The new room was a slight upgrade because it seemed like a Deluxe Studio with a private sitting area in the front. We did appreciate how the situation was handled but we just wished it didn't take 3 days.

Overall, the staff at Amsterdam Manor is very friendly and nice as with the rest of the locals on this happy island. There are two restaurants affiliated with this hotel Mango's and Passions. The service at Mango's can be a little slow during the dinner rush. Both places serve pretty good food. Breakfast is served at Mango's for an additional $17.50 per person.

And lastly, I thought it was such an interesting gesture for the housekeeping staff to bring us 2 dove chocolates every evening at around 7pm. It definitely made our trip that much sweeter.

Thank you to everyone at Amsterdam Manor!
Mr. & Mrs. Li

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissStacieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs. Li,

Thank you very much for your feedback and sharing your experiences. Our apologies for your inconveniences that you have encountered during check in, balcony door and the shower problem. We will address these comments to the manager in charge to prevent this in the future. We will for sure send your compliments regarding the food to the chef’s and the housekeeping department. We’re happy to hear that besides your inconveniences you enjoyed your stay and glad you choose us as your vacation destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Amsterdam Manor and they did not disappoint. They continue to maintain the high standard they have set for themselves. From Samuel at the beach to Juan at the restaurants and Vincent at the bar everyone is friendly and gracious. The one thing that impresses me the most and will keep me coming back is the people and the cleanliness. They do a fantastic job keeping the place maintained and take pride in the resort. Eagle beach is a great beach...white sand, clean and clear water and you can walk for quite a ways. We will be back again next year!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
It is so great to read when our guest go back home satisfied. Thank you for your posting and for the compliments of our staff. We will be welcoming you back next year for your 3rd trip to the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, IA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our family of 6 stayed at the AM March 16, 2014 for a week. We had the two room suite, which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. This was our first time in Aruba, and we would come back and stay at the AM again! The kitchen was very nice and we ate in a lot of our meals to save some money, as it is pretty expensive to eat out in Aruba. The really nice thing about this resort is the super food grocery store is a 5 minute walk, making shopping for groceries so easy as we did not have a car. The resort was always sparkling clean, very friendly staff everywhere we went, and nice amenities. We rented snorkel equipment from the front desk for $5 for a mask, and snorkeled right off the beach near the rocks and saw lots of cool stuff. You can also rent bikes for $10 per day! Good deal! We LOVED the beach, nicest one in Aruba! Several days we walked to the high rise hotels for various excursions (1-2 mile walk, depending on where you were going) and it was crowded, busy and not as nice of a beach. Eagle beach was quiet, not crowded at all, plenty to do as far as water sport rentals, etc. We never worried about "getting a chair" on the beach, and whenever we showed up there was plenty of chairs available, and foam floatation rafts for free! We rode the bus a few times to get us around the island, which is super easy, cheap, and the bus stop is right in front of the AM. We ate at Mango's for dinner one night and the food and service was outstanding! REALLY, REALLY good experience at the AM - we just loved it! We had a nice balcony overlooking the beach and ocean, with a little table and chairs, and two lounge chairs also. Oh, the bathrooms are pretty nice, new, modern, which is important to me! Wi-fi is spotty, but you're on vacation! The walk across the street to the beach is literally closer than the walk from the high rises that are on the beach because they are set back so far. We will be back - we loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgenambr, Manager at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
As you have mentioned the resort has a friendly staff, the resort is always clean, the food is great, the beach is quite and relaxing, and we offer nice amenities.
We try to focus on giving you as our guest the best memorable experience possible and we hope to see you and your family back soon enjoying the beach life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
2.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
2.5 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Property: Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach 00000, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing