We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Have Been Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Could Have Been Better”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Really wanted to love this resort but it just fell short in too many areas. At a high level below is how it stacked up for us:

Pros:
1. Beautiful rooms with convenient in-room amenities (fridge, microwave, steam shower).
2. The staff was top notch. Housekeeping in particular went over and above every day and people genuinely seemed to love their jobs and were happy to be there.
3. The gift shop was one of the best we’ve visited. It was well stocked with everything you could need and was very reasonably priced.

Cons:
1. Absolutely hated the food. Not only were the choices limited, it was disappointing to not have more higher end seafood on the menu. I’ve never stayed at a hotel in the Caribbean that did not have lobster and crab dishes on the menu every day. I’ve also never had to leave to go off property to get food. Usually I’m spoiled for choice and can’t get enough of the selection.
2. Would have loved to have more life after dark. The place was so quiet and like a ghost town as soon as the sun went down.
3. In-room wi-fi and cable didn’t work half the time. This coupled with the lack of things happening at night made for very boring evenings.

With a few tweaks I think this place would be a top contender so hopefully management sees this review and makes a few changes as we plan to head back to Aruba next year and would give it another shot if the negatives were turned around.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach so I don't think there are any bad ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anndiea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreyaManchebo, Quality Assurance Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your suggestions and feedback.
Were sorry to hear that we fell short in certain areas.
I would like to highlight your positive feedback first. Were glad that our rooms were very convenient and our staff was 'top notch'. I will pass your compliments to our gift shop.

I would like to take the opportunity to comment on your cons.
As for Lobster we feature it nightly at the French Steakhouse and we organize a Lobster Night at both restaurants every Monday evening with lots of appetizer and main courses to choose from. Both restaurants feature daily Red Snapper, Chilean Seabass, Grouper, Mahi-Mahi and Shrimp dishes to choose from.
I'm happy to inform you that we just opened 'Omakase Sushi Bar' located in the French Steakhouse for some additional seafood options.

In regards to the nightlife we perform most evenings of the week live musicians during dinner time and Happy Hour.

Please rest assured that this review is brought to the attention of Higher Management. We take all feedback serious and we will look into the changes that can be made.

Thanks again for the feedback. The team is always ready to further improve the vacation experience. See you back next year to give it another shot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    499
    124
    27
    21
See reviews for
297
1,680
59
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I posted earlier on Ikes Bistro where I expressed disappointment. There was an immediate response by Manchebo's General Catering Manager, Gerald Sarmiento. Gerald was very keen to put things right and showed a very high regard for customer care. Having posted on Trip Advisor we came back to our room the following day to a bottle of champagne and a sincere apology. We were also invited to speak to Gerald and arrange a return to the restaurant as his guest.
Those reading other posts will know that the Manchebo is a popular location for weddings and for honeymooners and this is not surprising because the beach front and facilities are excellent. We were on our way back from the beach and saw a table beautifully laid out with flowers and a champagne bucket and wondered what lucky couple this could be for. Well, it was for us! Mr Sarmiento had organised the most superb and romantic dining experience for myself and partner, starting with the launch of a new Manchebo cocktail. A delightfully light Gazpacho soup started the meal, followed by a pan-seared sea bass with prawn bisque to die for. We were introduced to the Chef, Ever de Pena , who follows Molecular gastronomy.There were subtle as well as complex flavours with the sea bass. The meal was visually appealing and the presentation showed innovation, and quality. Hats off to Gerald for turning it around and hats off to to Trip Advisor. Mr Sarmiento is a very ambitious young man who understands the importance of a quality dining experience for the customer. The message is clear. If your experience falls short of expectations Gerald and Manchebo will put it right.
As for the other facilities; the room was very clean and comfy. The bed was perfect. The water pressure was very good and tons of hot water. The air conditioning worked wonders and was very quiet. The spa is also very nice. The staff were wonderful, helpful, considerate and extremely friendly whenever we interacted with them. We had bed and breakfast only so we could have freedom of choice but most returning guests recommended the all inclusive for enjoying the food and drinks to their fullest. The bar with great lunch and drink menus is close by with a nice pool right beside. We dined for our last evening in the The French Steakhouse and the Lobster Thermidor was fantastic.

The staff at the Mancebo are friendly and courteous, the rooms are cleaned daily and overall it was perfect for a restful holiday.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stay there .....have been at Manchebo many times. The employees treat you like family and taxi service is exceptional. We have also used rent-a
-car and it is not difficult to get around. It is beneficial to take an island tour on your first visit.

Room Tip: We prefer first floor, ocean view with patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AIH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreyaManchebo, Quality Assurance Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Masha Danki for returning to Manchebo many times!
It's great to hear our employees treat you like family and make you feel at home.
We do have the privilege to have Topcar car rental on property, which makes it easy for our guests to rent a car.
I do agree with your recommendation to take an island tour on the first visit to have a better impression of our beautiful island.
See you back soon again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Manchebo Beach Resort was amazing. Most other visitors were there on their second, third, or more visit. Staff was incredibly friendly, beach was breathtaking, food was delicious, overall, it was a fantastic location and visit!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eWineTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreyaManchebo, Quality Assurance Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your review!
Their has to be a first time for everything and we are glad you choose our Resort for your vacation.
We do have indeed a lot of repeating guests that come to Manchebo sometimes for over 20yrs.
I'm happy to read that you had an amazing vacation.
Join the club and next time you won't be a newby anymore;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We went to Manchebo Beach Resort for the first time April 2013, the staff and accommodations were FABULOUS!!! We got to really know them and they always treated you like family...to the point where we returned in June 2014, with the same couple and they brought their two teenage sons this time. It was the same welcoming if not MORE, cause they all remembered us. Spending our days on the absolutely beautiful beach and being served by everyone at Pega Pega...especially Fanny (what a love) was great, and our evening dinners at Ike's Bistro with our very own waitress both years Jean with her outstanding service and attentiveness to us by remembering our favorite dishes and of course the drinks which I am sure was not easy as our group would tend to try a little of everything...and she had a lot of other travelers to tend to as well and always had that great big smile and giggle to make you feel right at home!!! We also visited Frank's Steakhouse for their amazing Black Angus Filet....Mmmmm melt in your mouth...and of course our after dinner evening time with Lincoln, Nacio and Pheobius laughing and enjoying cocktails..Long story can't wait to go back and see them again!!! Cathy M. Woburn, MA

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was somewhat reserved about our trip to Aruba this year once I found out the Westin had closed/was sold as I had stayed there the last 6 years....and this was a new experience to a place I had never stayed at before. Needless to stay ...from the word "go" I was highly impressed by Manchebo Beach Resort and Spa. The facilities were great/clean/well maintained...the beach fantastic...the people were very friendly and accommodating..and the food was spectacular!!!! I was on the All Inclusive Plan and I never suffered from a lack of choices!!! I would like to recognize some of the associates who were fantastic in both their professionalism as well as friendliness...Carmen (the bartender extraordinaire!!)...Nayo, William, Joraine, Norleans (and all the staff at Ike's/French Steak House). I very much appreciated their hospitality and diligence to making sure everything was right!!! The food and beverage manager Gerald was excellent....always looking around to make sure everything was going well. Thank you Manchebo...I WILL be back next year. Carmen please keep the Balshi "Chills" cold for me!!! Bon Bini!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreyaManchebo, Quality Assurance Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank your for your lovely review!
It's great to hear that you had a fantastic stay at our Resort.
We appreciate you recognizing our Associates in their professionalism as well as friendliness.
We are looking forward to welcome you back next year. The Balashi Chills will be waiting for you already;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
585 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Manchebo Beach Resort is situated on Eagle Beach...which is fabulous white sand.

We visited the Manchebo for an evening meal, and were so impressed that we returned.The menu was excellent, the service a little slow, but hey we were on holiday.

On the second visit the Manchebo had an amazing sax player, playing whilst we ate our dinner, what a lovely surprise, and it just added an additional touch to the overall dining experience.

A great place to eat, when in ARUBA.

Room Tip: All appear to be facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freddy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreyaManchebo, Quality Assurance Manager at Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review about our food.
It's great to hear that you were impressed with your dinner experience.
I will forward the comment in regards to our service to our F&B Manager. We appreciate all feedback in order to improve our services.
Hope to see you back again while vacationing in Aruba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.1 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,517 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,816 reviews
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,237 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
616 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 55, Palm - Eagle Beach 99999, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Caribbean vacation experience begins at our intimate, 2-story boutique resort located on the shores of majestic Eagle Beach, an ideal place for romantic and rejuvenating getaways. The Deluxe Ocean and Deluxe Garden View Rooms offer attention to details and amenities, including spa-like bathrooms offering a rain/waterfall shower. The wellness experience includes a beach-side exotic Caribbean-Balinese style spa offering a variety of massages, body treatments as well as yoga & Pilates classes and fitness room. Optional premium fully a-la-carte all-inclusive program available featuring Ike's Bistro, The Chophouse and Omakase Sushi Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchebo Beach Resort And Spa
Manchebo Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing