We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More positives than negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa Linda Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More positives than negatives”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Timeshare unit was from Sunday to Sunday. Arrived at resort at 3:45pm. Check-in was after 4.
Room was not ready until after 5:30. Front desk had long lines upon arrival which is to be expected. No debt cards cards are accepted, only a credit card. Thank goodness, I took ours along. Once room available very nice suite. Lots of storage, full kitchen with stove and refrigerator.
Washer and dryer on each floor. Beach white sand, gift shops and restaurants on site as well as mini market. Which is pricey. Room had candles supplied, which should tell you something. Went to supermarket and bought air fresher for room. Pool small. Now the positives, views are amazings, location tremendous, restaurants excellent. Ate at Amuse twice. No bugs, always a breeze. People wonderful. Planning on going back to Playa Linda next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    200
    38
    7
    10
See reviews for
514
326
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, va
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

By chance my wife and I stumbled on to a great Happy hour deal at the Playa Linda Lobby Bar - near the end of the strip/Mall area. They advertise several drinks at 2 for $8....those who've been to Aruba know that's a good deal there. It runs from 6-10 in the evening. The bartender's name is Ray and he's a Cuban transplant who take's pride in his craft and customer service. He plays maracas and other accompanying instruments to whatever - cool Island music he has playing. It's quaint, quiet and the drinks are the bomb. If you or your companions like frozen drinks - they are Ray's specialty. Stop by and see him - you'll be glad you did. PS tell him terry sent you!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senoia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We first went to Playa Linda years ago and loves it so much we purchased a timeshare. The great thing about Aruba: you don't have bugs or mosquitos, you don't have to worry about hurricanes, and while warm, there is always a nice breeze (sometimes strong breeze). Playa Linda has just recently updated all the rooms and everything is well maintained. Most owners go back year after year creating a real family environment. You can walk to many great restuarants. The food is international and great quality. Aruba is very safe and the locals are very friendly. We like to travel to various destinations but we will always so back here.

Room Tip: Rooms that are in the courtyard (interior) have pool and ocean view. Some of the outside rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed here for Fathers Day week. We took the penthouse! Our kids had a great time! The establishment is situated directly on the beach at the rear of the property & directly across the street from the mall in the front of the property. You could ask for a better location. The staff is pretty slow at assisting and finding answers to any questions. It's a little frustrating, but if may just be us coming from a metropolitan area. We enjoyed our entire stay, the beaches are delightful, nothing to complain about, the weather was perfect all week. Great restaurants and great entertainment along the beach, casinos, water show @ the mall. So much to see and do or just relax! Water exercise every morning in the pool!!! Bingo @ the poolside bar for the whole family twice a day!! We definitely will return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1JerseyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

while staying at the Marriot, we stumbled on this gem during a walk along the beach and were immediately taken by its charm and proximity to the beach. Perfectly located, the resort is smaller than the other large chains, and has the essential feel of what a beach resort should be. We've returned there seven years, where we meet the same people each year, many of whom have come each year since the resort opened. We have only stayed in the one bedroom units, which were perfect for our young family of five. The units have very adequate cooking appliances, perfect for breakfast and lunch, and refrigerators are large enough to keep the cocktails cold. We've never had a problem with air conditioning. Resort is perfectly located for nearby formal and informal restaurants and casinos. We typically rent from owners which can be found on the hotels website.

Room Tip: higher floors are best, clarify view before renting, try and get a room with a pool and sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My husband and I came here because we had a family member’s time-share transfer. We had a great stay here!! I will say we would give it more of a 4 star ratin, the rooms are nice but not 5 star hotel quality. However, they are perfect for the amount of time we spent in our room - which wasn't much. The room was comfortable and the maid staff was amazing and so pleasant. The beach was nice and the water area in front was clean and so nice to swim in. The beach bar was nice and convenient, they had “happy hour” specials between 12-4pm and again in the evening, their bartenders had amazing personalities and we enjoyed being at the bar with them! The restaurants on site are outstanding loved the atmosphere at Azzurro was very nice along with the food. The hotel concierge helped us with several “excursions” and she was wonderful and helpful. We had a great honeymoon and nothing bad to say about Playa Linda, we would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

First the positive: Great location, comfortable rooms, family friendly. Many teen programs going on every day. When the temp control motor in our room broke down leaving us without air conditioner, we were quickly given access to another room nearby, so our vacation was not interrupted.
As for WI FI we got plenty of free internet access in Carlitos, the nearby bar and grill literary outside our hut, on the right end of the resort, across from the Pelican Bar. Carlitos also delivered our lunch right at the beach and the drinks were great and reasonably priced. Happy hour at the nearby Pelican bar (4-6 pm) made us very happy! Also the Italian restaurant right on the premises had good inexpensive drinks, nice view but mediocre food
We tried parasailing with the company right in front of Carlitos bar but it was very windy and not very enjoyable. Snorkeling with the small boat (Delphi) by the same vendor, was very average and felt cramped for 40 passengers. It also only made 2 stops instead of the customary 3 of bigger boats
We really liked riding the "chariot" where "the more you scream the faster you go".We got dunked in the water once and it was money well spent
Now the negative: The front desk staff were mostly cold and indifferent. We were asked to move to another room for the last night and the second room had a terrible odor of a dead animal. (Thankfully we were there only one night or else we'd have to move again)
Upon check out they messed up the dates and tried to charge an extra night that was paid already. Incidentally, when I called the resort before our travel they confirmed the reservation and the dates but now they were changing their tune asking for more money. Thankfully the issue was quickly resolved and they told us "we are all set and we can go". No apologies and no explanations of what happened
In the beginning of our stay we entertained the thought to buy a timeshare (before the odor fiasco) but the indifferent approach of the time share rep turned us off and glad we didn't buy
All in all it's a nicely located resort with a lot of potential but unfortunately not customer friendly or welcoming. Will try a different place to stay next time in Aruba

Room Tip: Try a lanai or first floor room, especially convenient for families with small children they have ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annkir02021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLBRARUBA, Front Office Manager at Playa Linda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay and for taking your time to leave a review. We greatly appreciate your business and sincerely apologize for our shortcomings. We learn from feedback both positive and negative.

We, too, were disappointed that we did not meet all your expectations and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your room and the interaction from my front office staff. We have several new front office staff members and we are aware that they need more training. We value you as a Playa Linda guest and hope to regain your confidence.

To that end, we hope you will once again return to our resort, allowing us another opportunity to serve you in the manner you have come to expect from Playa Linda Beach Resort.
Again, I am so sorry that your visit with us was less than you had hoped. I thank you for your feedback and sincerely hope you will visit with us again in the near future. Do contact me personally so we can give you a special arrangement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Linda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Linda Beach Resort

Property: Playa Linda Beach Resort
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 87, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Linda Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Linda Beach Resort offers you all of the unspoiled pleasures of tropical island vacationing at it's best. Situated directly on World renowned white sand Palm Beach one of Aruba's finest and overlooking six miles of breathtaking Caribbean coastline. You'll especially enjoy the resort's swimming pool featuring a lovely waterfall and lush, tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Linda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Linda Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Playa Linda Beach
Playa Linda Aruba
Playa Linda Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing