We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort in a prime location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Linda Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort in a prime location!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The Playa Linda is a beautifully maintained resort situated in the heart of Palm Beach, within walking distance to a variety of shops and restaurants. This is the second time we have stayed here and we would gladly return again! There were plenty of "chickees" on the beach, although you have to get there at 7am if you want one in the front closest to the water. Kirk, one of the beach concierges, was a "champion" at helping guests get lounge chairs or whatever was needed. There are many vendors along one of the piers that you can walk up to for snorkeling, parasailing paddle boards etc. Our only complaint was the air conditioning was not working properly. In fact, one day they warned everyone it would be completely shut off for repairs, however it didn't seem to alleviate the problem. It was cool in the room, but not could enough for us-I kept waking up at night because it was too warm. Otherwise, our 1 bedroom suite was clean, and had been updated recently. We were glad for the small kitchen because we got groceries for breakfast and lunch so that we could save some money. Overall, this is a very nice place to stay and we would return to Aruba and the Playa Linda again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cbow226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    197
    38
    7
    10
See reviews for
503
321
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
210 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I read all the reviews before we went to Playa Linda and was skeptical that one place could be that good. Well it is. The grounds are beautiful and are constantly being cleaned. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Water aerobics with Gladys was a lot of fun. She is so energetic and happy. Her enthusiasm is contagious. The staff down at the beach bar is great. Sassy made sure the drinks were flowing and Diego made the best mango coladas. Lunch at the Beach Bar was a nice break from sitting out in the sun. My one negative is getting a chickee at the beach. The rule is you go down between 6:00 -7:00 am, yes I said am, to reserve your chickee (a shaded hut). I was proud that I got down at 6:20 am to reserve my chickee. Boy was I surprised when half of them were already taken. Why?? Because people go down before 6:00 to hold their choice chickee. Rubert was my "chickee angel" . He helped me get a good spot and also told me how the system worked. While there is free coffee, having to get up so early is ridiculous. FYI, the chickees at the pool are not as popular, so if you are a pool person you can sleep in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkLucille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I had our first visit to Aruba and loved the island. We had planned to stay at Westin and were moved to Playa Linda...I will start by saying the property is gorgeous, maybe the best on Palm Beach, the staff was wonderful, and the room was very nice. We are a well traveled couple, having been all over the world in all sorts of accommodations within all cultures...however the guests(Time share owners) at Play Linda were among the rudest and most juvenile (especially for 50-70 year olds) we have ever encountered. I would not recommend to any first-timer or non-time-share owner to stay at Playa Linda. The absurdity of the "Chickee Rules" to get a beach hut, are a strange and immature culture amongst the guests. People get up at 3am and race to the beach to get the best huts, and if on the off chance a newbie gets a good hut... they are nasty to you, and talk about you at a close distance all day. It took away from the vacation, and made it more like a childish day at high school. Maybe other weeks of the year are more "adult" but from what other guests and nearby vendors told us- it always goes on, and sometimes leads to fist fights...for a vacation hut on the beach... Great romantic, safe and beautiful island, but I would not go back to Playa Linda.

Room Tip: All rooms were nice...try to get ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Woodman9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haledon, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Playa Linda is our home away from home. We purchased our timeshares in 1990. We've been to most other Caribbean locales, but this is the best of them all. We spend everyday at the beach and make new friends every day. Our beachboy Kirk McKenzie is our "Champion". If you have ever been here, you know who he is. The most friendly and accommodating person there! You will never have a bad time at the Playa Linda!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Playa Linda is a home away from home. One of the best time shares in Aruba. We meet family.
and friends each year and have a wonderful time. The staff is the best and is so friendly and the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My family and I have been going to Playa Linda since it was built in the 1980s and love it more each year. Location, location, location: Playa Linda was built smack-dab in the center of Palm Beach, Aruba's so-called "high-rise" resort area. High-rise is relative, as Playa Linda tops out at seven floors. We have watched Palm Beach grow up around Playa Linda, and the area is now a bustling hub with two shopping centers and many restaurants and casinos within easy walking distance. Playa Linda, by virtue of its location and decision not to include a casino on the premises, remains a wonderful, low-key place for families to enjoy the beautiful beach that is steps away from your unit. This is a timeshare, where all units have kitchens and balconies and even the studies are larger than hotel rooms. There is a mini-market on premises so you can stock your unit with basics for breakfast and/or lunch, and grills available if you want to have dinner in. There are also a couple of fine restaurants on premises -- Amuse Bistro serves a wonderful variety of food that is available in appetizer or entree-sized portions and is great for people-watching, and Azzuro serves solid Italian food and has a gorgeous view overlooking the beach and ocean. When owners plan not to use the week they purchased, they often rent it out through management so occasionally units are available to non-owners. It's definitely worth inquiring if you are planning to visit Aruba!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArubaAlex2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were guests at the Playa Linda, because we have a friend who has a time share there. The accommodations are very nice! The restaurants, especially Azzuras is excellent! The staff goes "out of their way" to help you. My husband had an earache, and they picked up ear drops for him. The recreation staff is wonderful. The water aerobics / bingo caller is very personable . She is friendly and our-going. This is a great place to vacation in every aspect!

Room Tip: The higher the floor....the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,866 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,690 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,991 reviews
2.5 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Linda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Linda Beach Resort

Property: Playa Linda Beach Resort
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 87, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Linda Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Linda Beach Resort offers you all of the unspoiled pleasures of tropical island vacationing at it's best. Situated directly on World renowned white sand Palm Beach one of Aruba's finest and overlooking six miles of breathtaking Caribbean coastline. You'll especially enjoy the resort's swimming pool featuring a lovely waterfall and lush, tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Linda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Linda Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Playa Linda Beach
Playa Linda Aruba
Playa Linda Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing