We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for couples or families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playa Linda Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We took a family vacation and stayed in Playa Linda. It has a prime spot on the beach and every room has a fantastic view. The resort is in the heart of the hotel district -- a short walk or cab ride away from countless restaurants, with casinos in the hotels next door. The staff was great and our kids loved the Playa Linda Kids Club, where Yvette and her team took excellent care of them whenever they wanted a break from the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

After many visits to Aruba I decided to do what most Americans do and that is to buy myself a little piece of heaven. After purchasing a one-bedroom unit I never looked back. The Playa Linda exludes elegrance and is located in the heart of the high rise hotels. Book your trip soon or better yet purchase a unit soon.............you will not be disappointmented

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room...........ALL rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kerri g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed for only two nights, three days as we arrived before our timeshare week began at another location. We stayed in a 2nd floor, 1-bedroom unit. Playa Linda was under major construction as they were renovating one of their pools and our view was directly above the construction.

Pros: Awesome location in the heart of the Palm Beach including a stone-throw from the Pelican Pier. Beach was steps away from the pool area. Friendly staff managed the pool/beach needs of the guests quite efficiently. Several on-site shops including a market for traveler necessities. A beach-side bar and grill, pool-side restaurant, and street-side open-air eatery were all available. Laundry facilities are accessible to each floor. Spa & concierge are also on-site. Not a far walk from any room to on-site facilities.

Cons: The beach area is small and one must get up at 6am to secure a beach "chickie." [We're told that during high-season it is much more competitive.] In general, non-beach resort staff are friendly but respond very slowly especially at the front desk. A number of on-site facilities like the concierge & market were chronically closed. If you needed such services, you'd have to go to the front desk & then wait for someone to assist. Simple requests were met with much waiting. Not only was wireless access available at a premium, but there was no public computer/internet access available to guests. We had to leave the resort and cross the street to just about any restaurant to go online to locate and book activities.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The resort is old but well-maintained. The guests are mostly frequent-flyers (timeshare owners) and very sociable. Junior, a front desk manager, was very welcoming and helpful during our check-in. This resort has a much more intimate feel as opposed to others we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Request a beach view. Make sure you're on the 2nd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bea_Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Went to Aruba for a destination wedding and I and some other family members stayed at the Playa Linda. Some other relatives stayed in other nearby Aruba resorts but I think those of us who stayed at the Playa Linda got the best deal. The hotel was great and it's right on one of Aruba's best beaches. Advice: get up early and get down to the beach by 7 am for coffee, beach towels, and to reserve a "chickee" (thatched beach umbrella structure) and your chaise lounges for the day. The free hotel coffee is good, but there is also a Dunkin Donuts outlet on the beach and another one across the street from the hotel, next to Baskin-Robbins. The pool area is nice (not quite as breathtakingly-gorgeous as some of the other more expensive hotels nearby, but it's very very nice - no complaints at all. No swim-up bar- you have to get out and walk a few steps. What a chore!! It's great if you have kids, but the pool's too small to swim laps (use the Caribbean for that). Didn't try the whirlpool spa.

One of the best features is its location. Unlike some other Aruba resorts, there is no road between the hotel and the beach - the beach is right there! But, within an easy walk, there is just about everything a vacationer could want: restaurants, a small but very convenient shopping mall, the hotel parking lot (free for hotel guests).

We sampled some of the hotel's restaurants and the ones we tried were good. The Pelican Nest sits on a pier on the edge of the property. It was good. Prices in Aruba's restaurants are expensive by home standards but typical or reasonable by resort/vacation standards. We rented one, but you really don't need a rental car. There are buses and taxis that you can catch right in front of the hotel. And there's not much need to travel anywhere when you stay at the Playa Linda. Everything you need is within walking distance, or a quick easy bus/taxi ride away (much cheaper). Driving is not a problem in Aruba - there are only a couple of main roads, so you won't get lost, and there's really no need for most vacationers to travel outside the hotel resort and downtown areas. The airport is an easy ride by taxi, so skip the car. If you really do want to see the island's sights, I recommend the 6-hour air-conditioned bus tour (De Palm Tours) that will take you all around to the main sights and give you a nice lunch. Bring your own snorkeling gear if you want to do that at the end.

The only complaint we had about the Playa Linda was that part of the pool area was under construction (August 2014) and neither Expedia nor the hotel never let us know that in advance. They are building an additional pool and a play area for children. Digging the pool meant small construction vehicles were constantly moving THROUGH THE OUTDOOR HOTEL LOBBY AREA carrying loads of dirt to a dumpster parked out front. There was some noise and busy construction traffic between 9am-4pm but it didn't really bother us that much. In fact, it was kind of entertaining to watch the construction from our balcony. The rooms have good sound-proofing, so an afternoon nap wasn't disturbed. The hotel handled the disruption as well as could be as expected.
Our 1-br suite was fantastic. The bed was big and comfortable, nice sitting area with cable TV, futon and sofa-bed, nicely air conditioned, a nice hotel-type bathroom, a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, full stove/oven, toaster oven, and post & pans, dishes, silverware, etc. All you need to cook meals is there. There's a small mini-mart right in the hotel to buy food items - not cheap but they really didn't gouge us either - about what you'd expect to pay in any nice hotel. You won't save much if you drive to nearby supermarkets. We bought bagels, cream cheese, and OJ and it was an easy quick breakfast that got us out and down to the beach early each morning. (You can buy full breakfasts on site if you want). Coffeemaker (but no coffee or coffee supplies) in the room. You can buy it if you want or just get free coffee at the beach. Staff was friendly and helpful and conversant in English and Spanish.

I strongly recommend Smokey Joe's restaurant across the street. Some of the best ribs anywhere. Not cheap but worth every nickel.

Room Tip: I suppose higher floors would offer better views, but all rooms seem to have a view. We were happy o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JandEGranitebay_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was a great trip back in the summer of 2013. My older sister treated my younger sister and I to a Senior Trip to Aruba, along with another one of our sisters and a family friend. We had such a great time at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cwestwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I have been going to playa Linda for over 15 years and I just love it.the front deSk staff is great they are always very helpful. Thanks to junior,Lutmila,diandra and Evelina at the front desk for all there help. Kurt at the beach is always very friendly and nice and always remembers how many lounge chairs I need for the day and sassy at the bar mAkes a great drink.playa Linda is a great place for families and adults as there is always something for everyone

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have been staying at the Playa Linda for the last 12 years and every year it gets better and better. The overall staff is amazing with their attention to detail and willingness to do everything in their power to be helpful. Our room attendant, Monica Liverpool, is unfailingly prompt and attentive. She always makes sure that our room is neat and clean. The beach attendants are also great. Because of my husband's particular handicap, there are only a few palapas he can sit under. They made sure to reserve one for him for the duration of our stay. We can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Smclellan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,284 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
860 reviews
2.5 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Linda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Linda Beach Resort

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 87, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: £174 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Linda Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Linda Beach Resort offers you all of the unspoiled pleasures of tropical island vacationing at it's best. Situated directly on World renowned white sand Palm Beach one of Aruba's finest and overlooking six miles of breathtaking Caribbean coastline. You'll especially enjoy the resort's swimming pool featuring a lovely waterfall and lush, tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Linda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Linda Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Playa Linda Beach
Playa Linda Aruba
Playa Linda Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing