We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large resort, many pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Large resort, many pros and cons”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is probably the largest resort we've ever stayed at. It was clean enough and accommodating because of it's size however travelling with a toddler wasn't always easy when staying on the 7th floor. Food was average, nothing compared to some other resorts we've stayed at. The beach was the best spot to be with a little one as the "kiddie pool" was disgusting and looked more like an ashtray. The unfortunate part was having to reserve a palapa by 7am or you were out of luck. Fortunately we were traveling with a large group and someone was always able to get down there in enough time. We didn't have enough shade for the little ones on a particularly hot day and ended up having to rent one which I believe was $25/day. Aruba is beautiful and we'll definitely return, for the price however probably not to this resort. There is nothing for kids under 5 but for kids old enough to partake in the water sports and pool activities there is plenty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,823
    1,783
    717
    332
    312
See reviews for
1,515
3,134
66
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We came from Georgia on a 6 night honeymoon and it was fantastic. The first impression was an instant upgrade, FREE OF CHARGE, from the junior suite to the king suite. The room was stunning and very clean! The amenities offered were top notch and the whole resort was tidy and clean. The only negative for us was the choice of dining at the resort. The restaurants were sub-par to us, so we did eat out of the resort a few times. The Nautilus (steakhouse at resort) was very good though!
Overall, we would definitely stay at another Riu and Aruba was gorgeous!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at the Riu Palace which was highly recommended by a friend who stayed there two years ago. We had to have our room changed twice because of the severe mildew issues in the rooms. It was four of us so we had two rooms and they both had the same issue. The first rooms had black visible mold on the wall and a constant dampness and smell in the room. The couch in one of the rooms was so dirty and stained, it looked like it was picked up from the curbside in an ally. The second set of rooms was also damp and the bed mattresses were wet and smelled like mildew. Obviously a complaint went into management but that was also not handled well. They had to change the mattress in the room and the next day, we were transferred to our second set of rooms. We paid a lot of money to stay at this hotel and really could not enjoy the vacation until two days into the trip. I was disappointed by the way management handled the issue and extremely disappointed with the hotel. The person who recommended the hotel was one of the people on the trip and she was floored from the obvious decline of the hotel within the two years. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THE RIU PALACE IN ARUBA! They won't ever get my $$$$ again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Everything was great except that we had two full size beds put together instead of a king size bed for a couple. Staff, food, drinks, location and beach were fantastic. Make sure you go downtown to purchase your souvenirs, you'll get a better deal.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lam8112002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed here at a junior suite for a week June 2013. The resort was very clean although I felt the shower in my suite needed some minor maintenance (caulking replaced). Really liked that there was a stocked mini bar fridge with brandy and other liqueurs ready to be dispensed.

The food at the buffet was delicious enough that we skipped our a la cart dinners. In order to book those dinners you would need to visit the booth daily to book for that night only. No booking ahead of time.

The swimming pool was nice with a swim up bar. The beach was great, although I wished it was larger.

The immediate area outside the resort was beautiful with a Señor Frogs located within a 5 minute walk, as well as various restaurants and shops if you choose to venture off the resort. Very comfortable and safe, even in comparisons to "the mean streets" of Mississauaga, ON, Canada.

Would I recommend this place? I have, many times.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I read some rather critical reviews about the all-inclusive Riu....we found nothing to be critical about! Meals, rooms, pool etc exceeded our expectations. All the staff were friendly and eager to please their guests. I would recommend the Riu and would return there.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3rd floor and had no problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank El H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This was my first trip to Aruba and we chose to stay in the Hotel Riu Palace Aruba. Very nice and a great location! We stayed at the Riu in Punta Cana last year and I must say that the food at the Aruba location was much better. Also, it was so much fun to get out and walk around at night and visit all the vendors that were out selling stuff much cheaper than we found on one of our excursions. For example, on our bus excursion my partner wanted to get a tank top for our dog sitter and I told him to wait on that. The tank top on the excursion cost $19. Later that day, just down the street from the Riu, we found similar tank tops for $10. For all inclusive deals, the Riu is the place to stay. You can do everything on the resort or wait until night time when the city comes to life just down the street. All in all, we had a great time and definitely look forward to visiting Aruba again and staying at Hotel Riu Palace Aruba.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JMDewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,471 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,861 reviews
3.2 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Oranjestad - Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, West Indies, TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing