We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Riu for 6 days. In our opinion the hotel was not well maintained, the food was awful and the staff even worse. I went to the front desk for a taxi and I didn't realize the woman was speaking to another staff member and I interrupted her by saying "excuse me" and I was told I am talking I will speak to you when I am done. We also paid for an ocean front room and when we checked in we were told there weren't any left. The resort was grossly crowded. We chose the Riu because we usually go for an all inclusive, however in Aruba it would be a mistake to do so. There are so many restaurants in walking distance and on the island that it's definitely worth not doing an all inclusive. We loved the island and will definitely visit again but NEVER will we stay at the Riu in Aruba or any other country. I definitely don't recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank elena2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,868 - 1,874 of 6,323 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our first time to Aruba, and staying at the Riu made it wonderful! Everyone was friendly, the rooms were beautiful and spacious, and the pool was nice to go lay by (the water was FREEZING, so we didn't get in much). The beach was nice and relaxing also, and that water was a bit more comfortable to swim in. The Riu had a great location, so you could walk down the beach to a few pier bars, or walk on the street to a couple shopping centers and restaurants. The only thing lacking at the Riu were the food choices. You had to eat buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, unless you made reservations at 8:00 in the morning for one of the 3 or 4 specialty restaurants. You could only make reservations for one day at a time, and if you went later in the morning to do that, several of the restaurants were already completely booked. The lunch buffet by the pool had great jerk chicken, but all the food items out in the open were constantly picked at by birds.

Overall, it was a great experience, but I would recommend making the restaurants more accessible and maybe another choice for lunch, and finding a way to keep the birds out of the food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandDiverGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We chose the Riu for our honeymoon based off of friend's recommendations. Since it was our honeymoon we wanted to do as little as possible -- just relax -- and the Riu was perfect for just that. With the all-inclusive package we didn't have to worry about seeking out restaurants on the island. We made reservations for the Riu restaurants each morning around 10am and had no issues getting a reservation. We were also able to get a spot at the pool or beach each morning without an issue. We had a great honeymoon!

Room Tip: The junior suit faced the ocean and was roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have just got back from staying in the Riu Palace for two weeks, and after 15 years of traveling abroad I have to say this place was amazing.. Food was plentiful and great choice something for everyone, room great and cleaned daily complex really clean staff were so friendly it made the holiday...we will definitely be looking to stay in a RUI hotel next year...thanks to al the staff that made our vacation memorable

Room 247

Room Tip: We were facing the pool and very close to the beach room 247 excellent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

hte riu is always a good/great hotel to visit and book. i am a member and always book with them where ever i go. there have been places that i have not booked this resort because i also love the the hyatt. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flor j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is probably the largest resort we've ever stayed at. It was clean enough and accommodating because of it's size however travelling with a toddler wasn't always easy when staying on the 7th floor. Food was average, nothing compared to some other resorts we've stayed at. The beach was the best spot to be with a little one as the "kiddie pool" was disgusting and looked more like an ashtray. The unfortunate part was having to reserve a palapa by 7am or you were out of luck. Fortunately we were traveling with a large group and someone was always able to get down there in enough time. We didn't have enough shade for the little ones on a particularly hot day and ended up having to rent one which I believe was $25/day. Aruba is beautiful and we'll definitely return, for the price however probably not to this resort. There is nothing for kids under 5 but for kids old enough to partake in the water sports and pool activities there is plenty.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We came from Georgia on a 6 night honeymoon and it was fantastic. The first impression was an instant upgrade, FREE OF CHARGE, from the junior suite to the king suite. The room was stunning and very clean! The amenities offered were top notch and the whole resort was tidy and clean. The only negative for us was the choice of dining at the resort. The restaurants were sub-par to us, so we did eat out of the resort a few times. The Nautilus (steakhouse at resort) was very good though!
Overall, we would definitely stay at another Riu and Aruba was gorgeous!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,788 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
866 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Oranjestad - Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: £318 - £608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing