We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday at the Riu Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday at the Riu Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Have just returned from a weeks stay at the Riu Palace. It was fantastic. The food was amazing, so much choice and having the restaurants on site means that we did not get bored of the buffet. The buffet itself had lots of choice, the breakfast was especially good! We liked the Nautlilus steak house best, the food was delicious. However, we enjoyed all the restaurants and the service was really good at each. The drinks selection was amazing, premium brands and a large cocktail list. i had cava every morning for breakfast which i loved! there was never a queue at the bars, and in the evening the service at the bon bini bar was really good. All the staff were really friendly, and it made the stay even better!

We chose to have a jacuzzi room and the view was amazing!! the room was massive with another jacuzzi inside and a big shower. we also saw some of the other rooms and were impressed with those too. ask for a mattress topper as they make the beds softer.

we did not have to get up early to get a sun lounger, we got to the pool at 11 most days and always found 2 loungers. there were lots at the beach too. it is windy on the island so hard to put up the umbrellas but at the beach there is more shade. we found the wind was nice as it is very hot!

we had an amazing holiday and i would definitely recommend the hotel. we will be looking at the other riu hotels for future holidays.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank psmith233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,729
    1,755
    700
    326
    308
See reviews for
1,469
3,060
63
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the riu palace the hotel is very tired looking not as clean as other riu hotels we have stayed in staff awful miserable unfriendly and not too keen to serve you we went on several trips which were great and the staff on these were great the water sports guys on the beach were great seemed like one happy island apart from when u stepped into the riu we would definitely go back but would not stay at the riu nor would we recommend it Aruba is a fab destination like paradise beautiful beaches white sand and fab weather though a little windy very hot Jill and mike uk

Room Tip: Main building a must junior suite over looking ocean 5th floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

WORST HOTEL IVE EVER STAYED IN THOMSONS OUGHT TO BE ASHAMED OF THEMSELVES FOR MARKETING THIS HOTEL AS A 5T PLATINUM HOTEL IF I WAS ADVERTISING IT ,IT WOULD BE 3T AND IM STILL THINKING SHOULD IT BE 2TS .we stayed in RIU PALACE in may 2014 for our honeymoon the hotel looks fab from the outside but wait till you see or should I say smell your room !!! Damp & mould awaits you , our bed base & mattress had mould on it , mouldy picture on wall , rusty lamp shade all in all filthy & dated in need of major refurbishment , but wait a minute next door has been purchased by RIU & we listened to the constant noise of trucks, rubble been thrown in skips ,digging out of pool area & dust all day for 2 weeks ,i never saw any of this in the Thomsons brochure !! We did complain to the hotel & to the rep neither really bothered offered different rooms finally got one without the mouldy mattress but smell of damp still present & noise from building site next door still very much there .. pool area very busy & stampede to reserve a sun lounger or place on the beach starts at 6/7 am set your alarms people !!!! To escape this we paid $25 for our own umbrella from a lovely guy on the beach. THE FOOD IS BORING & SLOPS SPRINGS TO MIND ALTHOUGH THE RESTAURANTS YOU HAVE TO BOOK ARE OK. WE ATE OUT MOST OF THE TIME SOME LOVELY RESTAURANTS & ICE CREAM PARLOURS ONLY SHORT WALK AWAY. WE WERE TOLD IN OUR WELCOME MEETING CRIME WAS LOW ON THE ISLAND WELL THE CLEANERS WE HAD ONE OF THEM HAS STICKY FINGERS AS AN ITEM OF CLOTHING HAS GONE MISSING !!!! NOT HAPPY MEMORIES OF OUR HONEYMOON WE ARE SO DISSAPOINTED .DEFINATELY BE DOING MORE RESEARCH IN THE FUTURE .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank deb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Thought hotel was lovely, well maintained. Unfortunately we thought the music around pool everyday was very intrusive and repetitive. I do not have a problem with music round pool but thus was very loud and got louder as after noon went on.
Also not always enough waiters around pool.
But we will go back as I think the people are lovely and very helpful.
Beautiful island to have a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Riu for 6 days. In our opinion the hotel was not well maintained, the food was awful and the staff even worse. I went to the front desk for a taxi and I didn't realize the woman was speaking to another staff member and I interrupted her by saying "excuse me" and I was told I am talking I will speak to you when I am done. We also paid for an ocean front room and when we checked in we were told there weren't any left. The resort was grossly crowded. We chose the Riu because we usually go for an all inclusive, however in Aruba it would be a mistake to do so. There are so many restaurants in walking distance and on the island that it's definitely worth not doing an all inclusive. We loved the island and will definitely visit again but NEVER will we stay at the Riu in Aruba or any other country. I definitely don't recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elena2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our first time to Aruba, and staying at the Riu made it wonderful! Everyone was friendly, the rooms were beautiful and spacious, and the pool was nice to go lay by (the water was FREEZING, so we didn't get in much). The beach was nice and relaxing also, and that water was a bit more comfortable to swim in. The Riu had a great location, so you could walk down the beach to a few pier bars, or walk on the street to a couple shopping centers and restaurants. The only thing lacking at the Riu were the food choices. You had to eat buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, unless you made reservations at 8:00 in the morning for one of the 3 or 4 specialty restaurants. You could only make reservations for one day at a time, and if you went later in the morning to do that, several of the restaurants were already completely booked. The lunch buffet by the pool had great jerk chicken, but all the food items out in the open were constantly picked at by birds.

Overall, it was a great experience, but I would recommend making the restaurants more accessible and maybe another choice for lunch, and finding a way to keep the birds out of the food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandDiverGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We chose the Riu for our honeymoon based off of friend's recommendations. Since it was our honeymoon we wanted to do as little as possible -- just relax -- and the Riu was perfect for just that. With the all-inclusive package we didn't have to worry about seeking out restaurants on the island. We made reservations for the Riu restaurants each morning around 10am and had no issues getting a reservation. We were also able to get a spot at the pool or beach each morning without an issue. We had a great honeymoon!

Room Tip: The junior suit faced the ocean and was roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
3.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
1.9 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing