We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property, unfriendly service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great property, unfriendly service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The property itself has a perfect white sand beach, wonderful views and lovely rooms. The decor might not be everyone's taste, however fitting to the overall theme of the hotel.
However, the service lacks any sort of attention to detail or personal interaction. Prepare to not be noticed, or cared about. Had several problems in the room and the consensus from the staff was "what do you want us to do about it?"
There is no bar service at the beach, and the pool and pool bars close at 7.
The schedules and dress attire (must have long pants and long shirts and only dine at 630 or 9...when you make reservations) are ridiculous for leisure travelers. Forget about eating lunch because there is no option for that.
For food "24 hours a day" there is the sport bar. This is foul. The chicken salad was full of mysterious bones and I could make a better ham and cheese sandwich at home. Also, it's hard to eat nachos without cheese for an entire week.
The casino is a joke, but the Marriott down the street has a lovely facility.
Prepare to wait for the elevator. There is only 2 for the property, which fit 6 people each at best.
For an all inclusive, we have had to go off the property to eat most of our meals. Which should not be the case.
In conclusion, do your research before you book your stay at the Riu.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ekbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,704
    1,732
    693
    324
    307
See reviews for
1,454
3,029
63
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband I just returned from a vacation in Aruba.
The RIU Palace was an excellent choice! The staff was friendly and accommodating. We were celebrating our 57th wedding anniversary and they provided us with champagne and a card, even a towel decoration of two sweetheart swans. We were in an junior suite in building A, the main building, overlooking the pool and the ocean. The room was nice and you stepped down into the living room, and then onto a large balcony, which provided excellent views of the property. The buffet service in the dining room was magnificent for every meal. The delicious food was displayed beautifully. The staff in the dining room was excellent and their service was great. So, too, were the staff in the casino (Cool Casino). I was a wonderful trip; and I'm sure we will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed at the Riu Aruba for a week in January. The resort is kept very clean and the staff works hard. Didn't bother to make reservations for dinner. the buffet has everything you could want. we have stayed in many AI's and have found the Riu chain to be one of the best. Had a suite with the
jetted tub on the balcony. If you can afford it splurge, it was worth the extra money. Turn down service every night with mints on the pillow was a nice touch. The pool chair saving game is ridiculous since there are plenty to go around. This happens at every AI we have ever stayed at.
The beach is great to watch the sun set.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cat64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We just returned from the RIU in Aruba. There's good and bad in everything and I'll start with the good. The food here was outstanding. The amount and variety are really unbelievable. There are 4 specialty restaurants but if you don't get to them don't feel as if you missed anything as the buffet more then makes up for it. Be forewarned though, one of the restaurants that's open during the day is on a patio type enclosure with no glass in the windows. The staff put netting over the arches but the birds do find a way inside. I wasn't to bothered by this but some folks were. I used room service and I actually had a good experience. They came to my room with in 25 minutes and I got a follow up phone call to be sure I was satisfied. The place was kept very clean and the bathroom was large enough. The tub had water jets and I did enjoy that. The staff were really friendly towards the guests, at least from my perspective. They never seemed bothered to do whatever you asked. The front desk was very helpful when I was having trouble getting my return boarding pass.The rooms all have balconies and even though they were not all ocean front you could see a good bit of the ocean from the balcony. There were some things that need improved upon in my opinion. The room was considered a junior suite and we asked for 2 queen size beds as opposed to a king. The king is 2 full size beds pushed together and to get 2 separate beds the 2 beds were just pulled apart. Unfortunately the beds were full size not queen and my husband and I could've really used a little more mattress room. The mattresses were very firm but we didn't have to much trouble getting to sleep. The activities at the pool side were not as I expected. The music at the pool needs to be varied. Not everyone likes the Latin/Rap type music that was played mostly all day, every day. Some of the lyrics were not family friendly either. There was a daily activity sheet but sometimes the activities just didn't happen, and there was never any announcements saying what and where things were being done. I never saw the horseshoe games or the volleyball games, for example when I was there and there were never any announcements about them. The most disappointing thing for me was the nightly entertainment (or lack there of). There was live music in the bar each night at 8:30 pm but many of the songs were in Spanish and the music type never varied. They did have 'shows' at 10:00 each evening but some were contests rather then the shows I was expecting. The music was pre-recored which is ok but the sound track was bad and you couldn't hear the words at all sometimes. The dancers did a very nice job performing though. Their procedure for signing up for the specialty restaurants was not efficient in my opinion. You could only make reservations for that day, you could not make all your reservations at once. The staff member who took the reservations got there at 8:00 am promptly, but if you were not in line by 7:30 you ran the risk of not getting the restaurant you wanted. Of course I was up anyway because if you were not outside by 7:00 am to put your towel on your chair you did not get one. The staff were more the willing to help you find one though if you couldn't find one yourself. To be fair this saving seats thing is not particular to the RIU, every place I ever stayed had the same issue. If the entertainment and the bed situation was better I would probably go there again. As it is, there are other hotels on this beautiful island that I may stay at next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is in the main building, those face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 938Lmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the Riu Aruba for 4 nights in a room with 2 double beds. The rooms were good sized with the two beds on an upper area and a small seating area a few steps down on a lower area. The room had a door that opened to a balcony that had a view of the pool area. The bell staff was very friendly and helpful during arrival keeping our bags since we arrived a couple of hours before check in time. We were given a wristband so we could enjoy lunch, the pool area, and the all inclusive amenities while waiting for our room. The common areas, pool, and dining areas were clean and beautifully maintained. The pool area does have music playing during the day which I found added to a fun atmosphere, although it could be a bit loud to someone trying to sleep during the day or working. We primarily ate at the buffets and found the food very good and there was a wide variety of selections that changed daily. Drinks were liberally served at all times during the day and evening and the wait staff was attentive. Finally, the management was extremely accommodating to my family in extending our stay due to a medical emergency. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to someone looking for an all inclusive experience in Aruba.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chestnut44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I went to Riu palace in Aruba last year, it was very nice outside but the hotel wasn't the greatest, the bed were rock hard, there were no entertainment in the evening which I look forward to. overall it was alright.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The resort is large and nice but there isn't much luxury past the architecture.

The beds are rock hard so you'll need to ask for a topper.

They don't restock mini bar unless you ask, then it takes several hours.

At each buffet style meal, you must get up to ask for water refills, silverware, napkins, etc.

The music plays so loudly each day at the pool/beach that you can't hear the ocean. Then once you retreat to your room for the evening, you hear the constant music in the casino. So much for a little R&R.

There is a nice area for kids to play in the shade at the pool.

The fitness center is nice.

Ask to be in a newly renovated room.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room. Ask for one far away from the Construction at the hotel they are re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Payden_Montgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing