We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hate to leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Goshen, New York, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hate to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Second year in a row at the Riu, and for a good reason. Beautiful views, pool and beach! The food is excellent at the San nicholas buffet! Can't get enough of the seafood and desserts served. The staff are pleasant and acomodating! The day time activities by the pool are a lot of fun and the coordinators appear to love their job! The evening entertainment could be much better, but turn left out of the hotel and yoy are in the center of night life, shopping and if you want restaurants. Hope to return sooner than later!

Room Tip: Jr suite with partial ocean views on higher floors are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,701
    1,728
    692
    324
    306
See reviews for
1,451
3,026
63
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

this was our first trip to Aruba, first the bus ride there, you see some of the island and its really very run down. The Hotel was very nice, the rooms were always cleaned every day. Your clothes dry better on the balcony then in your room, the room was very muggy..but comfortable to sleep, we did get the topper for the mattress and we were fine sleeping all week. We decided to do the excursion to the lighthouse, chapel and Baby beach, don't go!!! it was awful, our tour guy had to repeat every in Spanish and we couldn't understand a word he said, except island and he just repeated everything he said. The Baby Beach for snorkel was a disaster, there was so much seaweed you couldn't see bottom, the tour guide brought bread to feed fishes and it was just not an island I would want to spend a day, thank God we were only there for an hour. We ate every night at the buffet, except one we ate at the Nautilus, i think they use the same food as buffet. The buffet was had the the best food and a great variety and you don't need reservations and you can wear shorts, men too! the pool was the best part, so clean and water was beautiful. The only thing is get out the early in the morning and save your polls seats. get your towels the day before and put the out to save seats. People are out there at 5am!! and the towel hut doesn't open until 7am. over all we did have a a good time..I would definitely go back to Aruba, but we would try another place, there are so many down there. another good thing is you can walk the streets at night and they are safe. No one bothers you!! and the weather is beautiful..but very very very windy!!!

Room Tip: get the 8th floor facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conneaut, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Riu Palace for our honeymoon July 1-8 2014. We truly had an amazing time with mostly only positives to say about our stay. We stayed in room 805, which was absolutely beautiful. It had an amazing ocean view and it was smack dab in the middle of the hotel. It was completely stunning at night and at all times. This hotel is very close to the strip of shops and restaurants that you can venture to when you want to leave your resort. It was about a 3 minute walk. Everyone at the Riu was so helpful and kind. We went to Barry's bar very single night where Carlos and Johanny served up the most amazing drinks and treated us like royalty. Our room was a junior suite which was large in size with a flat screen tv. Our mini bar was fully stocked with a liquor dispenser as well. The staff sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne our second night on the resort. The 24 hour free room service was wonderful, especially when I didn't feel like going down to the buffet for breakfast. You simply call the number and they will promptly bring you up anything you ask for. The beach and the pool are Gorgeous. We didn't have any issues with getting chairs on the beach. The chairs at the pools were hard to grab. People would get up really early and block the chairs off for the whole day. In all honesty though, if I'm going on vacation and paying for it, I want to see the beautiful clear waters of the ocean...not the pool. So I wasn't too disturbed by the fact we didn't lounge by the pool all day. The buffet had great food with a lot of variety. We mostly chose that over the a la carte restaurants. We did go to he restaurant Milano one night. I wasn't too enthralled with the menu choices. I had spaghetti because I don't eat seafood. The spaghetti wasn't good at all and they saw I wasn't happy, so they promptly brought me out another meal of steak which was delicious. Overall, my husband and I were VERY pleased with the service and the resort. We will be returning next year! I highly recommend this resort!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank lbennett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Let me start with we have stayed at the riu in multiple places. The pros are the pool and beach are great. The room was nice the linens where old! Con's on Sunday there where no towels in the room as they ran short that is what the housekeeper and front desk told us so couldn't shower till 4:30 . the elevator took forever as one of the 2 was not working got caught in the door as it slams shut actually told Marie at the front desk she said nothing even with 3 huge black and blues,on day 3 went to the beach after breakfast when we came back our door to our room was wide open the room was cleaned so we knew the housekeeper was the last one in there ,went and told Marie (manager) told us she would tell the general manager and he would talk with us. That never happened!!! Not even I"m sorry. The following day around 5 pm the head housekeeper knocked on our door and told us that the housekeeper lost the master key. Told her we don't have it. They kept on knocking on doors the people on floor 8 where amazed . the buffets where the same thing breakfast and lunch. A few of us who had met actually started to go and eat off premises the staff where not as friendly as some of the other riu staff we have met in the past. Loved Aruba but would not stay here again. Looking to go back in may and staying at the Radisson. Very disappointed!! babe

Room Tip: Ocean view's
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patandlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinsdale, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were originally staying at the Westin on points and they sold the property. We really are not all inclusive people as we are not big drinkers at the pool and we really enjoy dining and getting a feel for the place we are visiting so when Riu honored our points reservation during spring break we were thankful. We were suppose to get a room that would accommodate 2 adults and 2 children their version of this room accommodation was one large 8 by 8 bed. I do not want my kids in the bed with me and what if I would have brought one of my son's friend awkward. The Room smelled like Mildew and there was mold in the bathroom in our shower stall. The lobby smelled dingy as well as the elevators. Our couch in the room had stains that smelled like vomit. We slept in this room as I really did not want to spend $5000.00 to switch but that was it as soon as we were up we left the room and as soon as we were tired we returned. We bought fragrant candles that helped make it bearable. for those wondering about the all inclusive aspect The hotel did offer Absolute vodka , Jose Cuevo Tequilla and Johnnie Walker Red Scotch as top shelf and you did have to ask for them specifically and they were not available anywhere else than the pool and bar no restaurants only wine/beer

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were honeymooners from Toronto Canada for one week on the first week of June.

Overall I would give this hotel 3.5 stars.
The hotel is the nicest looking one from outside of the strip. They have extremely hard working staff that provide great service. But they need serious upgrading. What I feel makes hotel 4 or 5 stars is in the details.

Rooms: We stayed at Block C farthest away from the construction. We stayed at a regular suite on the 7th floor. We had a nice view of the ocean, pool and bit of the construction ( Which we didn't mind too much as we couldn't hear the noise) The room had nice walk in closet, large tv, little table with 2 chairs and an armchair with foot rest, double sinks.
Beds:Like the reviews mentioned they had very hard beds and we were used to sleeping on futons. Ask for bed topper when you book. It took 2 nights for us to get one so we got it on the third night. They were smart and nice to leave us a little souvenir to apologize and make up for it.
Smell: There was a bit of musty scent. We kept the balcony door closed and AC on full blast on the lowest temp at all times so we didn't even notice it that much.
Balcony was Juliet style small balcony were we can just stand out side if we wished.

The room has a outdated look as some of the interior for the rest of the hotel. Bottom of the door in the washroom was deteriorating, sink handles were mismatched, the safe and fridge looked like it was from the 80s although well functioning. There were many other little things that needed sprucing up.

The Beach: was amazingly beautiful and the boardwalk is awesome. We never once had to reserve a chair under a hut. We were always able to find one no matter what time especially in front of Westin. Downside to having a chair there is bit of debris and noise however it's less crowded. We didn't find any seashells there though.

The Food: I have worked in the food industry so my standards are pretty high. The food at RIU was ok. We mostly ate at the main buffet as we could go when we wanted to. The breakfast buffet was always the best it as we loved fresh juices. We found the food to be bit boring and it became very mundane, thank goodness for hot sauces. Due to the nature of buffets and heat lamps the food was easily dried out. I had one Major with the buffet was lack of proper labeling and placement of them. Lot of the time we had to guess what things were. As well I have minor food allergies and sensitivities and although it's not life threatening it's very annoying when it's triggered easy avoided with labels. Plus even though it's buffet people like knowing what they are eating.
The specialty restaurant was easy to book, but menu were very limited. The food tasted better than main buffet but not enough to forgo the flexibility of time.

Activities: There didn't seem to be a lot, some pool things but we also didn't really look in to it\ as well.

Would we go back to RIU in Aruba most likely no as we would go to non all inclusive as we don't really drink and food is very important to us. Would we go to RIu in other destinations Yes as the staff were extremely nice, friendly and hardworking.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonster24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The property itself has a perfect white sand beach, wonderful views and lovely rooms. The decor might not be everyone's taste, however fitting to the overall theme of the hotel.
However, the service lacks any sort of attention to detail or personal interaction. Prepare to not be noticed, or cared about. Had several problems in the room and the consensus from the staff was "what do you want us to do about it?"
There is no bar service at the beach, and the pool and pool bars close at 7.
The schedules and dress attire (must have long pants and long shirts and only dine at 630 or 9...when you make reservations) are ridiculous for leisure travelers. Forget about eating lunch because there is no option for that.
For food "24 hours a day" there is the sport bar. This is foul. The chicken salad was full of mysterious bones and I could make a better ham and cheese sandwich at home. Also, it's hard to eat nachos without cheese for an entire week.
The casino is a joke, but the Marriott down the street has a lovely facility.
Prepare to wait for the elevator. There is only 2 for the property, which fit 6 people each at best.
For an all inclusive, we have had to go off the property to eat most of our meals. Which should not be the case.
In conclusion, do your research before you book your stay at the Riu.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ekbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing