We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding/holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wedding/holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I am currently sat on my balcony, block B floor 9, Ocean view! Ignore the negative reviews this place is amazing! Food is best AI I've ever been to, beds comfy. Staff friendly, drink choice unlimited! Slight smell to air con but changed as soon as reported to reception! Step out of the pool onto the beach :-) yes there are birds outside restaurant, you're in the Caribbean, deal with it or sit inside! Beautiful sunshine each day! Shops and restaurants a 5 min walk. Some people have moaned about cups blowing into the pool, but pool staff work hard to avoid this, guests should take some responsibility in putting rubbish in bin but no problem at all! We have been here 1 week and have another week where we will get married on the beach, please don't listen to the moaning reviews, we paid a lot to come and we're not dissappointed so far!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Leonie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,812
    1,782
    717
    332
    312
See reviews for
1,511
3,129
66
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

When we arrived we were told that we were given an upgrade to a suite which was a pleasant surprise. What we weren't told however was that the suite was on the 11th floor and the elevator didn't go up that high. Housekeeping had to be told daily to service the room (we learned this after having to meet them downstairs to get fresh towels our first night.) Our last night there, we noticed a foul sewage smell coming from the shower and bathroom.

The food was decent, but try to avoid the steak house during lunch, the birds were ruthless (pecking at the food on the buffet, coming to the tables and eating out of plates, etc.)

Overall...
PROS
Good drinks
Right on the beach
Daily water aerobics
Friendly staff

CONS
Rooms were extremely dusty and not maintained
The birds and/or flies took over the food
Bed was hard as a rock

Room Tip: Request a Jr Suite or standard room. The suites aren't occupied as often and therefore extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alezundria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Food was excellent, rooms were awesome, cleaning crew exceptional. However the amount of children unsupervised was incredible. My suggestion is No children allowed in the swim-up bar area super soaker squirt guns balls being thrown jumping into the pool splashing pool water into your drinks was unacceptable. I will not return for this reason alone.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We traveled out of Baltimore to Aruba July 29th through Aug. 4th and stayed at the Riu Palace.

Not much has changed since our last trip in 2010. The hotel and staff are still awesome. It does need a few repairs but if you choose to focus on the negative then of course, your stay will not be pleasant.

This trip we went with our daughter, son in law and 2 of our grandchildren. I do believe it was much more crowded that our previous visit but, I attribute that to the fact that since the Westin was sold and purchased by the RIU that is where the "overflow" came from.

The food is good...no, it is not gourmet and if that is what you are looking for you will not be satisfied here. There are lots of different foods to choose from....basically anything and everything that you could possibly want 24/7.

Drinks are good. I stick to wine since I cannot mix my drinks. Hubby this time was very fond of the frozen lemonade/absolute drink.

They do not skimp on the alcohol. And if you feel that they do, why complain? you can get as many as you want......

The swim up bar is very nice as is the infinity pool.

The rooms are clean, the grounds are very beautiful and the area lends itself to a lot of nightly entertainment right outside the front entrance.

For me and my family it was a wonderful vacation!!!! Plan on going again!!!!

But, if you are the one who chooses to take pics of a seam on the bedspread that is frayed, corners in the shower that are cracked, lampshades that the edges are worn and allow that to ruin your vacation, then by all means go somewhere else and it won't be as crowded when we go back again!!!

Also, yes there is construction next door but it never bothered us. For the most part all you ever heard was some hammering and the back up beepers on the cement trucks. Was not something that really made our vacation unacceptable.

Can't wait to go back again!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: we were oceanfront room 808 I believe looking out over the pool and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojosmeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We debated over getting an all inclusive and in the end were happy with our decision. The drinks were excellent and the food was good. the Riu is in a great location for water activities and shopping and our 9th floor junior suite was beautiful with incredible views. The staff was friendly and we went on two excursions booked from the hotel that were awesome! The only small complaint would be that there are not enough chairs on the beach. If you want to reserve one you must get down to the beach by 6:30 and we were never up that early. The pool had plenty of chairs. Make sure you go to the pier at night- it is not part of the hotel but they had live music and dance lesson. We loved Aruba!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a junior suite with a view- gorgeous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TN75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It was our first visit to Aruba and it was very enjoyable . The food and service was excellent ,the staff couldn't do enough form you .
The hotel room was a good size but a little tired and could do with being refurbished .
The deal we had was great value for money .
The only draw back was the pool bar , it was lacking quality . Dishing the drink out in mega cheap plastic cups .

Room Tip: Upper floor room have great views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyshireGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We were apprehensive after reading the reviews before we arrived. Fortunately, our experience was nothing like that of the people who left a negative review.

The choice and quality of food and drink was excellent, there was never an issue getting loungers (some people did obviously get up at 6 to reserve the "best" ones, but we always got loungers on our way to / from breakfast) and the room was clean, spacious and well-equipped - not ultra modern or brand new, but perfectly fine. We were in block C and there was no sign of damp, leaky ceilings or mustiness.

Service at all the bars and restaurants was friendly and prompt. There was a great choice of food at the buffet, breakfast was especially comprehensive. We only ate at one of the a la carte restaurants, partly due to the quality of the buffet, but also due to the strange serving times - 6:30 was too early for most and 9 seemed unnecessarily late (with a limited choice on the menu, there seemed little reason to allow 2.5 hours per sitting).

If you're at home worrying about your upcoming visit to the Riu Palace, then don't be alarmed by the odd jester who left a bad review - I can only conclude that they got badly sunburned and blame the Riu for their stupidity! One person has left a review saying that the choice of food and drink was poor - what are they on about?! Obviously if you're a Russian billionaire, then this place will be below you're usual standards, but for the rest of us, it will more than meet your expectations for the price.

We had a great holiday, hope you do too!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
17 Thank ColinPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,465 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
453 reviews
3.2 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Oranjestad - Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, West Indies, Evoline ltd, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing