We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Worst place on the Island”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm - Eagle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Quinta Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nassau County, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Worst place on the Island”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Let me just start off with Myself my husband and our daughter have been coming to Aruba for over 10 years and never ever had any issues, except for the one time we decided to stay somewhere other than our actual timeshare ( because we were told it wasnt available). I have never had to check into a resort where they hand you your remotes for the tv a contraption to make the AC work and a huge metal cover for the safe not to mention our luggage up three flights because the elevator was broken. when we entered to room there was an overpowering smell of bug spray the room looked old and dingy and we were told we had a two bedroom NOT a lock off. once nighttime came we had either termites or carpenter ants all over the room including in the towels. we did not feel safe at this resort what so ever and as far as the beach goes you had to walk across the street and through the bushes to get there, this beach is also a hot spot for the locals so you are also walking around there cars to get there. we ended up staying here for one LONG night and checked out as early as possible. Stay far away from this place if you want to have a good vacation!!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Laurie820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    124
    35
    9
    9
See reviews for
163
203
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My husband and I exchanged into this property for a one bedroom on the second floor of phase II. Upon checking in we were told that we would be charged $16.28 per day to cover the timeshare tax and utility charge. They also charge a non-refundable $20.00 which you must use at the pool bar on drinks or food. You also pay a refundable deposit to get your room keys, a plastic card that turns the air conditioning on, safe keys, beach towels and remote controls for the television. The first thing you are asked to do is take inventory of everything in the room and report anything that is missing. Shouldn't that be the staff's job before they let anyone check into a room? We noticed that the inventory listed a DVD player but it certainly wasn't in the room so we reported that to the front desk and they told us it would be provided the next day by the housekeeping staff. Never happened. The elevator was out of order when we arrived which meant that we had to haul all of the suitcases etc. up the steps to our room, glad it was only on the second floor. Our initial reaction was disappointment to say the least. The kitchen layout is cramped and inconvenient and there is no dishwasher or washer/dryer in the unit. The resort also does not supply any soap to clean your dishes. Upon moving the coffee pot (for which there were no filters or coffee) I disturbed a lizard that had taken up residence on the kitchen counter. When I attempted to catch him he retreated under the microwave oven where he remained for the balance of our stay. The "view" from our room included a large blue rusting crane in a vacant lot but you could see the beach beyond that. The pool area in phase One was smaller and surrounded by lots of tropical greenery. The pool in phase II was larger and also had a bar where you could order food and drinks (this is where you had to spend the $20 they charge you when you check in). This is a large concrete area with very little shade and no greenery at all. The bar offered a variety of items on the menu however we were never quite sure what there hours of operation were. Each time we asked the bartender about ordering something from the menu he would say the kitchen was closed or was about to close. On one occasion my husband commented to the bartender/owner that he must have closed early on Sunday. The bartender responded "I don't have to ask you when I should close and besides you have never ordered anything from me since you got here." How rude, how does he stay in business, that must be the reason for the automatic nonrefundable $20 charge. There is no free internet or phone calls. The best I can say is that the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the housekeeping staff did clean our room and make the bed every day. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful in making reservations for tours and restaurants. The section of Eagle beach located across the road from the resort is reserved for people staying at La Quinta. The attendant provides you with chairs and places them under a shaded grassy umbrella but there are no other services on the beach, bring your own beverages.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pepper812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We just returned from a week at LaQuinta Beach Resort. This was a time share exchange for us. Yes this resort is away from the "action" of the high rise hotels where the roads are congested and there is heavy pedestrian traffic. But the quieter atmosphere and the deserted beaches are our preference anyway. The staff at the resort was accommodating and helpful from the first day. The one bedroom unit overlooked the large pool in Phase II and up the stairs from the bar. Yes, the place is dated and in need of some cosmetic repair, but the room was clean, appliances worked, bed was comfortable and maid service was excellent. The personnel at the front desk, Mckesaha and Arlyn were very helpful. When we asked if we could see a unit in Phase I because a faulty circuit breaker in our unit, I was given the keys to another unit to check it out. We stayed in our unit and the faulty circuit breaker was repaired. The beach was quiet, clean and close. There was an attendant there from 9-5:30 for chairs. (Cocoay was always friendly and greeted us with a smile.)
We used the mandatory $20 at the bar on the first day for lunch. (No insects as in the previous review.) A casino and excellent restaurants were close by (Screaming Eagle was one of the finest we have ever been in. In fact we went a second time and asked for the same server.
We got to Aruba at the tail end of the massive rain and the main highway was flooded as were the roads near the high rise hotels. By Monday all the roads were clear. If you are staying at LaQuinta, I would recommend renting a car. It is very easy to drive in Aruba.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CTJoe41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I am a 50 year old male traveling with a 50 year old female friend to Aruba. It was my first time in Aruba and my companions third. However, she had never stayed at La Quinta Beach Resort on her past travels and neither of us knew what to expect. First off, the location is in the "Low Rise Hotel" section of Aruba and far removed from any action...like casinos, nightlife, shopping, etc. It is almost essential that you rent a car if staying at La Quinta. Buses and taxes are an option but a car is more convenient. My companion owns a timeshare and this was an "exchange" week we spent there. I was immediately disappointed with the resorts need to nickel and dime us. For example, $25 per week for wi-fi. They also impose a non-refundable $20 charge to be used at their bar/cafe. If you do not use it, you get charged the $20 regardless. Very tacky. And speaking of tacky...when we did go to the bar by the larger pool(there are 2 pools) to use this $20 surcharge, I was grossed out as we ate our lunch (burgers) because of at least a dozen flys landing on the table and food. We were continually swatting away the insects and wondered what the kitchen must be like...we decided not to return during our stay. The hotel room (actually a two bedroom) was very nice and clean although the entire complex is dated. One bedroom was up quite a few stairs in a "loft" area with a separate bathroom. Keep this in mind if climbing stairs is a difficulty. We did have a problem with the AC...it froze up and water drained all over the floor. But maintenance came right away and fixed it and we never had another problem with it. Beds were very comfortable and appliances all worked fine. The staff were friendly and accomodating and there is a car rental company right on the premises (very convenient). Eagle Beach is a short walk across the street from La Quinta and there is a staff person handing out free lounge chairs under grass huts for shade. The beach was rather deserted which was great and very clean. All in all, a fine accomodation if you are not expecting anything more than average. Be aware of the location. As other reviewers have written, this may be a fine choice for you if you want quiet, secluded setting with an older clientele. However, if its your first visit, you may want to be right where all the action is in walking distance either downtown or in the "High Rise Hotel" area. Also, no fault of La Quinta, but we hit a very rainy week! "It never rains in Aruba!" many friends told me. But I am witness to the contrary...it rained, and rained very heavy for 3 out of 7 days we were there. Unusual for Aruba they tell me, but Nov-March is considered the rainy season though that usually means minimal rain. Just not this year!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martyc2Westport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

The horrible choise that i have done in my live, firstable, when we arrived they ask us that we make the inventary, and the service?, then they say that you have to pay $25 usd because you have to consume it in the restaurant, and if you dont want to use this service, it doesnt matter, you have to pay it!!, then you dont have hot water in the nights, we just have 1 soap for all week, the bath towels are old, the overweight young man working the front desk was unprofessional, the bar-restaurant was closed the tree first days at 4:00 pm, they dont have free wifi, i whent with my houseband and we found two twin beds, they didnt have 1 queen bed or something like that, we dont know why thw people say that is a terrific hotel, its a terrible hotel!!!!!dont spend your money here, please go to any other hotel!!!, we call to interval, they didnt do anythig to help us!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank analeonor_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We were able to get a timeshare exchange here and were so glad we did. You can rent here through the resorts members site if you don't onw timeshare.
The staff was wonderful. They were so friendly and helpful we felt like we knew them for years.
It's a small resort but well worth it, no frills pool or beach bar (we were spoiled last year t another resort). The facilities were enough to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. The pool bar/restaurant has a great staff that is friendly and efficient. They make great drinks and also cook too.
The beach is a short walk across the stree with plenty of shade cabanas and chairs. No looking around waiting for one to open.
The rooms (had a two bedroom) was well kept up. The beds were so soft that you didn't want to get out of them. The furnishing were fine, nothing fancy, just a great place.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crjohnson111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillashle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This was a horrible choice. There was a lizard in my room that retreated to a hole in the ceiling. No concierge or bag service was offered. The views are horrible and the cleanliness is poor.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hillashle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#6 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Beach Resort

Property: La Quinta Beach Resort
Address: Irausquin Blvd 228 J.E., Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Beach Resort consists of 54 suites of varying sizes and different designs in two sections. Guest amenities includes WiFi - pool bar - beach attributes - beach bar - restaurant - car-rental - two salt water pools - lushly landscaped pool deck and is located on world renowned Eagle Beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Quinta Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
La Quinta Palm Eagle Beach
Palm/Eagle Beach La Quinta
La Quinta Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing