We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem--small, personal and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level Contributor
236 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“A real gem--small, personal and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Boardwalk Hotel is a real gem. It consists of a small number of individual casitas, each with own well-equipped kitchen, living room, bathroom and 1 or 2 bedrooms, The rooms are not fancy, but are very comfortable and look and feel very Caribbean, not anonymous-could-be-anywhere fancy hotel décor. Each casita has its own private patio, with hammock, BBQ rill and a teak outdoor dining table. There is a lovely small pool, with area of both shad and sun in which to lounge. The hotel is across from the Ritz-Carleton, and is not directly on the beach, but Palm Beach is a direct, easy, one-block walk away. The hotel also supplies, free, very nice beach chairs and snorkel sets that can be used for the duration of your stay. Unlike the mega-hotels, the Boardwalk is intimate and so welcoming. It is owned and directly managed by two Belgian sisters, Stephanie and Kimberly, who are filled with great advice, and will help with anything you need. One advantage: Aruba is a dining paradise, but the good restaurants are very expensive. By staying here, you can make your own breakfasts and lunches, saving for the big splurge dinners. If you want a place that is beautiful, quiet and peaceful, this is the place for you. We are so glad we picked the Boardwalk—it was everything we expected and more. When we return to Aruba, we would stay nowhere else.

Room Tip: Casita 4 is quietest and most private ( although they are quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nippnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear nippnsc,

Thank you for naming Boardwalk Small Hotel "a real gem" and posting such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you picked us and had such fantastic experience at Boardwalk Small Hotel and at our "One Happy Island". We look forward to your return visit!

Sunny greetings,
Kimberly & Stephanie
Hotel owner and operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    162
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
395
566
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Boardwalk Small Hotel is a hidden gem at the North end of Palm Beach across the street from the Marriott Hotel.
The casitas are clean and tropically decorated, each has its own deck to relax on, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The owners are so nice.
The grounds are peppered with Palm trees and bushes. It's a two minute walk across the street to the beach, but it is an easy walk. If you want to be pampered with amenities then stick to the large hotels, if you want a real quiet relaxing place, try Boardwalk !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Peter I,

Thank you very much for sharing your lovely review here on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our "relaxing haven" and are very grateful you highly recommend us to other travelers. As we say here in Aruba: masha danki (thank you).

Sunny greetings,
Kimberly & Stephanie
Hotel owners and operators
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perryopolis, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba during Christmas and New Years 2013/14. The Casita was perfect for two adults and three teenagers. It is close to the ocean and only a short drive to downtown. We rented a jeep and toured the island on our own, which was quite an experience. Although we have been to the island twice before, we discovered many new places on this visit also, including this hotel. You just can't compare the coziness and personable feel of this small hotel to the other major hotels. Stephanie & Kimberly were absolutely wonderful. They made us feel so comfortable during our whole stay. Our conversations were like we had known each other for years! The best part of our vacation was New Year's Eve. They had a champagne toast & appetizers in the office for all guests and the "pagada", a local tradition to ward off evil spirits and provide good luck for the new year. It was a nice afternoon where we had a chance to meet the other guests. The location & atmosphere of the hotel is just perfect. Once you are inside the complex, you don't even realize that two major hotels are right across the street. Aruba has always been one of our favorite islands and Boardwalk Hotel Aruba is now a favorite of ours too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Shelley,

What a wonderful review! Thank you very much! It was an honor to have you stay with us and we are delighted you and your family enjoyed Aruba and Boardwalk Small Hotel to the fullest.
New Year celebrations are a big thing here in Aruba and we are glad we were able to share this experience with all of our guests. Also delighted to hear that you loved the intimate and cozy feel of the property. Again thank you for your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Boardwalk Small Hotel in the future.

Sunny greetings
Kimberly & Stephanie
Hotel managers and owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for a week at the end of January, and I can't imagine a better place to stay in Aruba. The room (casita 23) was absolutely perfect: huge (bedroom, bathroom, main room including kitchen, and large balcony/patio), clean, bright, and nicely decorated. Although I'm sure all of the rooms are nice, I would recommend casita 23 to anyone...you have the privacy of being on the second floor, but you have a great view of the pool area from your balcony. One of the owners told us that when her mother stays at the hotel, she likes to stay in casita 23.

The kitchen is perfect for making breakfast (and other meals...it comes with a cooktop, microwave and full-sized fridge, as well as a bbq on the patio, so you can make most kinds of meals; we cooked steaks on the bbq one night and burgers another), and can save a lot of money with the best supermarket on the island a three minute drive down the road. The air conditioning works very well...it was easy to keep it quite cool (the way we like it).

The owners are also very nice. They leave you a list of "treasures" (things to do on the island) the day you get there, and it's a great list (I think we ended up doing everything). One of their staff also jump started our car THREE TIMES (stupid rental cars leave their lights on when you turn the car off...why do any cars do this??? At least they should make a noise or something), which was clearly above and beyond the call of duty. They also provide free coolers, snorkel equipment, towels, and chairs if you're planning a day trip to the beach.

Speaking of the beach, you're only a two minute from there, where you can get free chairs and a discount on food at a restaurant a short walk away. Looking at the big-box resorts like the Ritz (which was right nearby), I was so incredibly glad that I stayed at the Boardwalk instead. You get a giant room, kitchen, great patio, wonderfully landscaped gardens, AND you pay significantly less than at the Ritz. Frankly, I don't know why anybody would stay at any of the big-box resorts.

Anyway, I can't say enough good things about this place. We booked it based on the tripadvisor reviews, and they certainly didn't steer us wrong. If and when I return to Aruba, I won't be looking at anywhere else to stay except the Boardwalk.

Room Tip: Casita 23 was fantastic - second floor means that you get more privacy but still have a wonderful po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi Hank971,

First and foremost, thank you choosing Boardwalk Small Hotel for your stay in Aruba. We are trilled you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed the carefully selected “Aruba Treasures” presented in your Casita. Thank you for sharing everything you loved about Boardwalk - and your stay with us - here on TripAdvisor. It is truly appreciated. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Sunny greetings,
Kimberly & Stephanie Rooijakkers
Hotel managers and owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Boardwalk Hotel. This smaller boutique hotel offered us excellent service and good value. We will be back in the future.

We rented a 2 bedroom casita for our 2 couples and then were next door to our friends, so a wonderful arrangement.

Rooms were updated and cheery, with 2 large bedrooms and attached bathrooms for both couples. The living quarters and kitchen allowed us to prepare our breakfasts and any meals we felt we wanted to prepare ourselves. The fridge, cooktop stove, microwave, and BBQ allowed us to cook as we wished.

The pool was very clean and sheltered so you could sit and read in the shade at any time of day, or sunbathe as you wished. The pool was excellent for smaller children as well.

We enjoyed the spacious decks and had virtually all our meals and afternoon cocktails on one of our adjoining decks.

We truly enjoyed our 2 weeks @ Boardwalk and would highly recommend to anyone looking for great accommodations, with a very relaxing quiet location. The beach and restaurants, casinos, etc are only a short walk or drive away. Great job ladies and we look forward to visiting again.

The staff were excellent in giving directions or advice on things to do and try in Aruba. The little extras like chairs at the beach or lawn chairs to take with us were welcomed. They always had a great smile and a cheery Hello during our stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sheltered and in close proximity. The 2 bedroom suite we had was a very good size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DNC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hello Regina,

It was a great pleasure to have you and your friends as our guests. Thank you for your exceptional review of your stay at Boardwalk Small Hotel, which is very much appreciated. It sounds like you and your friends had a quiet and relaxing stay with us, enjoying your Casita, its private deck and intimate garden setting. Glad we were of help in guiding you to the Aruba’s best spots. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kimberly & Stephanie Rooijakkers
Hotel managers and owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Alice greeted us and introduced us to our lovely "casita"--the beginning of six glorious days in Aruba. A short walk took us to Palm Beach, and we were hooked. For all but the second day (with an hour or so of rain in the afternoon) the weather was outstanding, highs in the mid-80's with plenty of sun and a comforting breeze. We were graciously provided with snorkel equipment, beach chairs, and helpful pointers. The casita was a delight, spacious, quiet, and well decorated and provisioned. The pool was pleasant if a bit small; the grounds were nicely landscaped.
We'd recommend a car, but it isn't absolutely necessary. Our finest evening meal was a short drive away, a waterfront table for two at Passions on the Beach, accompanied by a glorious sunset.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C34sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Sailor,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Boardwalk Small Hotel. We share all reviews and feedback with our team. Your mention of Alice made her day! She is fantastic at what she does! Indeed Aruba has perfect weather all your round, with 360 days of sunshine (average annual temperature is 82°F > 28°C) and constant trade winds. We also cannot get enough of this great weather! Once again, masha danki for sharing your review here on TripAdvisor.

Sunny greetings
Kimberly & Stephanie
Hotel managers and owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I had a wonderful stay here with my family. We rented two rooms. The staff was helpful and attentive from beginning to end. Very comfortable property that felt like home. It felt a lot like a vacation rental but with a hotel feel--which was exactly what we were looking for. The patios and grill were great and relaxing. The beach, restaurants, and big hotels were an easy walk and we were able to explore the island by foot and car.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Rhea W,

Thank you for selecting Boardwalk Small Hotel as your place to stay. We are delighted you enjoyed the property and that you felt right at home. Masha danki (thank you in papiamento) for reviewing Boardwalk Small Hotel here on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you at our hotel again soon.

Sunny greeting,
Kimberly & Stephanie
Hotel managers and owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Hotel Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Property: Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Address: Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Hotel Aruba 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel offers 14 spacious casitas spread out in the peaceful gardens of a historic coconut plantation. The hotel is located just a 3 minutes walk from popular Palm Beach where you can enjoy our NEW cozy beach area, providing shade and lounge chairs. All 14 casitas are tastefully decorated in fresh Caribbean colors and feature a large living room, fully equipped kitchen, modern bathroom, separate bedroom(s), private patio equipped with your own hammock and BBQ grill, TV, full air conditioning and free WIFI. Daily breakfast service is available. Other perks and privileges include daily housekeeping services, complimentary beach towels, beach chairs, cool box and snorkel gear. The owners of the hotel, fun twin sisters, offer concierge services and excellent recommendations, providing you with the local scoop. The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel with palm-fringed gardens and cozy swimming pool offers the ultimate setting for a relaxing and romantic vacation in Aruba. Couples of all ages as well as young families will truly enjoy this hidden gem in Palm Beach, Aruba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boardwalk Hotel Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Vacation Retreat Hotel
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing