We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be close to it all...but away from it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to be close to it all...but away from it all!”
Reviewed 11 October 2008

The Boardwalk was a great hub for our Aruba adventure! You are not on the beach, but you are literally a 5 minute walk to Palm Beach right in front of the Marriott! Eagle beach is a short Taxi ride away...and what we thought was the most beautiful beach on the Island (we visited 6 of them) is just a 5 minute drive up towards the Lighthouse from The Boardwalk.

The grounds are very lush and well kept. The casitas are so clean and the bed is one of the most comfortable I have slept in away from home! The air conditioning was Ice cold. The staff was SOOOO helpful with making reservations and ideas on what to do and how to get there!

If you are fussy this is not the place for you...there is no one around the clock to cater to your every need. But...if you are relaxed and easy going, you will be happy you saved lots of $$ and stayed here.

Just a few minor things...you may hear roosters early and dogs barking. Our casita had hot water half the time and luke warm the rest. Our friend's casita had hot water all the time. I am a cat lover and while they are certainly not rampant by any means...there were about 6 running around. So if you dislike cats...maybe look elsewhere.

Overall...if you are fun loving, looking for a central place to stay close to it all, and wanting to save your cash for the expensive dinners...then stay at The Boardwalk!!

  • Liked — The quality of place for the value!
  • Disliked — No ocean views!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johan_Whistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    164
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
411
589
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Just returned from a week at the Boardwalk hotel. I booked here based on reviews from this site, and was not disappointed. Great hotel, 2 minute walk to the beach, but away from it all if needed. Very clean, large rooms, friendly staff, reasonable price, and very friendly cats to keep you company if needed. Wouldn't change a thing, except maybe not feed the cats some tuna, poor thing I made it sick :-( and would definately go back. Highly recommended if you prefer apartment type accomodations. You are close enough to the high rise world you mange to get the best of both worlds.

  • Liked — Off the Beaten Path, but as close as you need to be
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MoreBeachPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

We loved this place. At first when we got there, I thought it was a little spare. As we stayed, it really really grew on me. It is located at the end of a big strip of high rise hotels, and has a lot of privacy. The casitas are spacious one bedroom apartment-ish. Nicely furnished with good A/C, though not totally needed most of the time.

Anyway, the staff is really friendly, helpful. The pool is quite small but nice. Almost no one in it most of the time. Loved sitting on our patio reading in the shade. We ate meals on the patio table, and hung out with the property's cats. They are friendly, but are not annoying.

We would often go across the street to the expensive and nice Marriot lobby for drinks there, or by the beach. The food there is not bad either. The best part was the kitchen, which we didn't think we would use on vacation. The food there is SO expensive, so we ended up shopping at the supermarket, buying cool Dutch stuff, and eating great meals on the patio, in peace and quiet with a breeze.

Lots of the hotels that we walked through felt really really crowded, and we always happy to go back to the Boardwalk. We rented a call for less than $200 for the week which made the trip much better. Great trip, nice hotel, nice people. Also perfect weather, so hot, but cool in the shade with perpetual breeze.

PS Boardwalk is WAY cheaper than all the hotels, and we loved it.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LDFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2008

We just got back from a six night stay at The Boardwalk. We could not have been happier.

We are a family of five (3 children: 9, 7, 5 yrs old and Mom and Dad) and The Boardwalk suited all of our needs. We were in Casita Number 8, a two bedroom/two bath house.

The casita has everything you need. Beach chairs, umbrella, cooler and lots and lots of towels!

We loved sitting on our patio, enjoying the hammock and using the grill.

The Boardwalk is located in the High Rise area. It is about a five minute walk to the beach.

This is not your typical hotel...no restaurant or bar on-site and the pool is rather small. Still, we highly recommend this hotel, especially if you have your own car and want to explore the many different restaurants and beaches of this wonderful country,

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank whitegarage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

We researched where to stay in Aruba and preferred not to stay in the cookie-cutter high rise hotels. I learned about the Boardwalk Boutique Hotel on TripAdvisor and contacted them directly for availability and reservations. Every single experience with this hotel was pleasant and wonderful, from booking to our arrival and during our stay. The hotel is located behind the last Marriott at the end of the high rise area. When driving into the hotel parking area, it immediately feels like an oasis away from the much more commercial Palm Beach high rise hotels. Our casita was right off from the small pool and had a charming and quiet corner patio with comfortable chairs, table, and barbeque grill. The casita itself was spacious and clean with a full kitchen as well as a bedroom with two queen beds and bathroom. The shower was powerful! Each casita at the Boardwalk has a journal that each guest is invited to share their comments about the property as well as sharing experiences of restaurants, grocery stores and shops, beaches, and ocean sports rental information. There were many different languages written and we found many of their tips helpful during our stay. We highly recommend this hotel if you want a quiet getaway and want the experience of a small, personal hotel. One of the owners is an experienced wind/kite surfer and can offer helpful advice to those interested.

  • Liked — Quiet, comfortable, large kitchen, across the street from the beach, helpful staff and prior guest comments, great shower!
  • Disliked — A lot of families with small children
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MaineTravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, ON
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

I just spent 10 days at the Boardwalk Retreat with a girlfriend whose move out of the province means we don't see each other much anymore. We decided we deserved a 10 day "Mom Camp" and chose The Boardwalk as our venue.

I am a 19 time visitor to Aruba, my friend has been to Aruba only once before but fell completely in love with the island.

We were looking for something not terribly expensive (I have many other vacations in the budget this year) but in a good location that would let us self-cater for the most part and really relax in a tranquil setting while catching up on each other's lives.

The Boardwalk surprassed our every expectation. It is a 1 minute drive, 5 minute walk to the beach. And what a beach! The water was as smooth as glass and we had the beach almost to ourselves.

The Boardwalk itself was tucked away a little, with a very pretty garden setting and very well equipped "casitas". We felt that everything we could possibly need was there, even the beach chairs, cooler, ice packs, and the loan of a beach umbrella. We never used it, we were always able to find shade at the beach. We did appreciate all the extra little amenities, even a lantern for our balcony table with refill candles in a drawer. It seems they've thought of everything.

Having a BBQ on our patio meant lots of wonderful grilled chicken, shrimp, and fish cookly fresh to order (by us!) . The cats all became good friends and joined us for happy hour on our deck and were back again in the morning to watch us sip our coffee and plan our day.

Housekeeping was daily and the housekeepers and office staff were friendly and accommodating.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Boardwalk and I have no doubt we'll return.

  • Liked — We felt as though we were LIVING in Aruba, not just visiting.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank koipond4026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,935 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,431 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Hotel Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Property: Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Address: Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Hotel Aruba 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel offers 14 spacious casitas spread out in the peaceful gardens of a historic coconut plantation. The hotel is located just a 3 minutes walk from popular Palm Beach where you can enjoy our NEW cozy beach area, providing shade and lounge chairs. All 14 casitas are tastefully decorated in fresh Caribbean colors and feature a large living room, fully equipped kitchen, modern bathroom, separate bedroom(s), private patio equipped with your own hammock and BBQ grill, TV, full air conditioning and free WIFI. Daily breakfast service is available. Other perks and privileges include daily housekeeping services, complimentary beach towels, beach chairs, cool box and snorkel gear. The owners of the hotel, fun twin sisters, offer concierge services and excellent recommendations, providing you with the local scoop. The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel with palm-fringed gardens and cozy swimming pool offers the ultimate setting for a relaxing and romantic vacation in Aruba. Couples of all ages as well as young families will truly enjoy this hidden gem in Palm Beach, Aruba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Boardwalk Hotel Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Vacation Retreat Hotel
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing