We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When you want off- the- beaten path with class and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“When you want off- the- beaten path with class and comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Time flies. we've been back from our wonderful trip to Aruba for over one month and am just getting around to posting this review. We were so lucky to find an alternative to the giant high rise hotels, and yet so close to the lovely beach. Boardwalk is just pleasantly ' off-the-beaten-path '.-- enough that it feels miles away from the commercial hub bub of Palm Beach. We loved sitting on our terrace and listening to the palm trees rustle and sway in the famous Aruba breeze. We also enjoyed the magnificent decor of our casita and the lush green surroundings of the resort. We prefer to take our breakfasts and lunches in-- and having such a well equipped kitchenette was terrific. We would definately stay here again. There is a strong family element to this place, so if you are adults who prefer NOT to hear children -- just give it a bit of time- they'll soon be out of the pool ha ha. And if you are cat lovers, as we are you will be charmed by the 3 house cats. Gentle creatures who visited for treats - reminding us of our moggies at home. The hammock in the palapa is also a magical place to sway away the stress.
As I send this out to you my thoughts become turquoise -- such a beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: Casita's on the second floor get more of a breeze and a wee bit more privacy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello Carol,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on the hotel, the casitas and tranquility. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you as our guests again soon. Masha danki for sharing your experience!
Sunny greetings
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    162
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
395
566
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

was there with my wife, no children. the casita is awesome, with everything we needed. their tips, treasury box, was fullfilled with nice tips on where to go what to do. very clean, extremely confortable and at a nice location. front desk was nice, assisting us on how to get to some places and even assisting us to rent a car. more privacy and confort than a resort. although it is in palm beach i would recommend renting a car to get around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andre m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello Andre and family,

Fantastic to read your vacation was excellent. And thank you for rating us an en excellent place to stay in Aruba. We are all very grateful. Happy you enjoyed the tips provided and we are glad we could help arrange a car for you to discover Aruba. We look forward to have you stay with us again.
Sunny greetings
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was our second time staying at the Boardwalk and my family and I love the small upgrades in our casita.
1. The treasure box filled with tips from locals, specially selected for us was just one big surprise!
2. A local artist made an art work with information and pictures off the old coconut plantation of Aruba. LOVELY.
3. They set up a coconut nursery project.
4. A welcomes package with coffee, milk and sugar for your first morning coffee.

We are still in Aruba, we could not stay our hole vacation at Boardwalk because they are booked a while in advance. I almost did not want to write this review..because I hope not much tourist finds out about this hidden jewel! We will be back and we will book a while in advance!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Ann,

First and foremost, thank you for returning to Boardwalk, it is the biggest compliment. Very glad to hear you enjoyed the upgrades. We are constantly on the look-out to improve our guest's experience at Boardwalk. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, it means the world to us, and most definitely helps many visitors to the island in making the right decision when choosing where to stay. Sunny greetings and until soon!
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel owner and manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Boardwalk Hotel is a best place to stay for anyone who like the home setting where you can gather after the beach to cook, or play game or just to plainly relax with family or friends while on vacation

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cham Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you Cham for your short but sweet review here on TripADvisor. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and felt right at home. Until soon, hopefully.
Sunny greetings
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I loved the Boardwalk hotel. The owners/staff were friendly and offered suggestions for activities and restaurants. Grill. Hammock. Treasure box of activities. I will definitely return to the Boardwalk!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoardwalkAruba, Eigenaar at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you Shelley M for sharing your experience at Boardwalk Small Hotel with the traveling community. Happy you enjoyed Boardwalk and glad we could guide you to the best restaurants and activities Aruba has to offer. We look forward to your return visit as several new "treasures" will be revealed soon, so you can explore them and enjoy the best Aruba has to offer!

Sunny greetings from Aruba,
Stephanie
Hotel owner and manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I had a nice, relaxing vacation during my stay at Boardwalk Hotel. The staff was very attentive and helpful with all our needs. The casita we stayed was spacious and felt very homey. I would definitely recommend a car if you plan on exploring the island as the hotel is tucked away on the northern aspect of the island. There is a nice beach in walking distance and some good restaurants as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carmelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoardwalkAruba, Eigenaar at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. It is very much appreciated by our entire team. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Boardwalk Small Hotel and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sunny greetings from Aruba,
Stephanie
Hotel owner and manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Overall our trip to Aruba was disappointing. Our disappointment began and ended with Boardwalk. We went to Aruba to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary, and wish we wouldn't have.

Pros: The pictures are 100% accurate. The property is beautiful and has that relaxing Caribbean feel to it. The rainfall shower is amazing and overall the rooms are nice.

Cons: 1)We arrived to Boardwalk on Sunday which is a day the front desk is closed. We received an email stating we would have detailed instructions to find our Casita and keys. There was nothing provided or available upon our arrival. Luckily, a housekeeping employee noticed us, and despite the language barrier, was able to help us find our room. 2) The hotel is advertised to be within walking distance to just about everything. It is only about a 5 minute walk to the beach. However, if you plan on going to any restaurants, be prepared to walk bout 20-30 minutes one way in the heat. While we are on that topic, the hotel provides a small map to a local bar/restaurant. This map gives directions walking on a very busy highway with no sidewalk or lights. This can be extremely uncomfortable when you don't know where you are and are still trying to figure everything out. 3) Free Wifi is offered through the hotel. That's only if you can connect to it. If/when you connect to their wifi, it is EXTREMELY slow. I spent 30 minutes at times simply trying to get to google to see what restaurants were around. 4) We stayed in the 1 bedroom casita. It is advertised as either accommodating 4 with 2 full size beds or accommodating 2 with a king size bed. We got two full size beds. When I asked about it, I was told "well some are 2 full and some are 1 king" No apology, no attempt to make it right. 5) The beds are extremely, EXTREMELY uncomfortable. Think about the worst bed, you've slept in at the cheapest hotel, and you have an idea of how uncomfortable they are. 6) The rooms get very hot, even with the air conditioning running. Between the beds and the heat, we hardly slept our entire vacation. After 2 nights at Boardwalk, I began looking for other places on the island to stay. 7) My husband got bit by bugs while sitting in the private hammock. I only mention this because after we got home I read the lower rated reviews on Trip Advisor, and other people had mentioned this being an issue for them as well. 8) During housekeeping hours, my husband and I were in the room maybe an hour changing to head to the beach. At 2:30, housekeeping had not been to our room. My husband went to the front desk to ask for towels and washcloths. He was told housekeeping would be at our room within an hour. At 4:30 I went to the front desk with the same response. I was finally able to take a shower at 5:30.

Boardwalk was not our only frustration with Aruba. I would not suggest this establishment to friends or family, and wouldn't stay here again. This hotel seems like it is a great deal, but is far from it. We could have gone many other places for the amount of money we spent at Boardwalk alone and had much better customer service and a more appealing location. We are quiet people who enjoy being away from the hustle and bustle of the high rise type areas. I would definitely take the crowded high rise location over staying at Boardwalk ever again. It was a complete waste of money. We left Aruba more frustrated and stressed than when we arrived and couldn't wait to get out of Boardwalk. After detailing our frustrations with Boardwalk to friends, family and coworkers, none would go to Boardwalk either. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBoardwalkAruba, Eigenaar at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel, your feedback is well taken. I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us and your vacation in Aruba were disappointing. First of all, we truly apologize for not providing you with proper instructions how to find your casita on your arrival date. On Sundays our reception is closed and normally clear instructions are left on property for weekend arrivals. Somehow this information was lacking upon your arrival which was addressed with our team immediately and will not happen again. Yet again, we are so sorry you had to start your stay with us like that. We understand your disappointment there.
Boardwalk’s location just steps from the Palm Beach area is often praised, as you can easily walk to the beach, shops, malls and restaurants. That you were unable to find your way there via a paved and well-lit walkway alongside Marriott’s gardens is unfortunate. As was the limited wifi-connection you experienced during your stay. We double-checked the connection and reach from your casita and the internet was working on normal speed when we logged in. All in all we understand that circumstances during your Aruba vacation were not the best, while we strive for all of our guests to have a wonderful experience. That we were unable to deliver this experience for you is something we deeply regret. Thank you again for your valued feedback – it is much appreciated and we will take it to heart.

Kind regards,
Stephanie Rooijakkers,
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Hotel Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Property: Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Address: Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Hotel Aruba 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel offers 14 spacious casitas spread out in the peaceful gardens of a historic coconut plantation. The hotel is located just a 3 minutes walk from popular Palm Beach where you can enjoy our NEW cozy beach area, providing shade and lounge chairs. All 14 casitas are tastefully decorated in fresh Caribbean colors and feature a large living room, fully equipped kitchen, modern bathroom, separate bedroom(s), private patio equipped with your own hammock and BBQ grill, TV, full air conditioning and free WIFI. Daily breakfast service is available. Other perks and privileges include daily housekeeping services, complimentary beach towels, beach chairs, cool box and snorkel gear. The owners of the hotel, fun twin sisters, offer concierge services and excellent recommendations, providing you with the local scoop. The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel with palm-fringed gardens and cozy swimming pool offers the ultimate setting for a relaxing and romantic vacation in Aruba. Couples of all ages as well as young families will truly enjoy this hidden gem in Palm Beach, Aruba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boardwalk Hotel Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Vacation Retreat Hotel
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing